We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Beach Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Star Beach Village to your Saves list
Star Beach Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Been there with my friends and was so amazing. Lots of pool bars and great house music from a DJ was that I like it most. It s SO Nice place!!! I am looking forward for the next time!!! Sotiris is the best barman who is in the main pool bar in the middle of Star Beach!!! Cu soon Guys!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    84
    36
    26
    17
See reviews for
172
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went at the end of June and had a Great time, arrived there at 6am got put onto a golf buggy and taken to our apartment, we were in apartment block 6, the first apartment when you went up the stairs it had a pool view and was fantastic! the waterpark was across the road which was full of fun with a foam party! a short walk took you up to the streets full of bars, restaurants and shops! all staff very helpful and friendly, always a choice of sunbeds beside the pool with no rubbish. defo reccommend! 5/5 would definetly go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here on vacation with my family. We were told by the tourism agency and saw on the hotel sign at the entrance that the hotel was ranked 4 stars. I am not currently aware of the hotel ranking system in Greece, but there were some features of the hotel rooms which were missing thus not entitleing it to 4 stars, but maybe 3 stars, in my opinion (see negative aspects).

On the negative side, there were no sink soaps or shampoos but only a refillable shower gel dispenser near the shower. So, if you wanted to wash your hands you would have to reach to the other side of the bathroom, which is a bit uncomfortable. There were no bathrobes and no slippers. There was no elevator to our room which unfortunately was in another building (far from the reception and restaurant) in which you could enter directly from the outside. I saw other rooms which were on the ground floor which had direct access from the outside as well, with no prior hallway or reception before it. The mattresses were rather hard and the air conditioning was not really cooling (though we pointed this out to the reception - they came but did not quite fix it). Wi-Fi Internet access is not free but you can pay for it though the signal is not good everywhere. The cleanliness in the room was average. The fitness center was mostly unfunctional because the machines were broken. A tourist who had stayed there in the past mentioned that the hotel had seen better days but because of the economic crisis they had to cut down on expenses.

On the positive side, the view of the sea from my balcony was extraordinary, giving you the feeling of being on a tropical island (with palm trees right next to your balcony). The hotel was close to the beach, also having its own swimming pool. You can get coupons for free rides on the slides in the nearby entertainment park. The biggest plus is the buffet breakfast and dinner which were very good and diverse.
If you are not bothered by the issues mentioned above, I would recommend this hotel, mostly because of its proximity to the beach and very good and diverse food, though it is rather pricy. However, I will probably try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Get a room with seaview and preferably closer to the reception, not on the ground floor and not expo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to Star Beach, June 2012, a group of 3 girls in our early 20's and had an amazing time!! Very clean and spacious rooms, with facilities to ensure we were able to eat as we went self catering. We were allocated the room directly overlooking the hotel's entrance which was an amazing view especially at night! The hotel is lovely, very pretty gardens and has everything you need, including a couple of free trips to the water park (makes a nice afternoon change). Also has plenty of computers with internet access available which is 3euro's for an hour!

The pools are very refreshing, although in the afternoon from 2pm sort of time, they turn up the music which is very loud and sometimes does include the unedited versions of songs (includes swearing) so I probably wouldn't recommend it entirely for young children, or try to keep them around the children's pool where the music isn't as loud. On some afternoon's we sat on sunlougers at the opposite end of the pool and the music wasn't so bad, giving us time to relax. Never really disturbed us if we choose to sit away from it.

Its 3 euros for a sunlouger each per day by the pool and each beach. There's plenty of them available so you don't need to get up really early to grab a couple, on a weekend, the beach is very busy so if your eager to go on the weekend, get up and get one.

We didn't eat at the hotel, which we all regret as it smelt delicious and the breakfast/dinner prices were good, only 5euro's for a breakfast.

From the hotel, you can easily walk into Hersonissos, takes about 10/15 minutes to get to the main sea front bar's and restaurants - plenty of choice and very well priced. There's also plenty of choice to eat, and we never had a bad meal. Couple of night clubs also on the sea front which are very fun but be aware of some do charge 9 euro's a drink!!

