We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food after a long run.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kroa

Kroa
P.b. 150, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
+47 79 02 13 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Longyearbyen
Price range: $33 - $130
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stenløse
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food after a long run.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having finished the Spitsbergen Half Matathon we ended up here - beer-thirsty and starving! The place is very cosy and local - the furniture is made of old mining equipment - and for those WHO cannot have enough of the outdoor life there is outside seating as well.
We had soup and a steak - and both were wolfed and washed down with good lager.
Generally, you would not expect much so far north for some reason, but the quality was not only higher than expected - it was high.
In Svalbard, everything comes at a price, so supper was not a bargain - but if you are looking to stretch your currency, do not go to Svalbard in the first place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    127
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We attented the Kroa three times for lunch, snacks, and dinner. It was great every time. TIP: Try their soups - excellent value!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo, Brasil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good meal, moody waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had 2 meals at Kroa and the meal was good, actually the day we had the catch of the day it was amazing. The second time, it was salmon, very good, but not surprising. Although the place is nice, just beside Basecamp Trapper's, the waitress that first welcomed us in the restaurant was not so charming, nor caring. She seemed more worried to pay attention to the clients that were already seated and told us we could choose here or there, she sort of ‘whatevered’. As we were sort of astonished, another waitress saw her colleague was in a bad mood and took care of us. Also when we were about to pay she made sure to make us wait on for a while saying she was ‘busy’ in the cashier position finishing to sum up some other bill. Second turn we showed up, she was about the same mood.

The place is really cool and the atmosphere is nice. As there aren't a lot of places to enjoy a nice meal, I'd say that's the best in the 'centre' of Longyearbyen. Price for the basic food such as pizza or soup are affordable. I'd say the prices for meats and fishes are a bit high for what they are - which is not any gourmet experience...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Out of a three night stay at the end of a cruise I ate here twice and loved both meals I had. The food was excellent and the service good too. If you book as a cruise ship group of friends you may only get a slightly restricted menu so worth checking this out when you book and if so splitting in to smaller groups. We had a bit of a problem on this but sorted it in the end and had an excellent meal. I love the decor and the ambience inside. I would definitely go back there if in Longyearbyen again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food was good for Svalbard standards. There aren't many place to eat there. The service was average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kroa also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Kroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kroa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.