We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friend, very cozy, lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blind Piper

The Blind Piper
Main Street, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very friend, very cozy, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were visiting the Ring of Kerry in January, when most of the places were closed since it's not really the best time to visit. Still we were astonished by the views and the force of nature, especially the huge waves slamming the coast. We spotted this place while passing through Caherdaniel, after leaving the hotel we were staying in, in Sneem. We thought we should visit, so on our way back we made a stop here.

It was worth it! We really enjoyed the cozy place, and the friendliness of the people. Food was lovely as well. Do try their Irish Coffee. It is one of the best I have tried so far. Definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A really good pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a gorgeous, tasty, and welcoming meal here, in a pub that was packed with other guests doing the same……These people know how to run a pub! Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A great roots soup. fulsome dark Irish beauty & a wife that smiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped at the Blind Piper for a bowl each of smooth mashed root veggies soup cum brown buttered bread, a consistent favorite of ours in Ireland. We'd heard some very good things about the meals there, but it wasn't an appropriate time of day, so that sufficed nicely, along with the traditional one piece of ham and one of cheese proper to most public sandwiches in the U.K and Ireland. Half kiddingly, if anyone's ever seen a second slice of anything between two pieces of bread on either isle, please call the international press with that scoop. ;)

Our kind server happened to be a classic fully mature dark Irish woman (as of possibly Armada family history?) with a visage to remember for quite some time. My wife never minds my noticing such things as she appropriately notes I have a good sense of balance about their quickly passing significance in my life.

Now if every single lady who works in the Blind Piper finds herself to be fitting of such accolades, I say in bits of mixed quotation, "If you feel the shoe fits, wear it with pride and gratitude for God tender mercies". As for the Blind Piper itself, it shouts of history and local color and is a fine spot for a stop of any time on this delightful bit of my lifetime beloved West of Ireland country road. Next time we'll try one of the recommended meals!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cold food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited the Blind Piper for a ver pleasant drink one afternoon and decided to return with my family in the evening for a meal. It was very busy when we arrived and we could get a table together so my wife and I both sat with a daughter each, we were not offered a table together even though one came available shortly after we arrived! When the food arrived it was cold and both my wife and I sent it back, the kids seemed fine. When the food came back it was OK, no more no less! It was also expensive for a pub. I would return here for a drink but not for food, it would get 4 stars as a pub but 2 is the most I can give it for quality of food and service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“very good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

went here recently for a meal after a days walking and it was pleasently surprising. Located in the holiday mecca of Chaerdaniel on the Ring of Kerry, we were not expecting much. The outside of the premises looked well and was maintained very well. Inside the decor was very dated but \i think this gives the place a good atmosphere. nearly all seats were taken at 6pm on a saturday evening, very good sign and many were locals. there seemed to be a raised seating area that we did not see until leaving and that was also busy.
I had a lovely roast beef at €11.90 while the better half had a toasted special at €8.50, Accompanying glass of wine at €4.75 each was well priced and tasted lovely. Tea at €1.70 was not overpriced either and any charges of rip off ring of kerry would not stand up on a visit to this place. Area to improve might be to look at the decor a bit but dont change the atmosphere. Service was very good and the toilets were very clean.
Overall a very good place to stop off and visit if you are in the area and want some very good food at reasonably prices and/or a relaxing drink in lovely surroundings

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blind Piper also viewed

Caherdaniel, County Kerry
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
 
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
 

Been to The Blind Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blind Piper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.