We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Star Beach Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Star Beach Village to your Saves list
Star Beach Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Here right now.....day 5....food utterly terrible as is the attitude of the miserable staff. Don't be fooled by the all inclusive label......the water park enterance is free but the charge for drinks,sun beds.....the view!
Hotel rooms ok, not cleaned well though and everything a bit aged and tatty. Walk to town is dark and very dirty. Feels quite unsafe as there are no street lights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    87
    36
    27
    19
See reviews for
177
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for a 2 week holiday in this hotel.We were a family of 4 adults in the main block.The food was everyday different and good choice.The stuff were all very friendly.The rooms were cleaned everyday and so the towels.Alot of things to do around the hotel especially for youths and families with small children.Every wednesday there was a dance show near the poolbar it was wonderful they had very beautiful costumes.
Thanks to all the stuff of this hotel!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the restaurants facing the sea are not sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Friends,

thank you so much for your warm compliments! Your positive review gives us the strength to continue & improve our Service.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to Crete & Star Beach Village!

Kind regards,

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

You would love to go here it has a really fun water park and 15 water sports.
I did Parasailing there and it was really fun.
I think there best slide is the covered slide!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks at Star Beach and had a fantastic time! Had read some of the reviews about dirty rooms and too much noise and was a bit apprehensive. Mind was soon put to rest when we checked in at 11pm and were shown to the restaurant for a light snack and a complimentary bottle of water. Our room was in the main hotel next to reception which we were worried about but the room was fresh and clean. Had a large balcony facing the side of the building onto trees and then the go karts. Fortunately for us as it was low season we didn't get much noise from them and they closed at 11pm anyway. As for the noise from the foam parties in the water park that we had read about these were only held from 4-6pm as it was low season so think we picked the right time of year to go for a couple in our early 50s. Food was excellent and we thought there was plenty of choice everyday. Yes some of it was repetive but you just tried something different everyday - and you can always go outside and try one of the tavernas for a change. The waiting staff were so friendly and special mentions go to Sorin, Alexandra, George and Andres and also the assistant manager and manager who were all so friendly to us making sure we were happy everyday. All the other waiting staff were friendly too and always had a smile or hello to you everyday. Everything was always kept clean and tidy. At the pool bar special mention to George and Michael who came on at 5pm everynight and were very friendly and attentive making sure everyone was looked after. All the other staff were friendly and helpful too and our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels every day. The pool did get very busy usually but we would normally go there about 5pm every day and still able to catch the sun on the comfortable loungers. Another special mention for Joey the animations guy - okay we didn't have kids with us - but he was always chatting and having a laugh with us and had a smile for everyone. The waterpark at this time of year was quiet and yes you did have to pay for loungers but it was only 3euros - I have paid a lot more in other countries for loungers and for people who say they had to pay for their own towels - have you never heard of taking your own?! Location of hotel was good as it was only 5 minutes walk to the start of the busy town and down at the front there were loads of tavernas and cafes by the sea. Visited the 3 small villages in the moutains which were very picturesque and also took a glass bottom boat trip which was great fun on the way back when the boat picks up a bit of speed - be prepared for getting soaked if you are on the wrong side of the boat! Also took a trip to Aghios Nicolas on the local bus which was a lovely town with lovely tavernas and restaurants on the front. All in all I would say this was one of the best holidays I have had both in location and friendliness and a lovely hotel. It was just a pity the beautiful inside lounge was closed for the season - understand though it is used in high season or if it is raining and also the Cretan restaurant down the front which was closed because of it being low season but that is no criticism to the hotel - just an observation - there was plenty of room in the restaurant in the hotel anyway. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone although I would say if you have young family probably best to go at the beginning of the season or later on so as to miss the foam parties which can be loud and go on late I understand - although all ages were joining in on the foam parties when we were there - the young kiddies loved it - I would just warn parents that some of the music has quite explicit language in it so you may want to keep them away from that type of music and just keep them by the kiddies pools! Thanks again to all the staff at Star Beach who made us feel very welcome and looked after us brilliantly. Hope we can come back again some day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of hotel/main building face trees and then the go karts - not so noisy in low seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

arrived sept for 2 weeks room ok staff in general very friendly apart from blonde lady cleaner at pool who thought she owned it major letdowns all inclusive restaurant closed lobby bar closed only bar open was pool bar and all day drinks served in plastic glasses and over run with children older people like to have a quiet drink this would have been possible is lobby bar had of been open as stated in the jet2 brochure we complained to the jet2 rep who hadnt a clue what was going onwho promised to get back within 3days but we had to contact her after 8days but they are not worried they have your money over 800 pound each the assistant mgr offered fruit and wine as a goodwill gesture but this was withdrawn by the general mgr who said the hotel had fulfilled their obligation but h wouldnt meet with us finally you had to pay for sunbeds apart from pool bar which naturally was always full who wants to pay 3euros every day for a sun bed you also had to pay to hire a beach towel wont be going back like a lot of other people we spoke to perhaps the general mgr might like to reply as he doesnt have to face us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we were allinclusive and the staff very good and friendly apart from one , one management not so good treated staff not good and not so freindly with customers aprt from one maneger in the day he was always helping the staff what i saw and he always said hello with a smile , hotel rooms clean and pool was fab great for kids but the food not good was not piping hot not safe in my views, same food every night didnt enjoy any of the food apart from the cakes and puddings, the kids was lacking choice of food mine eat chips all the time and puddings,the snack bar by the pool bar wasnt brill either warmed up pizza and chips only coice of chips pizza salad and bagette service with a smile was lacking in snack bar but self cateing got more choice and treated better than allinclusive, the resterant staff were loverly and freindly and worked hard many hours as were bar staff, allinclusive drinks not great lacking, but all in all we ahd a fab holiday but it as put me off goin allinclusive again as this was our first time felt i was missing some great food at the tervernas in hersonissos so i will stick to self catering dont think u get moneys worth dont think i would go back shame as hotel was lovery just food wasnt

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

six men went all ages, rooms good and all facilities very good, pools good for children. also this hotel is for 18 to 30s they have foam parties where teenagers can go, i think it is teatimes. we loved resort and hotel, weather was brill.it is agood 10 minute walk to town pubs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village

Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#38 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Star Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.