We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mari-Kristin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mari-Kristin Hotel to your Saves list
Mari-Kristin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 El. Venizelou | Hersonissos Crete, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Kamnik, Slovenia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

1. Staff wasn't friendly. Younger russian waiter was arrogant, didn't feel like cleaning tables after guests, was very rude to us when we wanted to order some drinks, but serbian guy was very helpfull and polite.
First day when we wanted to move 2 tables together (it was 5 of us) they said we couldn't do that..Then we asked them why they didn't have any explanation except that we would have TOO MANY CHAIRS :) very good argument, i suppose - but we didn't care and wanted to talk to the "boss" - nobody said anything from then on.

2. Rooms were terrible - they were clean, i have to say, but FAR FAR from what we were expecting. Bathroom was small with low ceiling and very very small shower with curtain .. not tasty at all!

3. The hotel is more then 10 m from the beach, just saying (this information is very misleading on booking.com page).

4. Food was VERY good, all of us agreed - such a variety of salads (aprox. 12), tasty greek specialities, european food.. It is not a lot to choose from but it is very tasty!


Overall, very good meals raised our raiting of the hotel. They should really put realistic photos (bathroom) on the internet, because it is too misleading.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all i would personally like to thank you for your time to write for us.
Please note, that we take all guest comments very seriousely and take immediate action when necessary.
I really i am sorry for the negative comments as regards the staff , us i can assure you that all of them are working hard, in order to provide the best service in our clients.
Thank you for your good words as regards our food and it is a justification for us, as it is a rule for as to keep a high standard in the quality ot the products on the buffet.
On the other hand, as regards your feedback regarding rooms, please note that in all contracts and in all pictures on internet, there are all types of rooms.Ranovated and no renovated.

Once again thank you for your time and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you again

Best Regards
Maria Mastoraki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from Hersonissos and 1 week at Mari Kristin Hotel.It was a great experience visiting this hotel.Very clean , the cleaners did an excellent job , every day.The staf always smiling and treating you with respect.Cretan hospitality is really wonderful. I propose to everybody to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you, for your preference in our hotel and your sweets comments.

On behalf of all of us, we send you our best wishes and our kind regards and it would be a great pleasure for us to have the opportunity to see you once again in the future.

Kind Regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We choose this hotel trought internet pictures. The pictures on internet are from the new part of hotel. This is misleading customers! Breakfast is always the same, eggs, low-cost ham, tomatoes and cakes bought from low-cost shops. Dinner was slightly better but the items are mostly from cans. What is not consumed current day, you get the dish the next day.
In the hotel other than watermelons and melons probably their very lousy grapes do not know. Where are the bananas, peaches....??? Showering is virtually impossible. Very little pressure. Towels are changed every two days, when it is in between the weekend at 3! The cleaning lady is using ours shopping bag for garbage!!! I am very disappointed in relation to predatory pricing. The rooms are very old and feeling dirty :(
For this price you can get in the other hotels much more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all, i would like to thank you for your time spending,writing a review for us.

I would kindly like to inform you that on internet if you look more carefully, you will see that there are more pictures for all parts of the hotel.

Moreover ecpecially as regards the food, it is a big disapointment and a very unpleasant surprise,
knowing that you did not like.
On the other hand, we understand that people from other nationalities have different way of behaviour, habits and taste.
Our hotel is a small family one and we do our best to keep the quality in a high level.
The most products in our hotel are homemade and is a rule for us to use only pure and traditional products.On many reports, ecpecially in our guest book, you can read only complimentary for our food.
Cake is homemade and and is not bought from a low cost shop.
The most of our fruits also are from our garden.

Last but not least, i would like to epphasize that during your stay in our hotel, there were no complaints about food or service,reported by you or from your guide.

Anyway, we thank you very much once again for your time to write for us, and honestly i wish i had the opportunity in the future to welcome you again and to make you stay and your impressions more possitive.

