We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, great food and drink, excellent facilities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterraneo Hotel to your Saves list
Mediterraneo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, great food and drink, excellent facilities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Hotel Mediterraneo is set in the countryside close to the beach and within easy walking distance of Hersonissos. The hotel has good clean rooms which are comfortable and well furnished. The staff are superb, helpful, friendly and competent. The food is excellent with a really good range to suit all tastes. The bar is well stocked and if you are fully inclusive it's paradise on earth!

The hotel has two well kept swimming pools with comfortable sunbeds and lots of other facilities to keep every generation content. However Hersonissos, which is lively by night but quite, clean and friendly with excellent range of shops by day is easy to get to. There is also the brilliant Aqua World, Crete's first aquarium which my sister and I think is a must at only 5 Euros for as many visits as you want on your stay.Plus there many other super attractions and good bus service to Heraklion, Agios Nikolaos, Malia and many other places. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys the good life. We will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want the staff will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    96
    42
    39
See reviews for
135
140
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We read the reviews on this site after we booked our holiday and therefore were more than a little concerned. Such concerns were unfounded.

The greeting on arrival was effusively friendly and the receptionist took us to our room, using the lift (yes, there is one despite what you may read elsewhere). The room was large, very clean and well appointed. Fridge, safe and air-con are €10 each per week. We didn't need air-con so €20 was money well spent (I am diabetic and needed to keep my insulin cold). The bed was very firm - too firm for me but just right for my wife. Nowhere near as hard as Premier Lodge in UK.
The restaurant has been criticised by many - in our experience without justification. The food was well cooked, of excellent quality and variety and the staff were wonderful, the restaurant manager was efficient and ever so friendly. There was no junk food but there were chips, lots of Greek food (that's what we came to Greece for), lots of salad, fish, varieties of meat and vegetarian options. All buffet style, drink orders taken and served at the table. Puddings to die for and plenty of fruit and ice cream. We calculated that the meals alone would have cost some €60 a day in local restaurants - making that part of all inclusive a bargain.
The bar and drinks - all inclusive covers local beer, wines and spirits. We became addicted to the local brandy (Aria) but could have Raki, Ouzo, Red, White and Rose wine, Mythras beer and soft drinks all day long. How anybody could find fault with that selection I'll never know. My only gripe with the bar was its music policy - too much modern 'techno' and a relatively poor range. I did persuade the barman to play some 70s rock one night and it went down well with the older clientele (who were the majority in May) but it didn't last. There were quite a few Russian/Polish youngsters and the music catering was predominantly for them.
The swimming pools were very good and extremely well maintained - but spoiled a little by the music from the bar. We used the lower, salt water pool which didn't suffer this problem. I fully accept that one man's meat is another's poison - so my taste in music is a very personal view.
However the best for swimming is Green Beach - out of the hotel, turn left about 300 metres to a tunnel under the busy road. You'll need to stoop slightly but it really is not as small as some have suggested. Other side of the road, bear right, walk about 500 metres passing the Lychnostatis Open Air Museum ( well worth a visit €6) and follow the sign saying "to the beach". The tenant keeps it very clean, it's soft sand and sun beds are €2 a day.
Buses are frequent and cheap - we went to Heraklion for €3 each way (it's some 35 km). A further €1.60 took us to Knossos). Bus stop is just beyond the tunnel outside the Select supermarket.
If you're looking for a place full of night clubs, kebabs and bars - Hersonnisos is 2 km left and Malia (I shudder at the very word) is 6km to the right. we walked along the coast to it one day - let's be honest - it's a pit! But a pit with lots of clubs, bars and quad bikes. The hotel itself is a haven from all of that. Again, it's horses for courses.
I'd have no concerns about returning but would advise them to play a wider range of music. Is it worth 4 stars - unequivocally yes!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I think that this hotel can best be described as good, but could do better. We were there for the last week of the season, however the hotel was still very busy and did not start to close up until towards the end of the week, the 2nd pool was emptied and the 2nd pool bar did not open at all, however a lot of the businesses in the local town had definitely decided enough was enough and headed for their winter breaks. The hotel was generally clean throughout and the food was very good from start to finish with a mix of authentic Greek dishes and traditional English fare, surprising given the wide array of nationalities using the hotel. Some entertainment would have been good as the games room was not extensive enough to keep two pre-teenagers busy for long and a little heating in the pool would be welcome as it was bloody freezing despite summer only just disappearing round the corner! Local drinks, Mythos, Ouzo and soft drinks were included all day, which is great if that is your tipple, but the local wines, white, red and rose we not amazing and the daytime snacks were not very imaginative. Overall it was an ok hotel to spend a weeks break, but I would not go back for my main two week holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
1,192 helpful votes 1,192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Operator and Date: Thomas Cook, October 10
The all inclusive alcohol was alcohol free only the oozo had any affect !! Food was ok most of the time we have one fussy eater in our party and he managed to find somthing to eat most days, the worse meals where breakfasts ( sweetcorn ? Watery milk for your cornflakes,fried potatoes,salad bar,watered down oranage juice,eggs, bacon once a week ,german sausage or hot dogs other days, all served luke warm , in fact I never had a hot cup of coffee my entire stay) the hotel is catered for the germans and the russians. We stayed late into the season and the two pool areas where fine but in the peak season you will get now where near the pools as the complex is very big with a lot of accommodation scattered around . The entertainment did not exist!! The location of the hotel is fine , ten minute walk into hersonissos and about twenty minute walk to stalas, it took us forty minutes to walk to port of hersonissos which was dirty and scruffy (this like the nightlife area for the younger holiday makers) several small but nice and clean beaches only five minute walk away only problem was they over a main road,not a problem realy as if you walk a couple of minutes on your left as you come out of the complex there is a tunnel under the road it must have been made for dwarfs as you have to duck to use it!! We used the nearest beach to us (alekos beach garden) very clean kept tidy nice sand clean water we had a fridge in our appartment, great but the power to the fridge only worked when you where in the room as when you came into the room you placed your key fob into thr slot to make the electricity to work and the key was soldered to the key fob so you had take the key with you to lock your room door,( waste of time paying extra for the fridge). Nice area shame about the beer , you could not get drunk if you tried unless you drunk the oozo and I tried!! All in all hotel was clean staff were friendly , hotel positioned in a good area, food was plentyful you just had to find somthing you liked and fill up on that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

there was no entertaniment. the all inclusive was poor value.. no air con included, meal choice was very poor,to pay 2 euros to change the green towels for the pool was a rip off.there was no diet coke available .. the gym was very poor too ..the pool snack bar wasn`t serving any snacks , only had some cobs left over from breakfast left in a cabinet by the main bar..you could only have ice cream from the pool bar for children only... THIS IS AN ALL INCLUSIVE AFTER ALL !!! but not much was included. the only one good comment was the staff were very friendly and the maids did a good job too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed for a week at this basic but comfortable hotel but it definately lacked in entertainment however just 5 mins down the road you can find a lively bar at Camping Caravan, definately a good spot in the evening for some fun and meeting some friends, also handy for food and drinks as it is located on the local beaches. I would go back to the Mediterraneo for value for money but spend my evenings just down the road at Camping Caravan, next to the Museum.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Fantastic value, lovely spacious room with balcony overlooking the Cretan sea.
Good selection of food at large buffet for breakfast, lunch and evening meal.
Hotel was very clean, the staff very effecient, and two large outdoor swimming pools provided plenty of outdoor fun, plus more energetic sports also available.
We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing holiday in a well run family orientated hotel in beautiful area near the sea, mountains and not too far into town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Hersonissos
Mediterraneo Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterraneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.