We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derrynane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Derrynane Hotel to your Saves list
Derrynane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in the most beautiful area. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all so very friendly and helpful which all added to a wonderful holiday. Look forward to returning! Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    74
    18
    10
    15
See reviews for
115
87
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St Clears, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

only one night wish we had a week, wonderful room clean and magic view, superb barman made us think we were only people in there, service excellent and very friendly.Breakfast was superb quality and plenty of it, Hope next year will be at least 1 week well done mary

Room Tip: seems smoking rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Enjoyed a nice relaxing wknd at this hotel during September. Staff very nice and helpful. Beautiful views. Surrounding area of Caherdaniel and the national park are absolutely beautiful. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We rented a holiday home for 6 nights at the end of August, beginning of September 2012 and loved the house and the location. We found plenty of outdoor activities to do nearby with the kids (beautiful beaches for walking and swimming, walks in mountain, good food in local pubs). The holiday homes have beautiful views on the ocean and are spacious and confortable (well soundproofed) : 3 bedrooms - the master one with bathroom, big open kitchen and a backyard and picnic table at front (great for an outdoor breakfast in the sun or an "appéritif" in the evening!).
We had access to the hotel facilities (which is situated just across the parking) and loved the outdoor pool, sauna and power showers. The service from Mary the manager at the hotel was excellent and she went out of her way to accomodate us.
I strongly recommend Derrynane and these holiday homes as a holiday destination and also a good base for touring Kerry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am a member of a walking club and have just come back from spending a wonderful weekend in the Derrynane Hotel, in Caherdaniel, I would highly recommend this venue to all walkers and walking clubs, Caherdaniel is a walkers paradise, and this hotel it is excellent value for money, the atmosphere is relaxed, staff are welcoming and friendly , and the food tastes like good food should, wholesome/fresh and local. Some used the outdoor pool to ease tired limbs while others preferred the spa . Every walking clubs should visit this venue and area.
Well done to Mary and colleagues, we will be back.
Galway rambler.

Room Tip: We had room 133- down the end while the view may not be as good as on the other side - it was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here on the weekend of the 14/15 September, the Hotel itself is in need of some renovation and the rooms and facilities are very dated, however the location and staff are fantastic, it is a fabulous place for children and there is a play room in the hotel for them. We booked the hotel under one of the discount websites and it was fantastic value, Derrynane is a wonderful setting and really beautiful location.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are on the back of the hotel, the scenery is spectacular so worth getting a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My ninety-year old Dad wanted to revisit our old haunts on the Ring of Kerry, where we had so many happy holidays in the sixties and seventies. We booked the Derrynane Hotel for two nights on September 11th and 12th 2012 and couldn't have been more delighted. Mary O'Connor, the Manager, greeted us with a warm welcome and all her staff kept this up throughout our stay. My Dad, who is in great health, was given a room with a sea view, flooded with light reflected from the ocean. I was accommodated right across the corridor from him, in a room with better access to WiFi, which suited me perfectly. All our queries were entertained and answered- staff couldn't have been more helpful. On both evenings we dined in the hotel dining room at a table near the window, watching the mountains across the bay change colour as the sun set. Food was great and service was efficient and friendly. On the second evening we had company and they allowed us to linger quite late rather than ask us to move...so kind.
The outdoor swimming pool was heated but we didn't use it as the weather was warm enough to allow swimming in White Strand nearby.. there's nothing as bracing as a dip in the ocean! We heard other guests commenting about how much they enjoyed the seaweed baths on the hotel premises.
The hotel building is a child of the sixties..distinctive in its own way, and we loved it. It's clean, warm, welcoming and great value for money.
Mary tells us she's thinking of running a Daniel O'Connell symposium next year, probably in May. She last ran one ten years ago or more, and it was a great success. My Dad is looking forward to it.."the thought of another visit to that lovely hotel will carry me through the winter". And so am I!

Room Tip: Tell Mary what your needs are. She'll look after you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derrynane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrynane Hotel

Address: Ring of Kerry, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Derrynane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derrynane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrynane Hotel Caherdaniel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derrynane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.