We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to the Arctic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spitsbergen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spitsbergen Hotel to your Saves list
Spitsbergen Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9170, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to the Arctic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just one night prior to our expedition cruise and it was a good introduction to the Arctic.
Nothing extraordinary about the room but it was very clean with a good bed and nice view towards the harbour.
We enjoyed the stroll down to the “town” and back in light snow. It was fun to get out and walk around so I wouldn’t consider this a down-side to staying here. The benefit of being a bit further away is also the better views this hotel gets compared to being in town.
We had both dinner and lunch in the bar area which was warm and welcoming, it was a good place to spend the evening and all the food was good. The chicken that was undercooked was quickly replaced and removed from our bill. Appreciate that service. Breakfast was a very good buffet and the view from the breakfast room was lovely.
We were not able to get a late check-out and we weren’t being collected for our ship until 3pm but the hotel is happy to hold luggage and has a day room with showers etc we were able to use after our dog-sledding trip.
I would love to return to the Arctic one day and will stay here again when we get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
57
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Spitsbergen Hotel for one night on 25 June 2013 after our Arctic Expedition on M/S Expedition by G Adventures. The hotel was very clean because all the guests had to take out their shoes and wore their sandals or slippers or socks on the ground floor before walking up the staircase to the reception counter and rooms. The counter and the service staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodation and breakfast were perfect. We could spend the night and day enjoying the midnight sun, taking photographs outside the hotel at 3 am freely. It was convenient to go to downtown or Longyearbyen airport because FlyBuss Shuttle was available. The staff was able to tell us when the FlyBuss Shuttle would be arriving. The only disadvantage for this hotel was that if we walked downhill to downtown to shop, we would need more energy to walk uphill back to the hotel. We could see reindeers roaming and grazing around at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: room facing the road to enjoy happenings outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I know central location is probably not the first you look for when you go to a remote place in the arctic region. But since Longyearbyen actually have a few shops and restaurants in some sort of a town center, you might want to be able to walk there. Rica Hotel Longyearbyen aka Spitsbergen Hotel aka Funken is 15-20 minute walk uphill from the town. And that can be a very chilly experience. So if central is important for you choose Svalbard Hotel or Radisson Blue.

That said, Spitsbergen Hotel is the most affordable place of the three and arguably the most comfortable place to stay. The rooms are good, the service is good and it is a good atmosphere. They have a fitness room and and a sauna. And between 16 and 18 there is a waffle buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful with finding suitable excursions, booking the transfer bus, selecting items in the well stocked souvenir shop. Breakfast fab - lots of choice. Bar meals superb. Room comfy. Bathroom clean and lots of hot water. Lounge very comfortable, warm and luxurious with open fire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night here before boarding our ship, but it did the job nicely. Nice breakfast buffet including make your own waffles in a restaurant with great views across the town and fjord.
Just a 5 minute walk in to the small town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an international class hotel with all the facilities you would expect. It has a cosy bar with a log cabin feel. However, it is very expensive, and it is an inconvenient 20 minute walk uphill from the town centre, harbour and museum - not fun if it is raining. If you want to save money and don't mind shared facilities, probably Mary Ann's Polarrig would be a better deal, and it is more central.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It's a nice and short walk from the city center to this hotel. The view fom there is really good.
Food is tasty, service is friendly, young and motivated. I had a Greek Salad which was really good, followed by an excellent chicken with potatoes and vegetables. All in all a really nice and relaxing evening with excellent food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spitsbergen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitsbergen Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 500, Longyearbyen 9170, Norway
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spitsbergen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Spitsbergen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spitsbergen Hotel Longyearbyen, Svalbard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spitsbergen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.