We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired but nice with a good pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silvia Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silvia Apartments to your Saves list
Silvia Apartments
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Village of Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancashire
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Bit tired but nice with a good pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A smallish hotel/apartment site with reasonable rooms somewhat basically furnished and equipped. Clean but in need of some refurbishment. Located a short walk from the village, it was difficult to find (it lies to the East of the village). Pool was large and pleasant. The village has good restaurants, etc. but they are pricey for Crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A perfect location to chill ,but not too far away from the resort o
the lovely village of Koutouloufari with its fantastic tavernas...we found the apartments more than adequate and looked to be recently overhauled,,,,the only thing we were surprised about was the none refundable charge of 65 euros for the safe deposit box & a/c for one weeks stay..despite this we would certainly not hesitate in returning...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I took our 8 year old son and have just got back from a great time at silvias apartments,we had a nice room, with lovely garden surroundings,lots of space around the apartments, a sea view, great pool, a short walk to the beach, and star beach with so much going on, also not far from the shops and supermarket, if you want to go further there is a bus stop just down the road where you can easily get to most other beaches like Stalis and Malia, we would go back tomorrow,, I am actually booking soon to go back same time next year, and would highly recommend to anyone, Thank you so much Silvia, I miss the freshly squeezed hand picked oranges from your trees that went with my large vodkas, Alison Steve and Gabriel.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor 1 bedroom apartment and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

On arriving late at night 23 rd july 12 we were told we didnt have a room so were taken to another set of apartments which were equally as nice. On arrival we were given some free beers and in the morning out breakfast before being picked up and taken back to the Silvia apartments.
The apartments are basic , clean and suited the 3 of us. Couldnt complain about anything .The pool got a bit busy between 2-4 pm but was manageable. For the money we paid for our 2 week holiday, it was well worth it.
Star beach was about 5 min walk down hill and Koutouloufari village was 5 min walk uphill.I will be back as decided to get married in Crete next year and bring all my family.
Silvia you were very nice person.A lovely person trying to run a business and juggle 2 very young children. Definetly will be back.
PLease dont listen to negative reviews.Your holiday is what you make it even if you have to buy some toilet roll :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived here 7th august after booking last minute.On arrival we checked in at the bar! then walked the short distance to the room to our 'promo studio'.I must admit when the door opened i was disappointed.Someone had been very sloppy with the paintbrush,the kitchen area looked dirty and there was a huge crack in the bathroom sink.We however got used to it over time and took it for what it was....Basic! If you choose to cook during your time here you may find it a problem as the facilities only consist of two electric rings and some rather basic utensils.The layout of the apartments are attractive with nice garden areas and pathways but this is tainted by litter in and around flower borders which never seems to get cleared up.The pool is a good size and deep which suited us but the tiles around the deep end could do with a good scrub! There is however,a lack of sunbeds and unless you reserve one by 9.30am you may have to lay on the grass with your towel.The guests when we were there consisted of British and Dutch guests,mainly young Dutch and British families and couples.50/50 Dutch and British.There is no entertainment here,even the pool table which sat under a grape vine was covered in squashed fruit and leaves that never got cleaned up.There is a t.v in the bar and two internet stations which were suprisingly free to use through out the day and night when the bar is open.Our main issue during our stay was with the air conditioning which broke down on the 4th night.It cost a pricey 45 euros and after complaining,was told it would be fixed.We had to wait till the last day till someone repaired it by which time it was working again.I was accused of fiddling with the remote,which i had done so after two very uncomfortable sleepless nights.The rattling and banging from an outdated a/c unit was unbearable and all it did was chuck out water which dripped onto one of our beds during the night,which meant i had to get up and move it across the room.I can only assume that it worked again after being rested for a period of time.We were offered a refund which i exchanged for a late room check out.The apartments are up a hill 5 minute walk down to the main road and the 'star beach' area in Hersonissos but are a good 40 minute walk to the lively harbour area.A cab will cost 7/8 euros.Hersonissos is not 'dream Greece' by any stretch of the imagination.The small stretches of beaches are poor and the resort is shabby in many places.The main nightlife is Dutch orientated and compared to other resorts is pretty poor.(Maila is 10 minutes in the cab)However Koutouloufari a 10 minute walk up the hill the turn right,is beautiful.Pretty tavernas and bars await for a quiter night and a taste of the Greece i was looking for.You'll find the majority of restaurants serve great quality food but avoid 'Pegasus' where we were served food from the freezer.Final word must go to 'Yannis' the night barman who is fantastic.If Hersonissos is your place and the site gets cleaened up a little,more sunbeds added and throw in some entertainment then this place could be a winner but i won't return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If a comfortable clean and safe complex is your idea of a good base for a holiday then don't choose here. Not family orientated, not even in, nevermind the centre of Koutouloufari and certainly not 4*, actually not even cheap when you consider what little you get for your money even if you paid very little, Tip pack a bog roll or two as they expect the few sheets they start you off with to last two weeks. Management seem friendly until you try to resolve what would normally be regarded as minor issues but here they turn really nasty, living in this place really is a horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just arrived back from the best value for money holiday ever after spending 14 nights staying at this complex.

Party, party all night long. In fact the only time we had to entertain ourselves was from 9am to 1pm when the youngsters were asleep.

No need for the misses to take fifty shades of grey, action was more than enough to cover everyone’s taste be it male and female or male and male, nudity or semi nude.

If that isn’t enough to get your juices flowing or you’re a hardened soap opera fan, book apartment 109, next door to the owners, take your pick, Jack and Vera, Stan and Hilda. You won’t be disappointed.

Screaming banshee came to mind, about 6 times a day, who’s answer to all the parting was to turn up her radio and add the wonderful sound of Greek singing to the boom, boom omitting from the private party apartments within the complex and the screams of the youngsters as they went roaring through the complex on their mopeds, motor bikes or quad bikes. The sight of the quad bikes with lights blazing at 4.30am was not to be missed.

The poor security Guard did try his hardest but he was no match for the sheer number of party animals who were booked in, in fact their hide and seek games with him from 3am onwards helped while away the hours till quiet was regained.

The apartment itself was amazing, reminded me of my youth, camping on basic sites. Makeshift shower, good job we had the silk dressing gown belt to tie up the shower head and it only took us 3 days to figure out the controls on the 2 ring stove. Thank heavens for wet wipes, we’re past using moss to wipe ourselves after the promised toilet roll didn’t materialise. I do have to admit to being a tad upset for those who didn’t take their own towels, who wants to wait 3 days for fresh ones to appear.

I bet those Families who believed the hype given out by the travel company stating it was a 4* quiet Family complex set in a village will be having more than a quiet word with them when they get home.

So all in all a very entertaining holiday, real value for money, two weeks felt like six and for the first time ever we were ready to check out early, 13 days early.

Room Tip: Try a diferrent complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silvia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvia Apartments

Address: Village of Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silvia Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silvia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvia Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Silvia Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silvia Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.