We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourou

Bourou
Kionia, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Tinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had dinner at Bourou when staying in Tinos a few weeks ago. The food is great and the guys who work at the restaurant add great character to the place. Would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food with superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is by far the best restaurant we tasted in Tinos. The place isn't something special, but the food is excellent and the service superb

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great place to eat, near the sea. The decoration of the restaurant is just as nice as the food. It's a bit more expensive, but the restaurant has been nominated for a Michelin Star. It is in Kionia, so nice to eat after you went to the beach there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service with expensive average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our 3d night out for dinner with my family of 5.We rent a house looking down Kionia and the restaurant was recommended by almost everyone.I had in advance read all the good and the bad reviews and wanted a first hand experience.We arrived around 6:30 pm after reservations were made for us.First impressions excellent.Great corner table ,great environment ,attention to detail with deco ,and a very friendly caring staff.All was looking great.
We ordered the following
1 roca salad also known as Tyrocopanisti.(Size was average -nothing special).
One Greek Salad ( Looked nothing like the traditional Greek Salad- a disappointment !!).
2 Spagetti Bolognese ( exactly what we expected)
There were No Fresh Fish to order other than Scorpios !! Quite the disappointment ).We were told to call in advance next day and they will reserve some for us)
We ended having grilled Sardines and stuffed calamari ( average)
Half a kilo of house wine.
Thats it. Price was 97 Euro.
Considering the fact that the day before we had dinned at a different tavern with 2 more ( party of 7),consuming at least double the food with great authentic greek taste including fish and payed almost the same,the first hand experience was a disappointment.
I still give it a 4/5 stars because of the friendly staff and the ambiance.
If you are looking for value and authentic Greek cuisine I would suggest one of the numerous other Taverns preferably away from the City/Hora.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“excellent service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Bourou is a wonderful restaurant just outside of Tinos on the road leaving the city along the oceanfront towards the west. It's worth a visit. We went twice, once with friends (group of 9) and once with the family (total of 4). On both occasions the service was excellent. The waiter took the time to translate everything into languages everyone understood. We really enjoyed the food. When we went back the second time, it was late and we were tired. We had been delayed on the boat and the children were exhausted. We told the (same) waiter we wanted to eat something light and quick. He gave us good advice and served us within 5 minutes of ordering. Very impressive. it saved out evening. Bourou is a must when you're visiting Tinos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourou also viewed

Tinos, Cyclades
 
Tinos, Cyclades
Tinos, Cyclades
 

Been to Bourou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.