We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a week! Don't hesitate, unless you don't like scooters, go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minas Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Minas Apartments to your Saves list
Minas Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a week! Don't hesitate, unless you don't like scooters, go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Well you’ve read the few negatives already, and to be honest, I wouldn’t disagree with some of them. There ARE definite short comings in the wiring, and the furniture may not be the newest. The floors ARE deadly when wet, as can be attested too by the bruises on my buttocks, but it’s good clean budget self catering accommodation anyway. Also, although not the dearest that we came across, the beer may be a little expensive at the bar when compared with some of the local tavernas, but RUDENESS. Honestly what have these people done to even get the slightest hint of this?

Half of the “Clique” seemed to be there this week, (almost universally called “Billy”), and, already forearmed by previous articles, I was determined that we weren’t going to be put off with that. Both my wife and I are extroverts anyway, so, within a few seconds of arriving in the bar we planted ourselves firmly in the middle of them, and made ourselves conspicuous.

The result was a friendly apology from one, for turning his back on my wife, and from that point onwards we couldn’t have been made more welcome. We never became one of them of course; these people have been friends with each other for twenty odd years and you can’t possibly break into a family group like that, and neither would that have been fitting, but we were certainly allowed to become temporary members for the few days that we were there.

The staff, too, (or more fittingly the family, for that’s what they are), were extremely welcoming. From Jenny’s fry ups, to Minas’ free hooch, passing Maria’s constant attention at the bar and Stefan’s offers of trips up into the mountains for a lads night out, (not that I took up the offer), they were more like friends than hoteliers within minutes of us arriving, and queued up to wave and hug us off at the end.

The resort itself bristles with really good restaurants and bars all with equally attentive and friendly staff and your choice of quisine is unlimited, and all within a few minutes walk in any direction. I won’t point any one out, I’ll just say that you should make sure you try to get into the busy ones and not the empty ones, and you don’t have to go far. The only down side is the scooters – if you can’t stand the sound of a thousand scooters wizzing around in all directions, then it may not be the place for you.

All in all, a super week’s holiday for us though, and with the most friendly, extended family group that we have ever met. Yamas!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    29
    6
    11
    9
See reviews for
53
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I returned home yesterday from my 7 night stay at the Minas Apartments...one week wasn't enough.

Firstly, any potentional visitors, PLEASE do not be put off by the odd bad review from some of the jumped-up snobs who have rated 1*. All the accusations of there being a clique and unfriendly staff couldn't be further from the truth. The entire family made us welcome for the duration of our stay, as did many regular and return visitors who have been going for years on end, purely because of the friendly atmosphere.

The week's highlight was on Saturday, the BBQ night. 10euros will not be better spent on your holiday. Included in that price is a great quality Greek BBQ with enough meat, salad, bread, feta and wine to fill you up after just one helping. Of course there was plenty more for everyone to have seconds and star of the show, Minas, wouldn't settle until all the food was gone. Then came the drinking. Minas (again) would come round with Metaxa, peach schnapps and especially his famous "water", topping up everyone's cup and then proceeding to down the rest of the bottle himself which guaranteed for a fantastic night all round.

Venture out of the hotel and nice beaches are very close, even nicer restaurants. Special mention must go to 'Mythos', a family run restaurant serving up traditional Greek food and wine at great prices. Myself and my girlfriend went 3 times in 7 nights, quality and quantity guaranteed.

For a decent drink, try 'Fridays'. Handily, this place is right next to 'Mythos' on the left hand side of the road. Ice cold beer is served all day as they keep their glasses in the freezer. I even ate there watching the football one night and had a shared mixed grill with my girlfriend, 17euros and amazing value.

So, if you decide to go to the Minas, go for more than a week. I wish I did. Still, there's always next year...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Most of the reviews we had read were positive, and they were accurate.Very friendly, great location, clean and great value for money.Saturday night barbeque not to be missed, and quiz nights are a giggle.Thanks to Minas, Maria, Jenny and Stefan for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

we had never been to crete before so didn't know wot to expect, however when we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. the people are amazing, the weather was fantastic and the apartments were everything we wanted; clean, tidy and with a pool view! it was the best holiday we have been on and cant wait to go back next year! its just not coming quick enough! minas apartments... here we come 2011!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

When we arrived Stefan greeted us and took us up 3 flights of stairs to our room, well as soon as we got in there we wanted to go straight home ! the furniture wasn't very nice, we have thrown better furniture out ! the bathroom was disgusting and the bath mat should have been binned a long time ago. The shower only gave out a few drips.We only kept water in the fridge which was freezing up all the time even though it was on the lowest setting. We paid 35 euro for air conditioning only for it to go on for less than 10 minutes then go off again, we informed Stefan who then said it was broken and we would have a refund. So we had to have the windows open all the time which wasn't ideal. Their prices were very expensive too, you can get a pint of lager down near the beach for 2 euro they charge 3.50 for a bottle. Also 3 days after we arrived we asked if we could hav clean towels to take to our room but were told the maid would do it in the morning, but it was 5 days before we had clean towels. We cannot understand why Thos Cook is associated with this place it is terrible, we were informed it was basis but we didn't realise how basis ! we would never ever go back there, but the resort itself was lovely and would definately go back there. Also, the picture used to advertise it is the apartments next door not the Minas..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Donegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Like most budget holidays your never sure what its going to be like, but after the long flight we arrived around 6am greeted by Minas to our room... The next morning we came down, we were introduced to all family...So So helpful and lovely people, Minas, Maria, the lovely Jenny and the funny Stefan..... And the BBQ on a Sat/Sun night is a must, were Minas comes alive!!!!( Maybe later) His saying!!!! You are a credit to Greece/Crete, Def going to come back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

we have just come back from a exellent week at the minas apartments. we did not know what to expect as never been and some of the reviews were a bit scary but hey we have just had a fantastic weeek and cant wait to go back. we took our 10 year old daughter and they made her feel so welcome all the people who were their were friendly and we had a laugh would recommend the bbq as its a right laugh, all thats left to say is thanks to maria jenny stefan and captain see you soon i hope nikki,mark, and daughter

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minas Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Minas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minas Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Minas Apartments Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.