We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Good & Bad Points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterraneo Hotel to your Saves list
Mediterraneo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Hersonissos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average - Good & Bad Points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stopped at Mediterraneo Hotel in May 2009 on an all inclusive basis. On the whole it's not a bad hotel - there are good and bad points to it.

On the positive side, the hotel was to a fairly good standard - especially the reception and bar/lounge area. The rooms were "OK" - not to UK or Spanish 4 star quality, but certainly liveable for a week. Air conditioning was extra but worth investing in as it was hot in the evening. There is also a small charge for the fridge and safe. The food wasn't too bad either - worth making an effort to go to. Most of the staff were friendly - especially on reception.

On the negative side, all inclusive doesn't mean all inclusive in the same sense as Spain. At the bar, the only drinks included were beer, ouzo, brandy, raki, and (very) bad wine. Spirits such as vodka and gin are NOT included. Plus it ends strictly at 11pm - on the dot! Secondly, the location isn't fantastic. A short walk down to the drive takes you onto a slip road which leads on to a very busy road (similar to a dual carriage way - see pictures) - so certainly NOT good for small kids. If you're heading off into Malia, then you'll need a taxi (15-20 Euros each way). Hersonissos or Stalis is closer, but still quite a trek - 20-25 mins walk. Entertainment is sparse - we only encountered two very ropey acts in the week we were there.

Our top tip is to hire a car, and head off into the mountains, or off to the island of Spinalonga for the day.

All in all not a bad hotel, but I doubt we'll be returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    96
    42
    39
See reviews for
135
140
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Mediterraneo Hotel. The holiday was lovely and the hotel was of a very good standard. We spent most of our time around the pool but people were saying the beach was also great. The room was cleaned daily and because we had a junior suite we had a fridge. The air conditioning was extra but we did not need it in May.

The all inclusive is not as good as some we have had but it was adequate - you get what you pay for and this holiday was good value. The food was excellent and my sons loved it. My youngest loved the pasta dishes!

Maybe the only down side is the shade around the pool. The umbrellas are quite close together and give a lot of shade which is good in some ways but if you did want the sun it was hard to move your sunbed to get any. We had to wait for the sun to move over. Or you could move to the garden area which was lovely but I could not keep an eye on my children!

We really enjoyed our holiday and would recommend this hotel - the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

What a great hotel, and staff where amazing, my friend and I went on a girls week away and it was one of the best holiday's I have been on - brilliant weather and food
Very clean hotel and staff make you feel welcome. Only thing nothing on in hotel at night, but you can go into town for around €7 in a taxi. I would recommend the hotel's spa room it costs extra but it is really worth it delia and her team are really good at the relaxation spa treatments. will be back next year. Rooms are clean and tidy and maid service every day there are steps to most of the rooms, but the view is worth it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We had a very good time, and we are very happy with our holidays, on Crete and in mediterraneo hotel.
The hotel was clean, the food was very tasty, and the personnel very friendly.
Especially the room was very well (modern) decorated and we had a fantastic view to the sea.
The city of hersonisos was not very busy but that was not very important.
We strongly suggest to everybody, to visit Koutouloufari (2km from the hotel),and Piskopianio, Very traditional Greek villages 5 min away from the hotel.
We also recommend the Live Music night in Mediterraneo hotel. The band is very good.
The only negative is that we had 2 raining days during the week.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute Savoie
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

NO; this hotel should be deslisted to avoid others to have same BAD experience.
Staff try to be efficient, but few people for service required.
Every morning guests have to "fight" among each other to get coffee.
Picnic pack auwful
Poor food choice, no ability to improve, just fishing for monies.
We have arrived second in the hotel and they give us the far away rooms.
NO service oriented

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer-Sheva, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We have been at Mediterraneo hotel Crete for 4 nights at April 2009 on the basis of "all inclusive". The hotel location is not near to anything and you must rent a car to tour Crete. However, I believe it's so for any hotel in Crete.
The sea view from room was nice, but we have to use the elevator and then to climb about 50 difficult steps to get to our room. The room was big and nice but with only basic decoration, hard beds and without any luxury. We faced many maintenance problems in the room. We could not close well the shower door. Sewage problems and hot water were not always available.
The food was fine but not more than that. Since the hotel was in its full capacity, the availability of the food was somehow problematic. It was too cold to sit outside and to eat near the swimming pool so there was a problem of lack of sits in the dining room. Only in one night of four the hotel supplied some entertainment (a singer). The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The bottom line is that the Mediterraneo hotel can be a reasonable price station for touring Crete, but it can be a place for long staying vacation in the hotel itself. This is especially true for the colder months of the year when the swimming pool is useless.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL AVIV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We've been in October in mediterraneo hotel for a short stay, (4 days) and we had great time. Everything was nice, the weather, the hotel, the food and most of all the service and the friendly personnel.
We love island of Crete and we definately we will return.
aaron- TEL-AVIV

  • Liked — service and location
  • Disliked — no children facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Hersonissos
Mediterraneo Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.