Kind regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location, close to the sea(but a tiny beach) and in the center of hersonissos. Good location for couples that wants to have fun. The service is bad, the bartender is a frustrating Russian guy. The food is terrible not to many things to eat, poor variety. If you have late diner, they will wait with a cold plate that includes the left over, terrible, also the early breakfast, only cake and coffee/tea. The wifi works in the lobby, don't expect in the rooms. The rooms are "vintage" type, old and poor furniture. The bathroom is small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Caraveteanu,
first of all i would like to thank you for spending your time to write a review for us.
Make me sad to know that the service is no good, because as a family hotel,we try to make a friendly atmosphare and enviroment.
During your stay we did not have any complaints from you or from your guide who represents you.
Our hotel offer a greek traditional couisine and the most products on the buffet are home made.
I am sorry for did not like, but i can understand that different nationalities have different taste.
Moreover as regards the cold plate, if you remember, you had the choice or to take lunch baskets with you or to keep you cold plates.
Last but not least, i really wish i had the opportunity in the future to welcome you again, in order
to do our best to make your holidays unforgetable and to succeed to change your impression for our hotel.

Kind Regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iasi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I don't get the people complaining about this hotel. Very close both to the sea but also bus pickup point to anywhere crete and restaurants and shops, it has tiny clean oldish rooms. Even if we went in july we didn't need the air conditioning, the room was temperature confortable. We had breakfast and dinner included (buffet) with plenty and diverse foods, juice, coffee, tea , watermelon and melon for fruits. If i'll ever come again in hersonisos, i'd stay here again. Nice personnel also and quiet room.

Room Tip: Sea view, even if the sea view is not what you'd expect, the room is cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for taking time to post your impressions on your holiday experience in Mari Kristin Hotel.Your valuable feedback about our hospitality services is vital for us to maintain the high class quality level that we continuously provide to all our guests.

We are happy to have hosted you in our hotel Mari Kristin and we hope to have again the opportunity to welcoming you back to Mari Kristin in the future.

Best Regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the presentation of the travel agency. Some liars. The room was tiny, the bathroom terribly small, no shower curtains. The bathroom was always a puddle on the floor, and slippery. Many mosquitoes, windows without safety net, so sleeping was frustrating because of that. Only one channel on TV was available, so I handed the remote in the same day. Also it was an old radio plugged into the wall that never worked. For refrigerator and air conditioner you must pay, although at how small the room was not sure where would a refrigerator fit. From 7 days, I think that in two of them they did not changed the towels and sheets. On the other hand, the food was relatively good. In the evening were not offered free drinks(water,juice, tea, coffee). Nearest beach is 5 minutes away, but it's a rocky beach. A beautiful beach is 15 minutes walk. This hotel gets a plus from me only for the location and for the free wi-fi in reception area. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all i would like to thank you for spending your time writing for us.
Secondly i want to express my deep sad for your comments and i have the impression that you are mentioning in another hotel.
Anyway i feel useless to answer and i really am sorry for having so many complaints. I want to assure you that if you, or your guide who represents you, contact us,all matters have been solved on the spot.
In regards to your comments for the extra payment for the A/C and your fridge, i am sorry but probably the tour agent you booked your trip, did not inform you that we do not have them in the price, as are not included to our contracts.
For your information also,the free drinks are only in the all inclusive hotels and we are Half Board.Again i suuppose it was missunderstanding from your tour operator.
On the other hand, i am glad to know that you liked our food,as we are trying to use only homemade products.
Anyway, i would like to thank you once more for your feedback and despite the negative comments, it would pleasant for us to welcome you again in the future in our hotel


Kind regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinaia, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

it is a goood hotel with a wonderful lobby and restaurant with little oldies rooms a small pool and a very polite staff.what i didnt like it was that wi-fi i had to pay 3 euro/hour.

Room Tip: take a room at the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking time to post your impressions on your holiday experience in Mari Kristin Hotel.Your valuable feedback about our hospitality servises is vital for us to maintain the high class quality level that we continuously provide to all our guests.
However, as regards the wi fi, for your information, the wi fi on the reception area now is free.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in Mari Kristin Hotel.

Kind regars
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mari-Kristin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mari-Kristin Hotel

Address: 179 El. Venizelou | Hersonissos Crete, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mari-Kristin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mari-Kristin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mari-Kristin Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mari-Kristin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.