We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice enough hotel, enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 500, PO Box 554, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A nice enough hotel, enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We checked in for one night at the Radison Blu, and also ate in the restaurant in the evening (see my review on Brasseri Nansan).

We were in room 217, a standard room, which proved to be both comfortable and adequate.

Pros: Location, nice and ample breakfast (stick to the Scandanavian dishes, avoid the cooked breakfast imo); strong coffee, very lovely lighting throughout the hotel, a lovely gift shop - I recommend the small glass polar bears. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely, and nothing was too much. We were also able to stay in our room for an additional hour as we had a two hour wait to catch the Flybussen back to Svalbard Airport.

Cons: The waste water pipe from our bath had a hole in it, and so the bathroom floor was soaked every time we took a shower (admittedly we did not complain about this, but did mention on check out); the shower head is very hard to fathom if you've never seen this type before, shower isn't really suitable for a shower, more for bathing, the amount of "point and click tourists" staying in the hotel - especially those who ignore the polite request to follow tradition and remove shoes at the door. Check in can become a bit of a free-for-all as people tend to arrive together on coaches at once, owing to the remote nature of Longyearbyen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    148
    74
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
117
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in one of the apartments on the separate building and felt that overall the hotel was quiet, relaxing, and warm.

It's situated in the center of town and within walking distance is the post office, numerous shops, and a few restaurants, including a grocery store!

The apartment has a kitchen and a refrigerator. Unfortunately, we bought Billy's frozen pizza from the grocery store to eat for dinner only to find out our room did not have an oven. Luckily, the front desk suggested we can ask their restaurant to heat the pizza for us and indeed they did (for free!) Overall I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in one of the apartments rather than an ordinary room; given they were the same price I thought I could make use of the cooking facilities to save a few pounds as I was there for two nights.

This was a positive for me given how expensive eating out in Longyearbyen can be, but the trade off appeared to have been the sleeping arrangements. The bedroom consists of a bunk bed, and that was it. No bedsit table, just a bunk bed, I did improvise and use a dining chair as a bedside table, but it wasn't ideal.

The living room did have a sofa bed which I didn't use, and perhaps should have, but for what they were they I did get two very good nights sleep. The apartment itself was spacious and clean, and apart from room service knocking on my door at 8am on the first morning, I was pretty happy.

The other slight obscurity about the apartments was their location. I believe the normal rooms are within the same building as the bar and restaurant, however the apartments are slightly off to the side. It's only a stones throw away, and in September the very short walk wasn't an issue, but in the middle of a freezing cold December day with snow blowing in all directions, this could be more of a problem.

The view out of my window was of a road. I'm pretty sure the hotel rooms overlooked the fjord, whereas the apartments were slightly set back. I didn't spend much time looking out of the window, but it would have been nice to overlook the fjord. I don't want to sound too critical of the room, it was okay, but nothing more. It's highly unlikely I will return to Longyearbyen, but in hindsight I wish I'd booked a room rather than an apartment, and would pass this advice onto anybody considering visiting.

Unfortunately I didn't eat in the restaurant to comment, but the breakfast was very good and the hotel also has a small pub/bar which sold decent 'pub' food (pizzas, burgers etc). The bar was quite had a friendly atmosphere, not too overcrowded, but not completely void of people either.

Having previously also stayed in the Spitsbergen Hotel which I was very impressed with, if I were to return to Longyearbyen I would probably opt for the Radisson Blu again, although taking the hotel room rather than the apartment. Longyearbyen isn't big, but it's on top of most of what there is to visit, the staff were friendly and service orientated, and it came off as a genuinely friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visted the radisson blu polar hotel for a long weekend trip to Svalbard. The bus from the airport brings you to the hotel (50 NOK per person each way). I have seen hotels with a higher maintance schedule, whoever the hotel is a nice hotel. The breakfast is good, but I do not feel it justifies the 4 stars... The room was clean, and the staff was service minded. Overall not the best hotel, but probably the best in Longyearbyen...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice room and good service. For Norway, the breakfast was good, and the evening buffet at the Nansen Restaurant was much better than what we have experienced in West Norway. The superior room at the end of the aisle gave a wonderful view of the fjord. We can recommend staying the Radisson

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night B&B in August 2012 in a twin bedded room with facilities overlooking the car park.
Given that this hotel is at 78 degrees north it offers a comfortable and relaxing environment with a decent restaurant and 'Barentz' bar (pub). It offers free WiFi and pay-to-use internet access.
The 'superior' rooms have a nice view of the fjord, mountains and sunset.
Our room was comfortable, clean and tidy and breakfast was the usual buffet arrangement - help yourself etc.
Luggage can be left in a special room if required after vacating in the morning.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have the view if that is important ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a nice hotel. The breakfast is free with the room and well worth a pop down if you need to eat. Great amenities (free wi-fi, sauna, television, proximity to town, great coffee machine). The superior rooms have a view of the mountains but can be obscured by the other buildings in the way. Very clean. Nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, PO Box 554, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.