We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back - ever.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Star Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Star Beach Village to your Saves list
Star Beach Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not going back - ever.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visited Crete for a one week August 2012. Pictures of the hotel is very promising, but the reality was really something else. Check in was a disaster. When traveling with three years old, flying hours from Finland and then waiting for a room another long hours was not a good way to start your waited holiday. I don't know if we ended up to select a week when all youngsters from UK, The Netherlands and some other countries travel to Chersonissos for a one week constant drinking party. There were a LOT (and I really mean it) people drunk night and day and for my eyes it looked that hotel staff didn't care that at all. With children people needed to get away from even the pools reserved for kids, becaude it just wasn't nice to look and hear drunken people getting ready (drunk) for a parties. Rooms were very noisy. Because of the parties at the other side of the street, music was very loud making children not to sleep. Fortunately we were in a block on the other end, I can't imagine what it would have been in closer ones. It's nice that hotel gives you free tickets to water park, tose became unused, because you just can't go there with kids when there is people behaving like that and no one is taking care of it. I don't feel it's safe when you can't be sure when some drunken youngster is sliding over you or your kids. No no.

We ate once in a hotel restaurant. Sorry to say, but the buffet food was terrible. My hint is not to spend your money there. There are small local restaurants close. They may not look very nice, but people are very friendly and food is much much better.

Hotel side pool was quite good, however we would like to spend more time in a park but... as I described already.

Room Tip: Choose timing wisely if possible. If traveling with children avoid closer blocks. It's more ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    84
    36
    26
    17
See reviews for
172
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed there May 2012, my first holiday abbroad. Pool was open all the time, even on rainy days and it was still warm then because I was swimming everyday. Entertainment however wasn't the best, but most nights had children's songs playing and the birdie song playing.. a lot of the time. We didn't go all inclusive but some nights and some mornings we went and ate in the restaurant, in the evenings there was a different selection of food, and a wide range to choose from, but in the morning food was always the same so wouldve been boring if we was all inclusive. Staff were friendly and willing to help. Although receptionists weren'tthe happiness. Everyday cleaners came to the appartment and cleaned the bathroom and mopped the floors. Towels changed every other day. On day we went on a trip to the Samaria Gorge, we was gone all day and didnt return until nearly 11pm! When we got back to the appartment, the window was wide open from where the cleaners had tried to clear the rooms smell. Forunatley nothing had been stolen. My party consisted of 3 people, and we recieved 6 free tickets to the water park across the road, great water slides and entertainment the other side. However I wouldn't recommened this to a family as children would get bored, i'm 14 and enjoyed the water slides but would be boring if doing it everyday for 2 weeks. Great though for couples.i went with my aunty and uncle

Room Tip: Rooms not far from reception so not far to walk back and forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came here after reading the write up and after been advised from Easy jet. We have four children aged 5-14 so needed somewhere that would suit them all. I will never come here again, pools were dirty and green, facilites as advertised not open. Water park closed down, bars not open, only the pool bar. No night time entertainment, nor day time entertainment. Kids are sat on the computers as nothing else to do. As we are sat at the pool bar they are packing all the sunbeds up at the only pool left so no where to sit. They are digging up the beach so cannot go on that. Food not good, kids are living on bread, chips and pasta. Staff very unhelpfull. We are still here, tried to get moved but told we can't, tried to get an early flight home but at our cost. Will defo not advise this place at all. Even as the hotel is bad we thought day trips out would entertain the children but there none due to the end of season. Also over run with stray disgusting cats and dogs that keep wandering into our apartment, complained about them but the staff did nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Allyson,

thank you for your review.

We promise to check all the points that you are mentioning. Our constant intention is always to improve and offer to our Guests the highest level of Service possible.

