We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed & Certainly Not Returning Or Recommend To Anyone” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eri Beach & Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eri Beach & Village to your Saves list
Eri Beach & Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beachfront, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed & Certainly Not Returning Or Recommend To Anyone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am writing in regards to our stay at the Eri beach resort in Crete Greece 5/9 - 5/12 2013
I felt the need to send my thoughts after a very disappointing stay .
We were there for our Anniversary with our parents and are very sorry we wasted our money staying here .

From our first night we were disappointed to find we had no working TV - we called front desk and they sent a maintenance man who came to room and told us we should wait till the next day and service should be working ....

Also only given 1 key to work the locks in room which had to be placed on a magnet to get electricity to work - which would not allow one
person to leave the room with the key and be able to securely leave the second person in the room , unless you locked one individual inside.
even more disturbing , was the fact that we had to lock our room from the inside and put the key back on the wall magnet to secure ourselves for the night , I felt this to be very unsafe - if there had been a fire we would have had a very difficult time getting out ...

The next day we awoke to birds chirping in the bathroom wall , our room was at the end of the hall and pigeons had built a nest outside our
bathroom in the wall and it was very disturbing .

During the evening of our second night , we discovered no lights on the stairwell leading to our rooms on the 3rd floor , this was very dangerous and scary - also the lighting in the hallways was very dim and most lighting
didn't work...very unsafe there was rain two days of our stay , during this the floors and stairs we slippery and dangerous , leaking ceilings in the dining close to the beverage areas which were also slippery ,dangerous, and unsanitary .

After returning from a long day of sightseeing we wanted to shower , I found there was no hot water in either of the two rooms we rented .
during my ice cold shower , the water completely stopped twice leaving me cold and full of soap , at this time my wife called the front desk
and was told they would give us a key to another room to shower and offered us free air conditioning for our trouble - which was completely
useless given the temperatures.

In Our parents room the Air conditioner was defective and stayed on constantly causing us to switch rooms with them because they couldn't
sleep with the cold temperature .

Many times during our Lunch and dinner we found empty food trays and many items not being replenished , - our last day we had to leave the resort to catch our plane by 815 am so we went to Breakfast around 730 to find many entrees had not been prepared and had a difficult time getting anything to eat prior to our departure .

On a scale from 1-10 I would rate our stay at 1 if that , certainly not deserving of the rating we saw online prior to booking -
we found out that the resort had just opened for the season and would say they definitely weren't prepared for it !

Again very disappointed we stayed here and would certainly not return or recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    76
    63
    93
See reviews for
89
100
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's a cheap great place! it's not a 5 star hotel but it totaly worth the money!
We had A great time! The food is bit boring, but who cares? Free Beer all day! great pools, great beach!
and,
there is no SHARED BATHROOM WITH PIGEONS!
LOVE!

Room Tip: It's dosen't matter as long as you came to P-A-R-T-Y !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm so confused by the reviews for this resort. I'm beginning to wonder if there was another restaurant?? The food we ate was absolutely horrible. It was as if we were being served in a high school cafeteria. They boasted 'traditional Greek and American Food'. It was a lot of sloppy wet food, boiled veg and French fries. Their 'assorted fresh fruit' was watermelon. Nothing but watermelon, every single day. I'm not a picky eater, but after trying their food morning after morning, by the end of our trip I was living on bread and yogurt at the resort.

Surprisingly, their tea wasn't bad. (I admit, Im a tea snob) But I would take a travel mug and my own tea bags if I was ever forced to return to this resort! They have a hot water dispenser in the restaurant/ cafeteria.

We went with a large group, and out of 40 couples, nearly every one of us was miserable. The rooms were dirty, our shower was broken, the beds were literally like sleeping on cement slabs. One couple got bunk beds ( very romantic!) Another couple had their door left Open after the cleaning person had been through. Not just unlocked, but actually open. Some of the rooms are directly in front of the garbage bins, so every morning you are awakened by the noise of the garbage truck, and a wonderful smell....

When we got there, the man at the desk told me they do not take credit cards, only cash. I had just witnessed him putting a transaction through on another guests credit card.

So many dislikes about ths place, but I will say, outside of the rooms and food, the resort was quite pretty. The pools were clean, the bathrooms weren't great but better than expected. The town around the resort is quite nice, quite a few good restaurants within 30 min walking distance, and the pub 2 doors down from the resort was AWESOME! The name escapes me right now, but their pizza will never be forgotten!

Good luck to anyone that goes to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner Were extremely disgusted with this hotel - so much so when we arrived and got to our room I just burst in to tears! I cannot believe this was actually recommended by a highly used uk travel company! Our bathroom was grubby and had a pigeons nest within the wall so every morning we were woken up by the chirping of baby chicks, scratching at the wall and the flapping of wings! the corridors smelt horrible! Food - we couldn't eat! Spent alot more than expected as we ha to eat out every meal time! Not recommended for any1 from the uk, we were the only English speaking couple in the resort! Holiday from hell.... Doesn't even deserve any star ratings! Cannot believe how much it cost to holiday here, for what we paid we expected alot more! Thank goodness for star beach! Saved our holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This village is a fantastic one.Nice & interesting people who knows how to have fun.Good pools, good restaurant and cool bar ! It is very simple and enjoyable. We relaxed ourselves in the surroundings of the hotel and outside of it at the many restaurants,bars and shops that you'll find around.It was Worthed !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

To make a long story short: great food, great swimming pools and a beautiful sea, close to the Beach Park (a great place of party) and close to Chersonisos. I'd reccomend this hotel for families, firends and couples who want to rest but also are looking for some other attracions outside the hotel.
Rooms are really average, for sure not 4 stars.

Room Tip: Remember to ensure that the room is not in the building close to the big dustbins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We transferred here after a week in beautiful Elounda. It was the biggest mistake we could have made. The room we stayed in was outside the laundry. It was the noisiest room ever with the lads in the adjoining room up, screaming and shouting all night. When we went to complain at reception at 8am the following morning - they were so unhelpful it was incredible. They were rude and did not care and refused to move us saying they had no room at the inn!!. There was nothing Greek about this huge 600 room, housing estate style accommodation. The loud music from the funpark next door did not let up all day and evening and goodness knows what time it went quiet - I dont think it did!! We asked around in the town and all the shop keepers we spoke to said it that Eri Beach had a dreadful reputation and was one of the worse places to stay. When our taxi driver dropped us off there, having picked us up in Elounda, he said 'I dont know why you want to come here - Good Luck!'. It was so bad we checked out after two days and although we lost alot of money we transferred ourselves to another hotel which was fabulous. If we had stayed there it would have ruined the holiday. My 12 year old daughter wept when we went in the dining room - it was really awful - absolutely huge and totally full of people all grabbing food and enough to make you feel sick - especially seeing the cooks all sweating and mopping their brows into the food!!! Sorry but thats just my opinion - you dont have to listen to me though - try it for yoursleves and see!!! If the staff had been more helpful we may not have checked out. Thank God our travel agent in the UK helped us to find another hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eri Beach & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eri Beach & Village

Address: Beachfront, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eri Beach & Village 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Eri Beach & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eri Beach And Village
Eri Beach & Village Hotel Chersonisos
Eri Beach Village Hersonissos
Eri Beach Creta
Eri Beach Hersonissos
Eri Beach & Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eri Beach & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.