We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel from all sides!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glaros Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Glaros Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Glaros Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bouboulinas 5 | Lim. Chersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Great hotel from all sides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Glaros has it all. Nice clean facilities, great tasty food, friendly service, sound of waves as it is just above the coast, fantastic view from a room is you have a sea view one.

Rooms: I recommend a superior room is available with a sea view, you wont regret it. I heard people complaining that standard rooms are rather small. I don't recommend a pool or street view rooms, it's nothing compared to the sea view. Room service is dayly, nothing spectacular, just ordinaly operations cleaners are doing, but all ladies are very friendly.

Food: Glaros has following: Main restaurant where you will be served buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner (depending on your package), Main Bar on second floor, Pool bar, and "Veranda" restaurant. I must say the food whether it's a buffet dining or "Veranda" restaurant is perfect, really tasty and you can tell they are using fresh products. You can see the chef every day at Main restaurant, he is a very funny and at the same time serious man, people say he is a perfectionist and can allow low quality food. You will see him making fried eggs and bacon in the mornings and doing some grill fish or meat and pasta in the evenings.

Beach: It seems Hersonissos doesn't have any nice sandy beaches, all are stony. So we didn't see a reason to search for beach somewhere as Glaros has it's own basically private beach. There's basically no walking distance, just take the stares down and you arrive.

On the beach there is a great guy Dmitri, who is responsible for the sun chairs and umbrellas, as well you can order food and drinks from Veranda restaurant thru him. Very friendly man who will help you in everything. You'll be charged 2,50 euros for the chair and 2,50 for the umbrella if you need it, for all the day.

It was my first time in Greece, previously I've been to spain like 100 times, and got used to Spanish really fast service. In Spain after you sit down in aproximately 30 seconds first beers will be on the table :). Greeks are bit different, they don't seem to rush too much. Don't expect very fast service, but nevertheless you'll be served good and in the end will be pleased, no doubt.

As everywhere in Crete most common languages servants speak are English ofcourse, Russian and German.

Internet: You will have to get a voucer with a code to use Wifi in all over hotel. They will charge you 3 euros per 24h. Which I believe is a disadvantage, as internet nowadays is like air we breathe, If they really need to charge clients for that I would guess 1 euro would be more apropriate. Sometime in the evening the internet traffic rises and you can't get a decent connection, this is common in most places though.

In conclusion we enjoyed our stay at Glaros and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
18
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place for couples and friends. Hotel is in the city centre but on a quiet place just above small beach. That was really big advantages for us that there were not a lot of people and loudly children so we could really relax. Hotel has a very good staff everywhre but the men who takes care of sun beds and umbrellas on the beach and around the swimming pool was extremely nice and kind. He provided great service with smile and spread good cheer around!

Room Tip: Rooms at 6th floor with view to the West above the terrace were very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were at the Glaros hotel for 4 nights vacation at the beginning of august - the top of high season.
The hotel is located on the beach road of Harsonissos in a beautiful and quite part of it, with small nice beach, small swimming pool and nice taverns.
Although it was the top of high season and the hotel was fully booked, we did not fill it. The service was excellent, the hotel was very pleasant, the room was simple but clean and I specially want to thank Mrs. Patra from the reception that did any effort to make me satisfied.
We finished the vacation with the desire to come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerse, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were here last week, nice hotel, good food, excellent service, friendly staff. We payed for superiour room and this was great. Standard rooms maybe not so good, but we knew this and we payed extra. We will go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for better room as standard is real standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

me and my family stayed on glaros hotel between 23/6/2013 till 30/6/2013.
the hotel was prety good, helpfull staff. Varied and tasty food, nice swimming pool, clean room.
the hotel is on the center of the town.
recommented hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is located next to beach and few steps from the city, which is ideal for active holidays. Food was delicious, room was clean, staff very nice. I recommend this hotel to young people or adults without children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, after reading some of the reviews on here I was worried, but they couldn't be any further from the truth! This hotel is incredible the standards are very high the staff are so friendly and they make you feel so welcome! The room was very clean and the decor was lovely, we went all inclusive so we had all our meals in the hotel which was very nice food, 5* food in my opinion, glaros should have a higher rating as in my eyes it should be 5*! Would really recommend this hotel! We will be returning next year and staying for two weeks this time as one wasn't enough! So don't listen to the rubbish reviews as there not true atall :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glaros Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaros Beach Hotel

Address: Bouboulinas 5 | Lim. Chersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glaros Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glaros Beach Hotel is the perfect choice for visitors to Crete. Situated 25 Km east of Heraklion International Airport in a quiet and residential area of Chersonissos, on the beach and only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town. An oasis of hospitality is ready to satisfy the needs of those traveling for business or pleasure. 178 Individual rooms with 364 beds for your comfort. Special attention is paid to the smallest detail and aesthetics throughout the area, creating a unique atmosphere in which quests can enjoy professional accommodation in Chersonissos and service within a modern, friendly and luxurious environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glaros Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaros Hotel Hersonissos
Glaros Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaros Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.