We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care when you book a tour via this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trapper's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trapper's Hotel to your Saves list
Trapper's Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   main road of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Take care when you book a tour via this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Me and my husband arrived for birthday,for 3 days. We were asked the girl at the reception about the rent the snowmobiles. She said it's impossible whithout driving licenses. We said ok, is it possible to get a snowmobiling without the licensies-and she answered-yes, of course,if you buy our tour you can do it! I repeated to her-we FORGET OUT LICENSES AT HOME!!! And we would like to drive the machines OURSELFS, we don't want to be a bags behind. She said-yes, indeed!!! It's the only way you can drive without any documents! OK. Before sleeping i reasked her about the lecinses. She was ok as well. The final is too short- we SHOULD BE HAVE THE DRIVING LES. The man took us up at time and went to the 2nd bulding closed to hotel(????) Then he askes about licenses and said that the email copy would be inaf. But it was too late in Moscow. It's a puty, we had FULL day to take a copy! The biggest surpise was waiting at the check-out day - this unprofessional staff charged from the our card 2600 NK (approx 330 EU) for NOTHING!! For all our questions about the stuff's mistake the reception's women just smiling. Our advise-the hotel is realy authentic,but take care when you will book any tour via reception.

Room Tip: NEVER use a room at 1st floor-there very noisy at the morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampSP, General Manager at Trapper's Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy about our service. All our receptionists know that you cannot drive the snowmobile without the driver’s license, so this must have been a misunderstanding due to the different languages – still we are very sorry to hear this and would have hoped that you could have joined the snowmobile safari. I had a talk with the guide and he said that they were willing to provide an extra guide to drive the snowmobile for you, so that you could have experienced the beautiful nature of Spitsbergen. We are still happy to see that you liked our unique hotel and you are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
53
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've been here some years ago (in 2009) but after receiving their newsletter I refreshed a very good experience and decided to post my comment (even if I have been forced by the system to show 2013 as date of the travel).
Wood is everywhere in this hotel making the atmosphere very warm and for sure you can find an high standard comfort unexpected in such a remote area.
Breakfast is excellent and a must (for me) is not to have the TV into the room. After all if you are TV addicted maybe you should consider going to Las Vegas instead of Spitsbergen.
I hope to be able to came back soon and I recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have just been to Longyearbyen for the past 3 days. Absolutely fantastic. Stayed at Trappers Lodge at Base Camp. Awesome! Great staff, lodge theme throughout (as the name suggests), only 12 rooms so you feel as though it is just you and a few friends staying over and excellent restaurant next door, which you can access from the hotel. Went snowmobiling on the first day (with Base Camp and Martin). Great fun and very professionally run. Then went husky sledging and ice caving on the second day (again with Base Camp and Lea) and again had a fabulous experience. Go for the full day husky trip as you do more and get more out of it. All in all, no hesitation in recommending Longyearbyen for the second leg of a trip to Norway. Suggest 3 days in Tromso seeing the Northern Lights and 3 days in Longyearbyen do the outdoor stuff. One for your bucket list for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place has everything what is necessary to have a good time on Svalbard - hot water and good smelling toiletries, nice interiors, good restaurant with a direct passage from the hotel and a very short distance to Coop! Many books, sofas, tea and coffee ;-)
We plan to go there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at trapper's hotel for three nights during January (polar night). We really love the place. It feels like home: a cosy cocoon. We were very pleased to be welcomed with a bottle of Chardonnay in the room. I liked the shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom. Don't expect to have a king bed size: the rooms are furnished with single beds, but one of our bed was kind of large enough for two. The breakfast was good, and I really appreciated to have tea/coffee/cookies served the whole day. The trappers excursions were good (snowmobile and dogsledding), and the location is perfect: between two restaurants and close to the pharmacy and supermarket. The airport bus also stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Wow.....we had planned this trip for almost a year, it was a surprise and basecamp looked the perfect place to stay and it really was. Full of character incredibly helpful staff and fantastic surroundings. The Arctic speaks fir itself a total wilderness and even 24 hour darkness was totally magical. Our room was perfect- beds were incredibly comfy and it was always immaculately clean. It was exactly what you'd want on this sort of adventure. Leah took us on amazing husky sledge ride so much so we wanted to do it all over again. An experience like no other and we very much hope not once in a lifetime.....thank you Basecamp for the most amazing few days!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Trapper's Hotel, Longyearbyen, is by far the most exotic, unique and vibrating place I've ever visited. The combination of a particularily knowledgeable staff, great atmosphere and stunningly authentic "trapper's lodge"-style rooms made my four days at Spitsbergen highly memorable. I stayed from 30 December until 3 January, and had the wonderful opportunity of experiencing an authentic Spitsbergian new years eve, in all its hospitality and joy, to which the Trapper's Hotel was a perfect backdrop. The hotel facilitates for and offers dog sledding, snowmobile trips and longer expeditions, and much more. Definitely the most yolo'ish hotel I've ever been to. Go and be thrilled!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapper's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapper's Hotel

Address: main road of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trapper's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trapper’s Hotel is situated right at the heart of Longyearbyen, among restaurants, pubs, shops and bank. It is absolutely Longyearbyen’s most amazing hotel; decorated in traditional trapper’s style with driftwood, sealskins, pictures and objects that illustrate the past and current trappers’ life in the Arctic. Despite its rusticity, Trappers Hotel offers high quality accommodation with unique style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Trapper's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapper's Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapper's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.