We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldemar Knossos Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aldemar Knossos Royal to your Saves list
Aldemar Knossos Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not brilliant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our first holiday abroad for my fiancee and I. On arrival (11pm) there was music playing very loudly at the bar area and we had to wait a very long time to be served at reception because there was only one member of staff working.
The meals were very good, with a wide range of choice for everyone, however, we found that the staff in the resturaunt looked unhappy, were rude, and we felt fairly uncomfortable whilst trying to eat. We felt that we were being watched the whole time we were eating and when we tried to thank the staff for taking our plates away we were ignored.
Our room was very close to the beach (less that 1 min walk) which was handy as it meant we could go back to the room whenever we wanted. The pool was very large and great for swimming and having fun, however, the music played at the pool side was far too loud for anyone to be able to relax while sunbathing and so we had to spend most of our time at the beach.
The hotel was in a quiet location but as a result of this there were not many shops or entertainment within walking distance. We ended up hiring a scooter to get us in to the main town of Hersonissos and we would higlhy recommend doing the same if staying at this hotel.
The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard and the cleaners were extremely friendly. The air conditioning in the room was not good and we struggled with the heat in the room for the first few days.
Overall the hotel was satisfactory but for the price we paid we would have expected something a little better, particularly the friendliness of the staff. We still had a great holiday and would recommend going to Watercity, a fantastic waterpark 30 mins drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to post your accomodation experience in Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. The satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the feedback we receive from you is very much appreciated.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the cleaniness as well as many other services provided during your stay, that allowed to you to spend nice and relaxing holidays with us.
However , your remarks about our personnel are a big surprise for us, since our professionals always go above and beyond to satisfy our guests needs. It is for their professionalism, work ethics and friendliness that the percentage of the guests who return to our hotel is more and more increasing. Please allow us to consider any misfortune incident as a unique and only case.
Therefore, we are very much delighted to have hosted you in our hotel and on behalf of all the personnel we hope to welcome you again in Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*, in order to offer you a comfortable and memorable holiday experience.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    251
    82
    41
    19
See reviews for
360
325
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Returned yesterday from another two weeks at this great hotel. I have described this hotel before (see previous reports), so I thought I would comment on: Are standards being maintained?
Answer: There are a few small changes at the hotel but nothing to that affects the overall quality. The hotel is very clean, nicely laid out, has good food/accommodation, three swimming pools, decent beach and best of all excellent and helpful staff. From reception when you first check in, to restaurant staff (George and Theo again!) right through to housekeeping. Staff are always smiling and polite and will always stop and talk if that is what you want. Although the hotel was full, the service levels were still excellent. Add to this the Cretan weather and you will find everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Will certainly be going back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view as some sunsets are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, everything you need all in one hotel!
i stayed here half board with my best friend. A wide range variety of food everyday for buffet Breakfast and lunch. Food was very tasty a lot of nice desserts!
Staff were very friendly, always eager to get people to join in their activities.
There are 2 main pools by reception and plenty of sun lounges. Private beach just a minute or 2 walk from reception.
At night we'd get reception to book us a taxi into the main strip of hersonissos only cost around €7 each way!
We had an amazing time and would love to come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovendegem
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For the 15th time we spend our holiday in this hotel.We have once again a amazing beautyfull holiday.Thanks to everyone of the hotel for getting an onforgettable holiday.
There is excellent food, a big choise and very varied.There is a friendly service, every whish is granted.Thanks Aphrodite and this all supervised bij Mr Giorgos Michalakis and Nico.
Beautyfull big garden, nice rooms.
The people of the reception ,thanks for the service and kindness, nothing is to must.
The staff from this hotel, from the reception to the cleaners are amazing, nothing is to must and the service is of high standard.
We keep going back because we feel welcome and ad home.
Go there and you will understand why we go back every year!We are looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: tip: the VIP room, they have a privat swimmingpool for 25 rooms en sea vieuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We returned once again to the Knossos Royal to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary along with our family. We all had a fabulous time and could not ask for more as the staff are so kind and helpful which makes our stay more special. The children are very well catered for in the variety of food. There are plenty of different facilities so they all had plenty to do. We look forward to returning in September when we will be joined by other family members. I cant imagine holidaying anywhere else as we feel it is home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are of a high standard and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to the Knossos Royal and can't wait to return. We had an amazing time and cannot thank everyone enough for making our stay, once again, so memorable. Everyone is so friendly and professional and go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for you, nothing is too much trouble. Particular mention must go to Kelly, guest relations, who is always friendly and attentive to our needs, Theo who looked after us so well in the restaurant and, of course, Giorgos, Maitre'd, who always gave us such a friendly greeting with a warm smile and his great eye for detail was very impressive. The hotel is excellent, superb layout and the grounds are immaculate. A truly amazing hotel with fantastic accommodation, food, of which there is a wide variety, a very good animation team and, of course, all the other staff. We strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing and enjoyable time in a very friendly atmosphere.

Cliff & Sue Preston Skegness England xx

Room Tip: We stayed in a VIP seafront room this time and would definitely recommend it. We were close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

just returned from 1 week holiday with my 17 year old daughter, resort is lovely and like everyone else the food is great with a good choice but the main reason for such a fab holiday was the staff who were all really friendly but more importantly the Animation team who are brilliant, the nightly shows had our jaws aching with so much laughter and their productions (2 weekly) are just fantastic. They work ridiculously long hours but are always soo happy energetic and keen to make sure you enjoy yourself. I have been on many cruises/holidays and never come across such a fantastic team. A special thanks to Marina and Maria who always took the time to talk with us and were amazing. Big thanks to all the team for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldemar Knossos Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.