We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Armava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Armava to your Saves list
Hotel Armava
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 El. Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
tel aviv
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

IT IS A NICE FAMILY HOTEL AND very NICE staff.

This is a budget hotel so if you come without high expectation you will enjoy it.

THE ROOM and dining hall décor is SIMPLE AND not very fashionable BUT it's nice and very CLEAN.

The towels are replaced every second day, there is no shampoo in the shower and no television in the room.

The food is basic without too many options. Nevertheless dinner was very tasty.

THE LOCATION IS GREAT, VERY CLOSE TO THE BEACH

AND IN THE MIDDLE OF HERSSONUSS.


The public areas in the hotel are very nice especially the swimming pool area.

I will be definitely go back to armava hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I've never met more friendly, helpfull, lovely owners and staff ever.

We originally booked a hotel in Stalis through Teletext.co.uk. The website had the hotel in Stalis as 3*. It wasn't. We booked through Teletext from the UK as we thought we could get a really good cheap deal. It should be noted that the star rating teletext applies to its hotels is completely inaccurate and does not correspond to the star rating given by the own hotel's website.

My wife and I decided that in order to enjoy our holiday we would have to find another hotel so we looked in Hersonissos and the surrounding area. We came across the Armava and explained our situation. The owners could'nt do more to help us. They gave us an extremely cheap deal and threw in loads of extras such as AC (which is essential) for the 9 remaining days we were staying. They gave us a room that not only overlooked the sea but the pool as well. The sea is less than a 30 second walk away. Manos the Barman is a legend.

For only a 3* hotel, our stay was made into a fantastic holiday specificallly due to the friendliness of the staff at this hotel. Although in Hersonissos, the hotel is far away enough from the messy areas to have a relaxing stay however the the main nightlife is only 5 mins walk away. If you are looking for a cheap break away in comfortable accomodation then stay at the Armava.

Visit Galini's in Koutouloufari (5 mins up the hill in taxi and 15 min walk down) for exceptional service and traditional greek food. Possibly the best service in a restaurant I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

very good value for money
we were 4 friends in august 2010. wonderful swimming pool, best beach in all the area of crete. perfect location. between star beach on the one hand and all the bars and discos on the other.
Roni K

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Its close to the Star Beach - 10 m' walk, 5 m' to the best beach, very good room, clean every day, nice meals espacially in the evening...very nice swiming pool. the problem is that they dont let woman go inside :(

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Hotel Armava is best place in Hersonissos!! Everything is great.. Hotel is near the see, rooms are nice and comfortable, restaurant, recepcion, swimming pool is great!! Everybody, who works in this hotel is great. Everytimes I want to come back. This place and people I have in my heart.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Good hotel, clean rooms, near the sea and the center of the town. We had nice weather during our stay. We recommend to relax next to the hotel´s swimming pool with a drink specially prepared for you by the most friendly and qualified barman you have ever met :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

If you expect luxury, go to Hilton or Savoy... :) But if you expect family atmosphere, clean rooms, delicious dinners, good service, friendly and kind people, very joyful and goodhearted man (Manos) at the swimming pool bar, you should go to Armava hotel. Situated right in the middle of all what is happening in Crete, Hersonissos, lots of shops, restaurants, bars, night clubs... close to Star Beach Resort with all kinds of water sports and various entertaining activities... Very strongly recommended... :)))
Marketa

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Armava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armava

Address: 183 El. Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Armava 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Armava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Armava Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Armava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.