We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquis zorbas village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zorbas Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Zorbas Village to your Saves list
Zorbas Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aquis zorbas village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Aquis Zorbas is a nice place no doubt about it . Outside is maintained very nicely but rooms are very small .The bathroom facilities are really bad they didn't have shampoo and conditioner I was disappointed with the shower as well .The cleaner didn't do the job properly the reception ,kitchen,activities ,staffs are excellent Lots of choices for breakfeast lunch and dinner lots of drinks throught the day alcoholic and non alcoholic .The animation staff do many activities for children throught the day and night .Mild food so I Suggest u bring chilli sauce with u if u can eat hot!!

Room Tip: Sea front lower ground are closer to reception area and swimming area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    235
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
252
293
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

As we usually holiday in the Carribean and have the luxury on offer there, we were a little apprehensive after reading some negative reviews, but really wanted to try Crete. Overall the holiday exceeded our expectations. We did pay full price at just over £2000 for a week for 2 adults and a child, and were a bit annoyed to find many people had paid much less, but we couldnt fault the hotel. It was spotless, room cleaned and fresh towels every day and people were constantly cleaning the whole village.Staff were very friendly and worked non stop. The pool bar could do with an extra member of staff as there was only ever 1 serving! The lounge bar open from 5pm was our favourite place as the bar tender was fab "YAMASS " to him! you could sit outside overlooking the pool and sea and it was beautiful, the sunsets are amazing! Food quite good but got a bit bored of same stuff after a week but never went hungry.All in all had a fab holiday and loved Crete :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Aquis Zorbas is a nice place - no doubt about it. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept and the hotel buildings are spotless and maintained to a high standard. The rooms are pretty small but otherwise pretty good. Our room was stylish and in good condition, with good air-con, great shower and bug flatscreen TV (only 2 english channels though - both news). We had a sea view room and the view from the balcony was amazing.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. I really can't understand the reviews that say it was poor quality. We had travelled all over Crete before spending the last week of our holiday here, and I would say the standard of food was equal to just about any restaurant we ate in prior to arriving. Loads of fresh salad, fish, different meats, fresh bread etc. Desserts weren't up to much though.

Now the big problem - drinks.

This is an all inclusive resort, so this is a fairly fundamental factor. There are two bars at the hotel - the pool bar and the lobby bar. They aren't open at the same time though - the pool bar shuts at 6pm and then the lobby bar opens. If you want any kind of drink - water, soft drink, alcoholic, outside of the fixed restaurant hours, you need to wait in a queue for the open bar. And that can be a long queue - sometimes 15+ people in the queue - very rarely less than 8-10, with 1, maximum 2, bar staff. It's very boring and not at all 4-5 star. Why not have self service soft drink and water machines - it would be so much easier and reduce the queues

Add to this that the all-inclusive ends at 11pm, so from about 10.30 there is a massive queue at the bar and everyone is ordering multiple drinks. It wasn't rare to see table with 4 people at them with 20 glasses. Not only did this look pretty horrible, it was completely pointless - what are the hotel saving by ending the all inclusive so early. The drinks themselves are pretty ropey - stange dodgy looking brands you've never heard of when the menu says they are proud to offer branded drinks...

Overall, nice hotel, great staff, good food and a really daft approach to all inclusive that makes the place feel downmarket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