Overall, loved it and would definitely go back, it's worth it's 4* rating - fab place, very friendly and polite staff, great location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just recently returned on 17/7/12 from our family holiday at Star Beach. A warm welcome was given on our arrival. We were aware of the hotel and its location from previous trips to Hersonissos so had an idea of what the lay out was. Accomodation is in blocks over a village lay out and have very pretty garden surroundings. The room was very clean, bright and well maintained. Air conditioning was a great help as temperature reached 41 c, so was a savour at times. Clean towels every day and fresh bedding regularly. Hotel staf were very friendly especially the gardener, reception staff and dinning room manager. Food was good and varied. Always something to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Room opposite to Star Beach water park and facing the sea may suffer from noise polution as on certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Star Beach Village from 25th May 2012 to 8th June 2012 on an all-inclusive basis. My wife and I are in our 60’s and we traveled with our daughter and our 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 10.

We booked a superior family room and asked for a high floor with a sea view if possible.
On arrival we were allocated room 3201 and we left our cases at reception to go for dinner as the restaurant was just closing. We were then taken to our room on a golf buggy, where we found that our family room was on a top floor with a side sea view !

The room was clean and spacious and ideal for our size family, comprising a main room with a queen size bed and a single bed. There was also a second bedroom with 2 single beds. The room had a small kitchenette area with kettle, microwave, cooking ring and fridge. The bathroom had a bath and over bath shower.

The room was cleaned daily and with sheets and towels exchanged too
.
We ate mainly in the main hotel Minos restaurant, where we found the food to be very good. There were lots of choice and lots of dishes being prepared fresh as you waited. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times.

After the first week, the hotel opened their old Chinese restaurant by the beach as the new “All Inclusive” Cretan Star restaurant. We were asked to go there for all our meals and in particular lunch – as the Minos wouldn’t be serving lunch anymore. We did eat a couple of meals there, but although the restaurant has a great location, we found the food to be cold as they didn’t have adequate servery hot-plates. With the breeze blowing in from the sea too, it did tend to be a bit chilly in the evenings.

We stuck with the Minos restaurant and only then went to the Cretan at lunchtimes.

The overall layout of the village was great, well kept gardens and pathways with palm trees and flower beds everywhere. The pool area was ideal for children and adults alike, with the deep end being 1.4 metres right across.

There was a pool bar and during the day – a snack bar serving pizzas, toasties and chips, so that kept the children happy ! There were 3 pool tables there which were in use most of the day. Again, the staff were happy and very helpful. During the evening there was a children’s disco at 8pm for half an hour, although it was the same music every night, so the evening entertainment was a bit lacking. There was an international dance show once a week, which was very good.

The water park itself was excellent, just across a small road at the back of the village complex. Entrance was free and the children made full use of the 8 additional pools there. There is a charge for sunbeds and umbrellas, which we thought could have been incorporated into the all inclusive charge. The children really enjoyed the slides and used all their free tickets, given to us on arrival.

The beach was excellent too, very clean and the water was clear and not too deep at the shoreline – ideal for children.

There is a water sports centre with the usual banana boats, rings, parasailing and jet skiing and for those who want it – bungee jumping ! All at extra charge, although I fail to understand why someone would pay to bungee jump !!!

The hotel has a supermarket which was open from early until late; it stocked almost everything you could think you would need. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel, with regular buses into Hersonissos, but we walked there as it wasn’t too far.

If you like Cretan music and dancing, the Crystal and the Tarantela Tavernas are just down the road from the hotel. They put boards outside to tell you which nights they have entertainment.

The hotel took in a group of 140 youngsters during our 2nd week, so because of the noise they made when returning to their rooms at 3 – 4am after a night in the Hersonissos clubs, we asked to be moved. We transferred to room 5201 which overlooks the pool bar, where the noise stops about 12.30 – 1.0 am.

The noise didn’t really spoil our holiday, the hotel were very understanding and helpful in moving us.

However, anyone booking should be aware they there will be young people enjoying themselves at this resort, in particular I would think – in July and August.

If you want a quieter room, then it would be worth requesting one in blocks 6 or 7, which are further away from the main hotel.

Overall , we all had a great holiday and would recommend it for families, bearing in mind that there will be young people enjoying themselves here !

Room Tip: Rooms in blocks 6 or 7 are quieter for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasaud
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stay for 10 days in 2011. I had a wonderful vacantion there;
Positive: it has a great location close to the beach, the rooms are clean, very big with balcony even ground floor have some sort of terace with grass and palm trees, the pool is big enough there are also pools for children so if very good for families with kids. The food was excelent and I think the restaurant is one of the best in Crete.
Negative: young people can be noisy sometimes but I have no problem in the end.
I recommand this

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village

Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Star Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.