We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Village

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seferi Str, Hersonissos, Crete 70014 , Greece (Formerly Sunshine Village and Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 176 hotels in Hersonissos
Chessington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Sad to say but due to a family arrangements I didn`t go to a family holiday with my boys which after hearing their account on the hotel and overall staying I was even more gutted...
From their point of view hotel was superb.Rooms very spacious, clean and fresh. very friendly staff, amazing views and what`s most important for my husband-always a slight breeze for a nice fresh air so welcome with high temperatures, which he utterly dislikes..apparently from now on it`s only Greece and surrounding islands for our family as a holiday destination..:-)
Kids, (age 6,4) had an amazing time making some new friends and spending most of the time in a hotel pool..
After reading some of the reviews I was a bit concerned about this particular hotel but to their account they had a fab holiday and want to go back there at some point...
If my husband could survive there with 2 young kids and came back saying what a great holi they had-I believe that this hotel is anything but unworthy of try...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    30
    17
    24
See reviews for
74
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a friendly, caring hotel, with staff who are very polite and helpful. Hotel spotless. Views amazing. Apartment clean, fresh bedding and towels. Stayed for 7 days. Left towels in the bath 3 times and all the towels got changed! We are a family of 4, kids 9yrs and 12yrs old. They were happy with the pool, facilities and entertainment on offer. Really enjoyed the ice cream for breakfast! We took playing card used them once. We are well traveled and a bit fussy. It was our first time to Crete. We would go back to to our hotel in a heartbeat.
The food was ok some days better than others but always something to eat.
I read the bad reviews and panicked, took my own sheets and gloves to clean. There was no need.
I asked our tour rep and the staff why the bad reviews, when the hotel was really lovely. They all said there were problems in the past and the hotel have tried really hard to improve standards.
If you book here you will have a great time and a lovely stay. Pay the 7 euros for air conditioning. Buy their water from reception. The drinks were local so unfamiliar but we enjoyed mixing them to fine a perfect blend!
Great job to all the staff at sunshine village, you all work really hard, hope to see you all soon. From the family who's Dad sang mambo number 5 and the Mum who celebrated being 40 with you all!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sunshine Village for 10 nights and we were absolutely taken back by the place. When we arrived, we were greeted by two lovely Greek women who helped us check in. One of the reception staff showed us to our apartment and provided us with a tour. The apartment was nothing like what we expected but we decided on a quick and easy package deal, therefore we were given the most basic room. We were a bit disappointed with having a room without a balcony, however, thinking about it we rarely spent time there. One annoyance we encountered was having to pay €15 for the use of a locker but we felt at ease doing so.
Luckily, we had read the reviews prior to leaving for our holiday so we knew we had to pay €7 euros a night for A/C but it was vital for a comfortable night sleep. The hotel provide 6 2Litre bottles of water for €2 euros which is a bargain and an absolute essential.
The pool area was brilliant, with plenty of sun loungers provided for everyone staying, with a 'Kidney' shaped pool and a kids pool. There was chilled music throughout the day which was pleasant and not annoying or loud. The All Inclusive drinks and snacks were available from 10am to 10pm everyday, of which drinks ranged from local beers to a soda machine. We didn't eat many snacks, as the meals provided plenty of food!
The meals were fantastic and had a wide variety of different types of food such as a fresh feta salad every meal (except breakfast), chips, cooked meats, Gyros (Greek kebab), fresh bread, local fresh fish and some of the best ice cream I have ever had! Basically, the list is endless and the food was absolutely lovely, ignore the bad reviews, they are just food snobs.
The entire hotel was classic greek architecture with a modern european interior, it made the perfect holiday destination, unlike the huge complex down the road. The views of the sea were genuinely breathtaking and can be seen across most of the main hotel area. To be able to have these views, the hotel is positioned up a steep hill which can be a bit tiring during the middle of the day, but don't let that put you off as they provide a shuttle service three times a day. However, we managed to walk it fine, but we recommend a dip in the pool to cool down after.
The service was incredible, with staff clearing tables and cleaning any rubbish lying around, they would work around the clock and always made sure the place remained beautiful, inside and out.
The evenings involved entertainment provided by the Animation man, Zoul, who was very friendly and loved getting people involved. One tip we suggest is to stack up your drinks until it reaches 10pm to avoid having to pay for drinks.

Overall, the place was amazing and we would definitely consider coming again. Don't listen to the bad reviews, they are just being pedantic and dismissive about the place when in fact its absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we went on holiday to crete and stayed at best western sunshine village.we had such a brillant time.hotel was lovely staff were so friendly n polite nicos the hotel manager,yannis bar manager
mary at reception and animation man was so funny, trainees adrian n simona were all such lovely people.if ur looking for a hotel to stay in whilst on holiday in crete choose best western u wont be disappointed i knw me n my family were'nt.its got everthing u cld ask forwould love to go back 1 day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our stay in this hotel made our holiday one of the best we have ever been to. We stayed from 16th July 2013 for 14 nights with our two children. The hotel itself is beautiful and consists of the main building and typical Greek houses/apartments placed just outside of the main building and swimming pool.This was ideal for us since we wanted our privacy.Our apartment consisted of the main room with two single beds for our children,kitchenette, bathroom and a separate room with a double bed for me and my wife. We didn't get the best view compared to those who had their apartments with balconies but it was still incredible.Our apartment was cleaned and supplied with fresh towels everyday. The hotel has a small swimming pool for children as well as a massive swimming pool for adults which is up to 3 metres deep, this was a real advantage for me as I like to dive.The hotel lays on a hill like any other hotel (10 mins walk to the beach) , to get back up from the beach can be a bit of a struggle but that is not a problem since there is a free hotel minibus which picks people up every 3 hours from the hotel and the super market which is right by the beach.Even better the bus driver, Nikos is so nice that if he sees you walking up the hill he will stop and take you. Furthermore,the food is really good and offers a variety of freshly cooked meals to eat everyday. The service is brilliant, one of the waiters called Adrian was always happy to answer any of my questions regarding food, the barman is always sympathetic and makes amazing drinks .The staff there are always happy and friendly whom create a joyful atmosphere . The animator of the Hotel Zoul/John is the one that makes the hotel a special place with the amount of activities he organizes such as water-polo,darts which everyone tends to participate in, Greek nights out to old Hersonissos, football for children, days out to the beach, discos and different competitions such as Mr and Mrs sunshine village competition.He is very funny, a friendly fellow ,the children love him and find it easier to make friends with each other. Over all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as I think it was the highlight of my holidays in Crete.

Room Tip: Best rooms in my opinion are the ones with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have jus arrived back from great western sunshine village & had a fab time. The staff were lovely polite & friendly Kitchen manager Adrian, bar staff Yannis hotel manager Nicos, receptionists Mary & simona. They also had a hotel dog there which kept the kids entertained they called him Waggs. Pls do visit, the atmosphere is one u won't forget. We won't!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked this appt from Holland. À Guy on the telephone guaranteed me that there was à gym. Welk, there wasn't. Rooms are very OLd. Beds very bad. I made an agreement with someone About the price for one night. When i came there no one knew About this. Dont go here people. It Isn't worth your money. Beter go to marni village wich is 750 m fietser.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Address: Seferi Str, Hersonissos, Crete 70014 , Greece (Formerly Sunshine Village and Apartments)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.