having read some of the reviews i was a little apprehensive in our planned trip to Aquis Zorbas. We arrived around 12 midnight to be greeted by a friendly staff member who promptly recorded our details and had another staff member show us to our room where we discovered a light supper which we thoroughly enjoyed. We slept well in what could be described by comfortable surroundings.Having never travelled all inclusive before all was revealed at the breakfast table next morning. Yes it's not a 4/5 star London hotel, but then again that's not we signed up for at a very reasonable price.The food was plentiful and the choice was enormous and i think this is were you can go wrong. it's difficult to walk past the excellent choice without over indulging and trying a little of everything. The food and drink was on tap all day. The pool and activities were great and ran continually all day catering for all. during my week in early July there was no indication of overcrowding yet there was a great buzz about the place. we went out on a couple of local trips but with so much happening at the hotel including the nightly entertainment it would not be necessary to take the journey into town. On the last day we had a late departure which worked well as we were provided with a complimentary room for showering an changing around 6pm. On the whole a great place in which you could feel safe and secure.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by a garden room, design layout great helped by the abundant display of flowers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Aquis Zorbas Village is unlike any other hotel I have been to. The staff were most helpful, from the Porter to the Manager, each taking care for every individual who stayed in the resort. The food varied and they even specially made our family a modification of a meal due to our dietary restrictions whenever required. The selection in the restaurant was vast and tasted wonderful. The beach is just by the resort so there is a selection of choice in how you want to spend your day, and with no hassle. Nothing was too much trouble for the managers and other members of staff. A special thanks to George (the Assistant Manager), Nikos (Maitre D' Restaurant) and the Head Chef.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just back after 2 weeks at Aquis Zorbas. We have been to Aquis Bella Beach in the past and expected a similar 5 star experience but were very disappointedl. The room for 3 of us was around 1O feet by 7 feet, with 3 single beds [we had booked a double & 1 single]. The air condition in the room was great and very much appreciated. There was no chair, no drawers. We had 1 shelf in the wardrobe and 2 narrow tiny shelves above the fridge for clothes for 3 people for 2 weeks so most things stayed in the cases which had to be continually moved to access when needed. No kettle. No fresh fruit. Towels and sheets had holes in them. The 6 foot mirror was not fixed to the wall and fell off during the night as our grandson's bed was so close to the wall. The tiny terrace was swept once in 2 weeks and meant we were always walking gravel into the room. The terrace had only 2 chairs so one of us had nowhere to sit outside.
The food was like school dinners and rarely hot. Lunch & dinner were the same and the sweets tasted like soap or very bad angel delight. There were not enough staff so we were having coffee with dirty starter and dinner plates still on the table & flies and cats vieng for the scraps. maybe we Scots don't complain about poor service and others do because it seemed like the Russians & French always had there tables cleared before us. They didn't seem to have a system in the dining room and the Maitre D needed a personality transplant.
Plates, cups, glasses were chipped and glasses often unavailable when you needed some water.
There was no air conditioning in the dining area or lounge so nowhere to relax comfortable in the evening and the small terrace off the lounge area was dominated by smokers.
The drinks were watered down to being almost tasteless.
George the assistant manager was lovely and always seemed to be there trying his best to make sure everyone was having a lovely holiday. We didn't have the heart to complain about the poor facilities and quality of service. We decided to amke the best of it in light of the Greek economy and not make matters worse for them. I wish now we had complained and maybe we would have been upgraded or treated better. Our dirty plates from sandwiches left for us in our room on arrival were still there after 4 days when I asked they be removed.
We will not be returning. It was meant to be a special celebration for our 4Oth wedding anniversary in 5 star luxury and it was barely 3 star. The gardens were delightful and beautifully kept and Michalis at the bar was the only member of staff apart from George who spoke to us and engaged us in friendly conversation. I speak fluent French, good Spanish and can do the basics in Greek but even these attempts were not reciprocated by the staff in general and we certainly felt like second class citizens compared to the Russians and French clientele who are obviously the main focus for the hotel.
My biggest concern was the lack of privacy in our room. 3 times staff knocked and walked straight in without waiting and on one occasion it was a man to replace bathroom broken lights
while I was in the shower. Fortunately, he knocked on the bathroom door and I was able to quickly tell him to go away.
The sea was extremely rocky under foot [even with aqua shoes on] and very big waves, not suitable for swimming most days. The indoor pool was not heated but we did use it occasionally.
We have raved about Aquis hotels in the past to our friends and family and were thinking of taking a special holiday next year with our 4 children and their children but that will definitely not be happening now. Aquis Zorbas badly let the side down and does not come close to the Aquis standards we have experienced in the past. Not value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are not satisfied. I wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have just returned from a fortnight at the Aquis Zorbas Village with my wife and 3 children aged 5,3 and 1. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a family holiday for anyone with young children or teenagers. The staff throughout the complex are all very friendly and helpful and always keen to ensure you're having a good time.

The rooms are all very clean and are all on the ground or first floor levels which is great if you have small kids. The grounds and gardens throughout are beautiful and well maintained. There are two swimming pools, one of these being a shallow kids pool fenced off in a seperate area adjacent to the main pool. The pools are very clean and appear to be cleaned each morning with the Chlorine levels being checked once or twice daily.

The food is first class with a large buffet style restaurant with a decent number of tables located outdoors with a lovely view of the sea. There is a decent variety of food which all appears to have been freshly prepared. A number of Greek specialities are on offer and these should be sampled. They don't always look the most appetising but usually taste really good. For a 9 Euro charge each you can dine at the Olive Tree Restaurant on the complex. This caters for traditional Greek style cuisine and is well worth a visit. Make sure you don't eat before you go though as the food is a plentiful, and you certainly won't complain about being underfed!

The Animation Team are extremely hard working from early morning to late at night. There are two kids clubs; one catering for French guests and an International Kids Club that help keep the kids amused throughout the day. The mini disco each evening was a big hit with our children. The entertainment shows put on after the mini disco's could be a bit corny but the kids really enjoyed them, which i suppose is what its all about! All the animation team were brilliant but a special thanks to Gosia who helped make our daughters holiday really special!

The atmosphere throughout the complex was really pleasant, and had a nice international mix, with about 50% French, and the rest mainly British, German, Polish and Russian, with the occasional Irish ones like ourselves thrown in for good measure. If you want a rowdy 18-30 style holiday go to Malia. If its family entertainment you're looking for, this could well be the place for you!

Room Tip: We had room 711. Most reviews seem to be suggesting that you should avoid rooms in the 700's as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zorbas Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Village

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorbas Village 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zorbas Village provides a lively environment and relaxed atmosphere for vacations. It is ideal for familes and couples who want a unique experience. The trees, the gardens with beautiful flowers and the sea view creates an atmosphere ideal for rest and relaxation. The complex offers 219 traditional architecture bungalows, two suites and two villas, exceptional colorful gardens and a friendly environment for children of all ages. Zorbas Village operates on all Inclusive basis with one main restaurant providing a varied 7 days menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner including a show cooking section, an a la carte Restaurant based on Mediterranean cuisine, one pool and one lobby bar that the guests are welcome to serve them with a long all inclusive lists of long drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Zorbas Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Zorbas Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Zorbas Village Hersonissos
Aquis Zorbas Village Hotel Hersonissos
Zorbas Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorbas Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.