We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, traditional and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papadakis Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Papadakis Villas to your Saves list
Papadakis Villas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“simple, traditional and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here from 2nd to 9th October. The accomodation is halfway between Hersonnissos and Koutouloufari (10 mins walk from either) .There are 17 units all whitewashed cubes with blue doors and blue shuttered windows, set around little courtyards or balconies, My room was on the top floor (technically there are only two floors but it appears to be on different levels). It is very pretty and very greek in design.The aparments and studios are simply furnished, with tiled floors, air con is available at a supplement but I did not need it. I had a one bed apartment which had a double bed in the bedroom, quite unusual for greece.Beds in Greece are on the hard side, even in 5 star hotels, but you soon adapt. All the apartments and some of the studios, have a double bed and one or two singles. My apt had quite a large bathroom, by greek standards and also a shower curtain and raised bit around the shower, and of course no bath. Only 5 star hotels have baths and most 2 and three star accomm do not have shower curtains or shower trays. The self catering facilities consist of a fridge, two electric rings and a kettle, perfectly adequate for me, and the norm in most SC accom in Greece.Those people who want toasters, microwaves or more than a couple of pans need to book a villa.I had clean sheets and towels once during my stay, which is perfectly fine. There is a nice, but small pool and a small pool bar which serves breakfast and snack lunches, Maria uses a local british food shop for the ingredients for her english breakfast, so it is excellent. There is no food at night but Bill, the barman will order a takeaway if you are too tired or lazy to venture out. I ate in the little, very pretty villages of Koutouloufari, Piskopiano and Old Hersonnisos, the resort of Hersonnisos down the hill is not really my sort of place, it is too lively with english and irish pubs, fish saunas, amusement arcades and night clubs, however for those wanting this sort of thing Papadakis is ideally situated. What makes the Papadakis special though is its staff, Maria and Kostas (the owners) Barman Bill and Sophia the maid really work hard to make sure everyone has a lovely holiday. There is a weekly BBQ so everyone meets all the other guests and everyone talks to everyone else and shares tips about where to visit, where to eat etc. This was particularly nice for me as I was travelling alone, Greek islands are great for lone women travellers, very safe and friendly.All in all Papadakis is ideal for those wanting simple,traditional accommodation, but with a few essential mod cons, a friendly atmosphere and wonderful hosts. Once again thank you so much, Maria and Kostas for a delightful weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Number 27 is at the back , on the top floor so is not overlooked, and there is no passing traffic, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    35
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
135
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newmilns scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

just back from a fabulous holiday at the papadakis villas. the apartments were clean, and suitable for all our needs especially as jen is disabled. as soon as we arrived we were made very welcome with a nice cold beer from maria. a small complex but you soon get to know everyone especially at the free barbcue nite what a great night plenty of food and raki or ouso. kostas maria and bill are all very nice they will let you know where is best to go for a nice meal and where the best places to go on day trips or for the hire of cars. it was our first time in crete and we will certainly be back. thanks for everything kostas maria and bill. hope to see you again soon sandy heather and jen yamas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a fantastic week at the Papadakis Villas and will definitely return. The apartment was clean and spacious although next time I think we'll request one on the first floor. The bathroom is small but clean and even though our shower broke on the 2nd day it was fixed the next day.
Kostas, Maria and Bill are as welcoming as everyone on here says and have the best trips and restaurant tips. Plus the free flowing raki helps all guests get to know each other well from day one.
All in all a fabulously relaxing break with great people, amazing weather and excellent food.
Yammas x

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you to Kostas and Maria,not forgetting "Bill", for a jolly good holiday.
The apartments are traditional Cretan,very clean and simple.Do not expect 5 star accomodation here but expect a very warm welcome.

This is a small complex of 17 two and three bedded rooms,it is not suitable for young children,but all other age groups would,i'm sure, find it suitable for their requirements.It is located approximately 400m from local beaches.

Air conditioning is fitted (7euro/day) and no doubt required during July/August,we asked for the air conditioning to be switched on on arrival,however Kostas told us we would not require it.This is a measure of the integrity of the owners,they could easily have taken the 98 euros without question but chose not to.When the weather did become very hot 35c they connected it and said just take it day to day until the weather cooled.We will certainly visit again for a good inexpensive holiday.Age ranges of guests 18-70 and the vast majority seem to enjoy their time at Papadakis Villas.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have balcony with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from our holiday at Papadakis Villa Appartments, Crete (18/09-28/09). Aside from having some great weather, which is always a bonus! We have had a wonderful holiday, once again! The rooms were perfect for our stay, clean, equipped enough to rustle up something to eat one night, and comfortable!

This is our 3rd stay at Papadakis, and we will certainly be returning next year. The atmosphere is really what sets this apart from other self-catering appartments in the area! The owners, Kostas and Maria go out of their way to ensure that you are welcomed. And there is always the option of having a breakfast or lunch at the bar, which is very reasonably priced too, and if you don't want to venture out then you can get take out!

One to watch out for is the bar man, Bill! Excellent personality and attentive, but be careful of the Raki!! He's a bit like a magician, one minute behind the bar, the next you have a shot glass and shouting Yamas!!

There was also a free BBQ made by the very talented cook, Maria. An evening of good BBQ grub and great company, and even more drinks, all followed by Greek dancing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,england
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the minute we stepped through the door to the Fat Frog it was like we had never left the previous year,Kostas was there to greet us with a genuine hug and a smile and of course a welcoming drink and from there on for the next 12 days it was buisness as usual "Papadakis style",relaxing,as friendly as ever and generally just a great craic.
Billy is a great accquisition to the place as the barman/handyman/Rakiman and an all round really nice fella and Maria was her usual beautiful/friendly/charming self,all in all what more can you ask for than such a welcoming place to spend your time in Hersonissos/Crete.
Cannot wait to return once again,see you all next year.
YAMMAS!! Garry and Jackie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Papadakis - the first time we've ever been somewhere twice. Had a brilliant time again. Kostas and Maria are friendly and very welcoming and Bill behind the bar kept us well supplied with raki!! The rooms are basic but spotless and the atmosphere of the place is really laid back. There is a laptop on the bar for everyone to use and if you can't be bothered to go out to eat Kostas will order a takeaway for you. There are lovely tavernas a 10 minute walk up the hill (quite steep in places) with excellent traditional food. A 10 minute walk down the hill is the centre of Hersonissis which is busier and has fast food places and more British food available. I would recommend Papadakis without any reservations to anyone who can manage a 10 minute walk up hill. Thanks again Kostas, Maria and Bill. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papadakis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papadakis Villas

Address: 1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#21 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papadakis Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between the center of hersonisos, famous for the busy nightlife, and the traditional village of Koutouloufari is our property. It is placed in an ideal location that gives access to both directions and meanwhile it's peaceful with nice views to the mountain and the beach.The small amount of rooms(17 rooms) along with our commitment to our guest's pleasure makes this place ideal for people who like to meet people on their holidays and have the feeling of living in a small Greek community.Our pool area is set next to a pool bar that provides cold drinks and homemade food based on our local culture, using Cretan products and vegetables from our own garden. The hotel was built 28 years ago and it's been passed from the parents to the children to continue the traditional family business.Almost every week we cook complimentary food for our guests to join and share our Greek philosophy.All ages are welcome but our statistics say that couples often prefer staying with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Papadakis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadakis Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Papadakis Hotel Hersonissos
Papadakis Villas Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papadakis Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.