We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldemar Knossos Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aldemar Knossos Royal to your Saves list
Aldemar Knossos Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
bourton on the water
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I felt that this hotel was not 5*..I was looking forward to a well earned break and a bit of luxury...The room was the biggest let down...rubbish air con...very small double bed in a small room and room for one on the balcony. The rest of the hotel was clean and staff were friendly..the gardens mature and well kept....I found the food good and had plenty of choice even though i am a coeliac ( gluten free) . The beach was not brilliant ,a bit rocky for walking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    251
    82
    41
    19
See reviews for
360
325
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

lovely hotel, road signs not great, but found hotel eventually. Staff very pleasant. Airconditioning in the room very disappointing, noisy and didn't really cool you down. Evening entertainment bit boring if you like greek music, but the staff did work very hard to get people to join in and were very friendly. Food bit hit and miss, not kept hot enough, fried eggs not cooked enough. Good selection of food thou.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great staying, surely will be there in the future. Great location with bus station to the city, in fact everything was good and i don't really have something bad to say.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Aldamar Knossos is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting with some stunning views over the Aegean. The design of the hotel is exquisite. But that is where the 5 stars stop. Neither the service nor the food would be considered 5 star quality by anyone who has experienced a true 5 star hotel.

Service varies from friendly to lazy. As an example, one day we got a baby chair for our child and we discovered that the seat was covered with poop. We pointed it out to a waitress who simply wiped it down and gave it to us still filthy. We demanded a new chair and while the waitress got one for us, she simply put the dirty chair back in service. A few minutes later we saw the same chair being used by other guests. Naturally we pointed out the poop. They were just as shocked as we were. We finally pointed it out to the restaurant manager who removed the chair from service for proper cleaning. She was not alone, most of the wait staff seemed to be tired and low on patience.

But the worst part about Aldamar Knossos is the quality of the food, which ranged from mediocre to terrible. The only exception was the Fontana, one of the Ala Cart Restaurants at the hotel. Our evening at the Fontana was very special. Fontana is truly 5 stars. If the rest of the hotel offered food and service of similar quality, it would have made our stay at Aldamar perfect. But unfortunately the rest of the dining experience was no where close. The Greek Taverna was a disaster, with dull and tasteless food. It amazed us that a Greek Taverna in a 5 star hotel located in Greece could have offered such boring Greek food. Equally bad was the cafeteria style fare offered in the main dining area. Food there was simple quality. Breakfasts were the same every day. There was a variation in lunch and dinners, but the quality was consistently dull and boring.

In addition, the dining areas were usually hot and stuffy. It was nearly impossible to get a seat near a window. Half of the windows were kept closed even on the hottest days. There was no air conditioning, a few slowly turning ceiling fans and without some kind of breeze it was often extremely uncomfortable. We pointed it out to the staff who simply shrugged their shoulders and said there was nothing to be done. We were there while a congress was held and congress participants were served dinner one night outside around the pool. Unfortunately regular hotel guests were never offered this luxury.

There were other problems. For example, the coffee in the buffet restaurant was terrible quality served from a plastic thermos. The thermos coffee was often cold always tasteless. No coffee at all served with lunch or dinner in the dining hall. The airconditioner in our room barely functioned at all even when turned on. During much of the day it was centrally shut off.

For all of these negatives, we did enjoy our stay. However, we did not feel that we enjoyed a 5 or even 4 star experience and will probably not return. For a perfect stay, avoid the dining at the Aldamar Knossos. Enjoy the wonderful facilities, ignore the lackluster service and eat in nearby Hersonissos, only an 8 euro taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

good:
1. service.
2. tasty food
3. clean
4. at the beach
5. great activities all day

bad:
1. air condition
2. not close to the city center (5-10 driving)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I was at the hotel from the 23rd of September. All was great besides the airconditioning in the room that ruined the holiday. Although this is a 5 star hotel, they decided that even if the weather is hot they will not give you 24 hours airconditioning, no matter what the weather is like. I found myself sitting on the porch at 3am to cool down, the room temperature got to 29C. On the 4th night I demanded a fan and made them send technicians to the room which led them to activate my a/c in my room (but my room only)

But I must add, the staff are great, the food is great and also the place is well kept and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

FABULOUSLY appointed Hotel with several pools which are (meant to be) private to small groups of appartments - that plan doesn't always work as they're only SIGNPOSTED Private & this is not enforced - but Hey - a couple of extra people round the pool each day wasn't really a problem!

IDYLLIC location with beatifully tended grounds & friendly helpful staff.

We stayed B+B, whilst most guests were all-inclusive - I would recommend OUR choice as there are OOODLES of excellent restaurants in short walking distance - but if you want it "all on a plate" then (assuming the remaining catering was on a par with Breakfast) this should be top of your list!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldemar Knossos Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.