We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L Hersonissou | Box 104, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This resort is extremely clean, the staff are friendly, rooms are clean, the pools are all lovely. Its definately got a more Adult feel to it, although it does cater for children. The area is quiet, a short stroll will see you in the beach resort of Stalis. Its got a lovely main street, albeit a bit busy. There you can find pubs, shops, excursion agencies, restaraunts and other hotels.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    189
    59
    11
    6
See reviews for
251
247
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Just got back from a fab fortnight at the Grand Hotel. Having read the reviews that others have put recently, all I can do is echo their sentiments... The staff really shine through as being the driving force behind the success of this place - can't praise them highly enough. They work tirelessly, always with a smile, from the maids to the restaurant staff, making it a very welcoming, friendly environment to stay in.
On another note, although the address is Hersonissos, it's just on the border of Stalis; a short walk from the town centre and fabulous beach. We didn't even bother with Hersonissos - just took a walk into Stalis, most nights, along the promenade. A great location and a fabulous holiday!
A couple more things; if you're after a little trip out, go over the main road to Nana Beach Hotel and book a trip on the Happy Train to Mochos. Crazy little road train takes you up into the mountains, round hairpin bends, which is brilliant in itself, but the views are stunning. Not much in Mochos, but there are a few little tavernas that are ideal for a couple of hours loafing around, before returning to Stalis. You can also book this through Sparrow Travel who have shops in the town and offer good value day trips.
Finally - if you're going for food in the town, you can't beat Maria's Golden Beach; great staff, atmosphere, food and value. They have a big corner site at the end of town nearest the Grand Hotel - well worth a visit. Unlike Amici's Italian restaurant, where we waited for half an hour to have our order taken. We'd had enough by this point and politely said we'd be leaving. The man was very rude and told us he didn't need our custom anyway. He clearly hasn't been to customer service charm school and needless to say, they've been blacklisted by us...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in August of 2009. When we arrived at the hotel a member staff took our luggage off us and loaded it into a car which took us to our room. This was very helpful as the hotel has lots of rooms and some are situated quite high up on a steep hill. The very friendly member of staff showed us around the complex so we had a rough idea of where to go in the morning. When we checked in we were told that we would be receiving an evening meal, this was much appreciated as it was late at night and we hadn't eaten for a while. The next day we explored the hotel to find it had 3 very nice pools, a lovely pool bar with very well mannered staff and a great restaurant. The grand hotel provided outstanding service and accommodation as well as lovely food and drink and very nice staff. Great holiday, and would defiantly go back to the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Grand really lived up to its reviews. The moment we checked in I knew I’d made the right choice. Plush reception with welcoming staff. No lugging your bags up to the room, the bell boy takes care of your luggage. OK the rooms are basic / comfortable but throughout our stay it was keep really clean by the maids who work tirelessly hard.

The 3 extremely clean swimming pools have enough sun beds and umbrellas for all guests but still people ignore the no towels down policy, Shame. Animation team are always busy but not pushy. Put on a really good Mamma Mia show in the amphitheatre.

Highlight of the hols was the quality of the restaurant service provided by Kostas & his team. Each service you are greeted & welcomed by this gentlemen. The food selection was fantastic, so much choice available.

My tip if you are lucky to stay here. Don’t be in a rush at the Cocktail bars. Sit back and let the waiters do there thing. Treat them well and they will keep you in free chips and melon trays all week long.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This was my first trip to Crete and wow what a brilliant first impression - This is one of my absolute favourite holiday's I have been on and the Grand Hotel was a big factor in my liking. The staff are so helpful and the food is the best I have eaten in an all inclusive - and I have been to many around the world.. The pools were brilliant because as there were 3 there was never a need to get up at silly o clock and put a towel out.. simply did it on our way to breakfast. I loved the dinner variety as well with the mix of traditional Greek and worldwide cuisines.

The bedrooms were cleaned everyday, new towels etc and the maids were very friendly.. The view from the balcony was brilliant too as we had best of both the pool and the mountains.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Although it is not bang in the middle of everything but its nothing a 3 minute cab fair or a 15 minute walk can't solve. I loved it and can't wait to go back!!

The reception staff are SO lovely!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is fab i would recommend to anyone. staff are all very friendly and welcoming i would definatly go back there again. rooms are cleaned everday and the pools are very well kept. every picture on the website is what its like when you get there. met some lovely people over there aswell.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Just got back from the Grand Hotel and loved every minute of it.

We went on holiday for our first wedding anniversary and booked this last minute.

When we arrived to the hotel we were asked to fill our details out on a form and then taken to our room by the porter in a car. The hotel is built into a hill and we were in room 1028, which was about half way up and over looking the adult only pool.

We paid to upgrade our room before we travelled and wasn't disappointed. Our room was very clean and spacious. There was a TV in the room and the English channels were Sky News, BBC World News and BBC Entertainment.

Dinner and breakfast are buffett and there was always plenty of choice. Food was really nice, especially when they put out the greek dishes.

As part of the hotel package you're given 1 free meal in the Al la carte restaurant. I'd definitely recommend this as it was a nice change. Food was also really nice.

The Grand has got 3 pools,

Fun Pool - with the animation team, who organise pool games etc

Relaxation Pool - Adults only

Kids pool - couple of slides & cheesy music!

There are bus stops right outside the hotel and the busses run every 30 minutes and are pretty cheap. The hotel has a car hire company Motorplan in the reception and I'd recommend hiring a car and seeing more of the island. We went to Plakka which is just past Elounder and you can get cheaper trips to Spinalonga here. That is well worth a visit.

The hotel is closer to Stalis than Hersonisson and it'll take you between 20-30 minutes to walk to Stalis. Stalis is a nice resort with loads of really nice bars and restaurants, along the beach road, which is easily 2 or 3 miles long.

Across the road is a nice little bar called Irida, which I think is family run and has a nice atmosphere and staff. The Mojito's are good here too!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand and are looking at booking again for next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Address: L Hersonissou | Box 104, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#18 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Holiday Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Holiday Chersonisos
Grand Resort Holiday
Grand Hotel Crete
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;