We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather poor place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kroa

Kroa
P.b. 150, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
+47 79 02 13 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Price range: $33 - $130
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rather poor place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wouldn't recommend to anybody this "wonderful" place.
Negative is in almost anything. At first when you come there, 60% of tables will be "reserved", but no people are present. Waiters will tell you to book a table on 2-3 hours later.
Ok, you'll come this 2-3 hours later.
Order a food and will see that's really average. For example the piece of lamb on 70% consists from bone and fat. Just a soup was more or less ok.
Service is very poor, you may wait half an hour just for order one more beer.
Or you have to go to bar table every time for order something.
But most of all I was enraged that waitress tried to tell us (I was with my girlfriend) not to kiss, because it's making inconveniences to other people. I told that I don't care about it and don't break any laws and if somebody has a problems with it, let say it to me personally.
And it is a good restaurant?
I was in 4 restaurants in Longyearbyen few times and this one is surely the worst among them.
The only plus of this place is the interior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    127
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pizza's in the Arctic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Absolutely fabulous pizzas. If there are two of you dining though, only order one between you - they are massive. They are just so light & crispy. Great service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Nice atmospheric venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Limited food menu, but then I guess that's to be expected given the location this far north. Food was good and service excellent too. Nice beer and good atmosphere. Its a favourite amongst some of the locals, so that's often a good recommendation. Its decoration and fittings give it a nice cosy feel. It was busy when we were there and all tables in use, its therefore a good idea to book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a one week hiking and kayaking tour in Spitzbergen, we had the last night dinner in Kroa having the cathch of the day, smoked whale and a nice Norwegian beer. Cool restaurant, great for groups of friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fish wasn't fresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of the most famous food places in Longyearbyen, though we got not super fresh fish (it was hard to chewing it). But the atmosphere and decorations are nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kroa also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Kroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.