We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hillside gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palatia Village

Save Saved
You added Palatia Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palatia Village
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kazantzaki str., Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hillside gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week B&B mid September, and it was lovely. The apartments are spacious, clean and set in lovely gardens. Breakfast was quite basic, but adequate.
George and Maria were great hosts, the pool is lovely and all in all very relating.
Palatia is located mid way up a hill, on a wide Tarmac road so it's easy underfoot, but dark at night. 15-20 mins stroll down the hill takes you into the port of Hersonissos, where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shopping. Without doubt Mykos Taverna is the best around, reasonably priced but always busy so be prepared to wait. Other places we tried were a bit mediocre.
In this area a large beer is 3-4 euros, main meal (souvlaki, mousakka, etc) 7-10 euos. Fish dishes are more.
From Palatia going up the hill, about 2km or 20 mins until a T junction is reached, there are three beautiful villages. Its a bit of a hike, pleasant early evening, but take some water!!!
Old Hersonisos is to the right (500m) with cobbled streets and traditional tavernas. Go left at the junction and on to the villages of Piskopiano and Koutoulafari. The restaurants here have balconies overlooking the bay, its quite a view. Food quality was excellent and better priced. 5 courses 12 euro. There are some lovely places to stay in these villages too.
Car hire is about 30 euros a day (Fiat Grand Punto) and easy to organise locally. Going around we were shocked and quite sickened at the number of fur shops around. Just in the Hersonissos area there were 15. These seem to be very popular with the Russian tourists who we encountered quite a lot, and notable for their rudeness, absent manners and non existent etiquette.
Overall you won't go wrong if you select Palatia Village for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    10
    11
    1
See reviews for
21
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our group of 8 spent 9 days in Palatia village in Hersonissos, Crete.
the village is amazing! Clean, cared for, friendly and spacious! We felt very much et home. It is a family run place with kindness, smile, excellent English and the best food ever! The pool is clean and water in it is soothing.
I was nice to be the part of the family.
Thank you very much. We will be back! Excellent value!

Room Tip: These are mostly studios and apartments. All of them are different is size and layout but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I staid in many 4 stars hotels before and would never say Palatia got those rating. The general standard was not as good. Place was very clean and tidy, towels changed every second day, swimming pool area clean as well, small very expensive bar with snack which I never tried, as only 15 minutes walk up off hill lovely Old Hersonissos area with great local small restaurants and much cheeper bears and cocktails. (Go and try Margo). Breakfast menu every day the same : same kind of cheese, same kind of cheep ham, tomato, butter, great yogurt, jam, cake, corn flakes, and yesterday bread, coffee, orange juice, milk. !!!! I booked double room, received two uncomfortable single beds attached without possibility to sleep close to each other (some couples may love the option ;). Shower very very tiny, without the opportunity to turn around, water going down through the shower but comes back through the floor. Just fun!. The managers are not very friendly if you do not stay at the hotel for most of the time and do not spend your cents in their bar. Additionally there is about 20 min walk to the centre, but you can always hire a scooter from Motor Experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a nice place, clean and tidy and friendly. Not overcrowded and generally good value for money.
The food was of a good quality. Home cooked and Greek (which was nice). So if your expecting chips (forget it). I would say their was just enough choice (we didnt go hungry). It was nicely presented and the dinning area was a nice place to eat. Despite loving cats ourselves, they do need to restrict them from the dining area as they can be a bit of a pest.
For the money we really can't fault it.
I think they should include aircon in the price even if it means the room rate going up to cover it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thank you Mary and George for well-organized holiday. Very cozy family holiday. Simple and unpretentious. Friendly and authentic. Breakfasts are contributing to the diet. Place on a hill useful for lovers of ups and hiking.

