We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mareva Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mareva Apartments to your Saves list
Mareva Apartments
Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My fiance and i stayed at the Mareva 2 weeks ago and it was the 2nd time we stayed there, first and foremost we had a lovely time there and would recommend anyone to stay there. Yiannis and his family cannot do enough for you, Yiannis is a character and is one of the reasons we keep going back. The rooms are clean and towels are changed everyday plus the room are cleaned thoroughly. to put it into perspetive...people from other hotels or apartments use their facilities during the daytime, it's that nice :) On a personal note i had an accident at star beach (my own fault) and guess what ? Yiannis settled my panicking fiance (whilst i was being taken to hospital) and drove her to the hospital with our insurance docs and was a god ! He then came to visit us later on with some friends we had made who were staying there also and made us feel very humble. I cannot rate the man highly enough and feel privileged to call him our friend. You have the best of both worlds here, you can walk down the hill 5mins and visit the strip for either clubbing or eat at a variety of lovely restaurants or go up hill to 3 old villages for a choice of old greece restaurants....either way you win. There is a Greek night on a monday evening in the old village which is amazing so don't miss it ( you have been told) so to sum up.....if you want an amazing relaxing holiday and haven't stayed at the Mareva....what are you waiting for ??? love you Yiannis always From Sarah and John x x x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at Mareva in June 12, A very good Apartment complex with 29 rooms. Located between Hersonissos and Koutouloufari about 500 metres up the hill with the road leading directly into the main street of Hersonissos where all the restaurants and nightlife are never more than 5 minutes away. Those expecting 5 star accomodation will be disappointed, as the Mareva is exactly as stated in the brochures, which is a 2 star basic studio/apartment with swimming pool and poolbar serving food and drinks. Rooms are airy with the decor and furniture being the usual greek standard, Fans and safe deposit boxes are available This is a family run affair and they will bend over backwards to help in any way they can. The owner Yainnis and his wife Marina will welcome you when you arrive and as is the greek way will never forget your name for the length of your stay. I can recommend the Mareva for those looking for a good clean friendly holiday.

Ian and Margaret

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just back from Crete, fantastic holiday would go back every year, we thoroughly enjoyed it :) great hotel location, brilliant staff. Nice clean rooms with great view. Loved it :):):)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at the mareva apartments for 1 week on the 12th june 2012 and have to say it was the best holiday we have ever had!! the mareva apartments are lovely! there very clean and comfortable maids came round almost everyday and gave us fresh towels the rooms are clean and big enough for what you need them for and had a nice balcony to we had no problems and no complaints about these apartments they were just perfect for us and we would definatly be coming back!
The family that run the apartments are lovely to and very friendly and welcoming they cant do enough for you! Yiannis is always around and loves to talk to you and make sure everythings ok he was so funny and is always happy to help you out with anything you ask him.
The mareva apartments are up a bit of a hill but its not very steep although the coach transfers dont always bring you right upto the apartments it depends who you book with but if you let yiannis know before hand he is happy to collect you from down the hill with your cases as he was very annoyed our coach didnt bring us up the hill he did drop us down the hill with our cases though when we were leaving.
The location of mareva is fantastic! You walk down the hill and are on the main strip of shops there is a big supermarket straight infront of you down the hill which was very handy for stocking up the room, if you cut down one of the roads off that main strip it brings you onto the sea front where there are beaches, bars, restaurants and you can just keep walking along the front, if you want the more lively bars and night clubs you keep walking along the sea front and u will come to them u cant miss them so everything is very close!
If you prefer the more traditional little greek villages with the tavernas then you come out of mareva and go further up the hill this brings you to a gorgeous little old greek village with lots of bars and restaurants and more shops.
All in all this hotel is definatly worth going to, we met people staying there that have been coming back to the apartments many times and have to say after our first stay there it wont be the last! we loved every minute there and as we say yiannis is a fantastic host to the place! Cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: higher up rooms you can see the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, east sussex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We loved it here but i will be honest and tell you things we were not happy with too.
Yannis the son who runs the place is wonderful, so very friendly and extremely helpful, you never see him wit out a smile.

The appartments are ver basic but for the price, it was what we expected, they are well maintained but the cleaner wasn't very thourough at all which is a shame :-/ , they do come in regularly to change your sheets and clean around but the day we arrived, there was glass shattered all over the floor, which a previous tennant had obviously dropped but there was big chunks and tiny slithers everywhere, as soon as i informed Yannis, the problem was dealt with asap but despite the cleaner having been back in the room to clean the floor 'again' a pair of foam ear plugs remained beside the bed throughout our stay and through her repeated visits BUT pleeeeeease dont let this put you off.

Our appartment was at the front of the building over looking the road, unfortunatley there is an appartment / irish bar right opposite which is very lively and after the bar closes , the youngsters sit on their balconies drinking and talking etc until morning, so if you want a quiet night, request to not be in this part of the appartments. I did speak with Yannis about it and he is very aware it is a problem but it is out of his hands, i did feel very sorry for them having it right opposite.

It is ideally located, down hill is the lively town of hersonissos where you can also pick up public transport to other areas very easily, then up hill is the beautiful villages koutoulafari , piscopiano and old hersonissos, these villages at night have got to be my most favourite part of crete, and we have travelled all over crete over the years. The hill is NOT too bad, we meandered up every night , it really is not that far either way, we do not find it a problem.

They do food at mareva but basic, breakfast and snacks, they have internet access, a pool with sunbeds only, Yannis's wife Marina does manicures and pedicures, so if like me you run out of time to have them done before you go, treat yourself there, she's very good, the drinks at the bar are not cheep but the company and entertainment from yannis alone behind the bar makes it fun.

But please dont be put off by my honest (but personal) critisism as i would very much recommend this place and WILL stay there again, such a lovely lovely family, who will do anything they can to make your holiday a good one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the mareva apartments for one week during the middle of August! On arrival we were met by Yiannis who welcomed us with open arms. It is a family run hotel and they can not do enough for you. The rooms are basic but very clean. Safe family environment. Excellent location situated just off the busy street in Hersonissos. Close walk to supermarkets, bars and tavernas. Plenty to do and see around the area. Yiannis hosts a mean BBQ on a Sunday and provides excellent entertainment. 2* resort but 5* service.

Will definitely return again! Such a fab holiday. Thanks Yiannis!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

we have just got back from an amazing 2 week stay at the mareva appartments! it wasn't the best hotel ever but it was basic and clean which is all you need really, i went with my mother on a late deal through olympic it was only 695.00 for the both of us to stay. we really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere that they had around the apartments and the pool bar, but however if you do stay there their is a little boy who is the handy man's son and he is about 5-6 years old and he takes the balls from the pool and he takes them home with him, so if you are staying there make sure you keep your balls in the appartments while you are not using them because otherwise they will get stolen. i am not gunna lie it is up a hill but you get used to going up and down it everyday and it is good exercise so we found it fine. the person who runs the appartments is called yiannis and he is lovely he is so kind and fun and really funny. altoghther we had a really really nice and enjoyable holiday. thank you yiannis and family!

Room Tip: well we didnt reserve a room but we got a really nice room right in the corner on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mareva Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareva Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mareva Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareva Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Mareva Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mareva Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.