We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Thalia to your Saves list
Hotel Thalia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 El Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Thalia in Sept after moving from a hotel down the road which was absolutely awful. We were greeted with such a warm welcome and the lady on Reception was so nice and helpful, she let me look at the rooms and pool etc before actually booking. The rooms are basic but all of Crete is the same, these were clean and new bathrooms with good showers.All the staff couldnt do enough to help you in any way. The breakfast was fresh and plenty of it every morning. If you want a central location 5 mins from the beach and bars, restuarants etc then i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Thalia hotel is by definition a budget hotel. It's great and biggest plus is that it is located in the heart of the town of Herssonisos, at a walking distance to Star Beach (the most active and attractive beach in the area) and all the shops and the restaurant of the main street. If you walk 10 minutes, you'll get to the night life area where all the clubs and the bars are located and if you walk up the hill for 10 minutes, you'll reach a simple Greek village with great taverns and good food, a little different from the restaurant on the main street. However, you need to make sure with the hotel that your room will NOT face the main street if you want to be able to get some sleep at night. It's very noisy outside almost at all hours and if you want some quiet, you have no choice but to sleep with the air conditioning on all night. Given that the air conditioning is extra charge (as well as the TV, the safe and the blowdryer), you should take into consideration that it will cost a little more. Breakfast is fairy good. The rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms are spottless clean. All in all, I would say that if you are looking for a lavish hotel with pampering white linens and matress (matresses are quite awful, but we didn't find) and sophisticated decor, this is not the right place for you. This is a good place to shower and get some sleep in between activities for a reasonable price.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

my partner and myself travelled to crete in july for 2 weeks. the accomidation was pretty basic but all you need is to put your head down at night. the owner herself was brilliant, very lovely woman along with the brilliant security guard. the pool was quite small and could do with a bit of a clean but was still fine, on our stay there was only myself and my partner and one other english couple stayin in the hotel. all the rest where russian and german which meant loud and ignorant people, but generally the pool was very quite.

the hotel itself could not be better situated, you litterally had a 2 minutes walk across a road to get to the beach where there was lots of room and a life guard. the hotel also was on the main strip which meant you had an abudance of resturants and bars. the only thing i could fault at the hotel was that they said they had a bar by the pool- we were ther for 2 weeks and did not see the bar open once.

i would definatley recommend going down to the harbour and tryin the pizzas and seafood it was beautiful. overal i would recommend this to some1 who isnt going to be living in their room 24/7 but i definatley enjoyed my stay in thalia and in crete.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed at Thalia Hotel just for one night and I'm happy about it. Rooms are quite old, dark and bucolic with very old forniture (wardrobe smelled of mo(u)ld). Window courtain was yellow and too thin, there was no blind, so street and moon lights floodlighted the room during all the night. The bathroom was very old with a very little window opened on a little tunnel finishing on the roof. Swimming pool is too little and in common with next hotel (hotel iro), it has very dirty rims. Air conditioning is quite expensive (7 euros per night) and they ask you 20 euros or your document as a warrantee for the zapper. Hotel Thalia is considered a 3 stars hotel, but I think it would deserve only a1 stars

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The hotel is located in the center of quite a noisy and party town, so we would not recommende it to someone who is looking for a quiet and peaceful rest.
Good:
personnell, interior - quite traditional and special. Location - neighbourhood is full of bars, restaurants, shops, clubs, and everything of different kind and taste - just go party :)
Bad:
breakfast - unfortunately very poor, we just tried it twice and skipped during the rest on our stay. It lasts for 1.5 and it is not enoughh time for all guests to manage to get something, especially considering that food is not refilled if finished. Also the buffet table is enourmously small.
Pool - closed after 6pm. Would be great to spend some time at the pool with a drink after a long day out, but :(

  • Liked — wide availability of restaurants and bars
  • Disliked — poor breakfast (read no breakfast), bad beach, bad pool - no pool when wanted
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

Very friendly staff. Rooms VERY basic. Problems with noise the pool bar stays open for as long as you want to drink. Which is fine unless your overlooking the pool, which we were, Music and laughter until 04:00. Which can be annoying. Music supposed to stop 01:30. But if people are willing to carry on drinking, you feel a killjoy complaining. Area beautiful though. Wouldn't recommend it for people with walking difficulties as very hilly.

  • Liked — After 04:00 - 12:00 midnight
  • Disliked — The hours inbetween
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Thalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thalia

Address: 176 El Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thalia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALIA hotel is a very friendly and hommy 3* family run hotel,since 1979, second generation. It is near to the see and near to the shopping street. It operates from May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Thalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Hotel Hersonissos
Hotel Thalia Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.