We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views and Big Portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarriff Inn

Scarriff Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scarriff Inn
Save
You added Scarriff Inn to your Saves list
Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Caherdaniel B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stunning Views and Big Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived as a group of 7 at 6pm with low expectations as this was an obvious tourist spot. But we were pleasantly surprise. They seated us by the window and served delicious prawns with tons of veg and floury potatoes. We couldn't finish it all, but the views are the real reason to visit this restaurant and as it was the last night of our holiday in Kerry we were delighted we got to enjoy the magnificent vista in gorgeous sunshine. I would recommend to try this place if there are no tour buses outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    14
See reviews for
12
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just perfect moment, good food, great staff and amazing view. Everything is homemade! The smile is here in the Scarriff Inn. Bed and Breakfast so beautiful too. A really nice place, good atmosphere and the shop is complet for some presents of your family or your friend

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here last week, staff rude, 5euro for small bowl of cold soup, lady started to clean table before we had left, were left with no doubt it was time for us to leave. Nice views over bay, but there are plenty more places to eat on the ring of kerry, I would leave this one too the bus tours !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As evidenced by the bulk of the POOR reviews, this writer and my wife similarly experienced lousy food, high prices, poor attitudes, all provided with a rush, eat and get out push, to make room for the next busload.

Views are good, but only if there's no fog that day, which is common more often than not!!!

Bottom line: plan your travels around this location, AND their other two owned stores up and down the coast!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Basicly it's only groups who come here, very nice view. But such an annoying long line to get food. They have a weird way of service, as soon as you pay thay get your tray and bring it to your table! Price quality is not in balance! Too expensive! If you want to pay with your credit card you have to spend at least EUR 25,- (not from this world!). If there are 2 busses coming in for lunch you can really wait for half an hour! I wouldn't want to visit this place anymore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped here in July 2013 with our tour group. We had the fish soup which was quite tasty. The view is amazing. It just annoyed us that its set up to make customers walk through their shop on the way in to get in line to get food. Since we were with a large group we had to stand for quite a while looking at all the stuff tourist may want to buy. I was surprised once we got up front that it was cafeteria style serving and choosing what you wanted to eat. But it w as ok nevertheless less.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at hotel so can't really rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped here while on a Ring of Kerry coach tour. It's obvious that the hotel restaurant does a lot of business during lunch as the coaches come through - very much a get in and get out type of deal. However, the food isn't terrible for what it is. My husband raved about his stew. What you want to focus on here is the view, which is spectacular. You can see it from the dining area, so make sure to ask for a seat by the window. The waitstaff was nice enough and helps you carry your food to your table. Overall, worth a stop just to check out the view and grab a quick bite so you can enjoy it for a few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarriff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarriff Inn

Address: Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Caherdaniel
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Scarriff Hotel Caherdaniel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarriff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.