Room Tip: 1st of all pay for A/C and safe case. Take to trip air freshener for W/C , room clothes pegs, beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been visiting Palatia for the past 22 years and our experiences get better every year. Our first visit was abit of a surprise when the coach climbed the hill, but when we saw what was on offer we were delighted. The past few years our daughter and her family have joined us and they also adore the place.
We choose to buy a full breakfast every morning as we feel it sets us up for the day and costs no more than we would pay . at home.
We stay around the pool most days and enjoy Georges News updates and weather forecasts, we also eat several evenings in the restaurant and have always found the food to be of good quality, freshly cooked and in fact cheaper than we would pay at home.We also visit the local restaurants, somewhere different each evening.
We hope to visit again next year and already checking out flights. We can not speak highly enough of George, Maria ad Helena who do everything possible to make our stay with them really good.

Room Tip: we always stay in room 25 spacious and a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a great time at Palatia Village when we were there at the end of August for a friend’s wedding. They had stayed at Palatia a couple of times before, following a family friend’s recommendation, and decided to have it as the venue for their wedding.

Me and my husband stayed in a studio apartment and I was glad we’d picked this option. Our room was number 21 and was really spacious. With it being open plan we got the full benefit of the air conditioning (additional charge) throughout the living and bedroom area. The view from our balcony was lovely, looking down to Hersonnissos and the sea.

We had everything we needed from a self catering apartment, the kitchen area was well equipped, the bathroom had a reasonably sized shower cubicle with both angled and overhead shower heads, plus a wall mounted hairdryer. Everything was clean and tidy. We've stayed at other self catering complexes and had to go to reception to use a safe deposit box, but we had one of these in our room which I appreciated.

Breakfast was a simple continental affair, nothing special but perfectly fine, we didn’t pay extra for the cooked option as we’re happy with a light option. I had a couple of lunches and we ate there a couple of times in the evening, the food was freshly cooked and tasty. We also ordered a couple of pizzas to take with us to the airport, they boxed them up for us and these were delicious.

The grounds of Palatia Village are pretty and the pool area is nice. Location is great if you don’t want to be in the busy resort of Hersonissos but close enough to walk into. You can also get a taxi up to the more traditional pretty villages. Most of our group would walk down to Hersonissos to the large Spa shop but return via taxi to save carrying their shopping back up the hill in the heat.

George and Maria are great hosts, their staff are always happy to oblige, and they all helped make the wedding and our whole stay very special. The wedding was one to remember, a beautiful setting and a great evening reception with Greek dancing and excellent food. George was a brilliant Master of Ceremonies.

We hired a jeep for a few days of our holiday and George organised this for us through Mikes Tours who were professional and efficient. Maria helped me out with booking a hair appointment in preparation for the wedding and I was really happy with the finished results. Also, as it was my husband’s birthday on the last day of our holiday, I’d asked Maria if she could organise a couple of bottles of champagne and a birthday cake for him, which she was happy to do – the cake was delicious and looked great too. George also helped to make my husband’s birthday special, playing happy birthday over the music system and cracking open another bottle of bubbly for us all.

I’m surprised at some of the previous reviews that have slated Palatia. I’m not sure what people expect from a Greek self catering complex. The food always seemed fresh to me, I certainly did NOT see rotten tomatoes at breakfast. There are quite a few cats around but, even though I’m not a cat lover, these didn’t bother me. The kittens were quite cute and I did NOT see any cats jumping on tables. Yes, you do have to supply your own shampoo, soap and pool towels, but isn’t that the norm for a reasonably priced self catering accommodation in Greece? If you want the bells and whistles, maybe you should dig a little deeper in your pockets and stay at a five star hotel.

I’ve based my rating on our overall experience. Everyone in the wedding party had a fantastic time. It might not be a flashy five star hotel, but it was certainly a five star experience.

Room Tip: For a single traveller or couple I think the studio apartments are great fro getting the full benefi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palatia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palatia Village

Address: Kazantzaki str., Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 94 Specialty lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palatia Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palatia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatia Village Hotel Chersonisos
Palatia Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palatia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.