Kind regards,

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Star Beach Village. The hotel buildings were nice and the rooms large and the location was good.
That unfortunately was where the good points ended. The only bar available for the whole hotel, which was busy due to our original hotel closing was a pool bar. There should have been a bar open in the lobby but this was NEVER opened, even when there were terrific storms and torrential rain. That meant that we were unable to have drinks at this time, people complained but it never opened. We wanted to have a quiet bar to sit in as this was a special holiday for us.....our first holiday away together alone for over 25 years and my 50th birthday celebration. The pool bar was poor and the staff at night were very arrogant, all inclusive finished at 11pm exactly even if you had been queing for 15 mins which was not unusual because the staff decided to clear tables 15 mins before and have drinks themselves at this time. They did however serve paying guests immediately. The chairs there were not comfortable and there were never enough available for everyone, some had to sit on sunbeds.
The entertainment was none existent, 1 night they had 3 girls dancing and the rest of the time it was a quiz or bingo and the prize was a bottle of wine.
The restaurant looked nice and the waiters cleared food away efficiently, the food however was tasteless, whatever we ate tasted exactly the same, If we had been staying there for 2 weeks we would have had to be moved. We ate out a few times because of this.
There should should have been 3 restaurants including a beach restaurant but they were not open, the pool bar had a snack bar but we never ate there as the smell of dirty fat from there which surrounded the pool area was disgusting.
The range of drinks were very limited too, we could have tea, plain coffee but had to pay for hot chocolate etc, I have been all inclusive for many years but never had such restricted drinks. Alcoholic and none alcoholic.
The impression that you get is that the Water park facilities are included too, you have to pay 3 euros for sunbeds and no drinks are included. Water sports and beach beds are also payable locally

This has put us off visiting Crete and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear chmh_12,

thank you for your helpful review.

All the issues that you are mentioning will be carefully checked. We are always trying to solve possible problems and correct mistakes. Your review will help us to do so.

Kind regards,

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a weeks break here. There were fourteen of us with ages ranging from 16-51.The bar staff during the day were good but when the night staff came on at 6 o'clock it was a different story. They were rude and would ignore you. The food was of a very low standard and was often cold. Would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

just came back on the 18th of october after a 2 week stay in crete with my husband and my 2 kids aged 8 and 4. Found out that our hotel the mareblue villiage had closed 1 week before we went so we got put in the star beach, in the brochure it states that there are 3 restaurants including a chinese buffet. when we got to star beach we found out there was 1 restaurant which the food was disgusting and and there was nothing for kids to eat when i complained to the restaurant manager about there being nothing for kids to eat he told me there was spinach which was good for their heart. i dont know any kid that would sit and eat spinach eventually he agreed to get them chicken nuggets which when they came were fried in dirty oil and were disgusting. the next day at lunch they had chicken kebabs as i was standing in the que to get 1 a lady was complaining that the chicken was rare she had her fingers all through the kebab showing him then he took it off her and had his fingers all through showing her it was fat, he then put it back and gave her 2 fresh ones and decided to give me the one the 2 of them had their fingers through when i told him no he started shouting and bawling in greek. thats when i decided i could'nt eat out of the restaurant again. i mean if thats what they do in front of you what are they doing behind your back.
the snack bar was also disgusting the man on it always looked dirty and was horrible. he usually had his girlfriend behind there with him snogging and gropeing her and then cooking peoples food.
dont get me wrong its in a perfect location and the hotel and the rooms were lovely and clean but the staff were horrible apart from the people at the reception who were quite friendly.

The water park was a good place to go but while you were there u had to pay for all your drinks which was unusual considering its part of the hotel. so you would have to spend most of your time at the pool. in the hotel there was 1 bar to drink from which the staff were all very arrogant and you felt as if they were talking about u in greek. the hotel had 1 kids pool and 1 big pool. there was a small play park for kids and the entertainment was a 20 mins game of bingo or a quiz, apparently there was a dance night on wednesday but we didnt stick around to see what that was like and on satuardays it was the non existant entertainment staffs day off.

we lasted 4 days there and asked the rep to move us to a different hotel. we ended up getting moved another hotel when we got there the rooms were not as good but everything else was far superior.
at the start of my holiday i would never have went back to crete but after being at the other hotel i would defo go back.

Room Tip: all rooms i saw looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Here right now.....day 5....food utterly terrible as is the attitude of the miserable staff. Don't be fooled by the all inclusive label......the water park enterance is free but the charge for drinks,sun beds.....the view!
Hotel rooms ok, not cleaned well though and everything a bit aged and tatty. Walk to town is dark and very dirty. Feels quite unsafe as there are no street lights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village

Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.