We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minas Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Minas Apartments to your Saves list
Minas Apartments
Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Hersonissos
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is the sort of hotel where you can just go down to the bar and have a good time with whoever is there. Everyone we met there was friendly and accommodating, Especially the owners, Minas, Jenny, Maria and Stefan, as well as any other family members that popped up to help from time to time. It is them that made this holiday that much better, and looked after us when we were too drunk to look after ourselves.
Also, this place is a short walk from the strip with countless bars, clubs and restaurants (only a handful we managed to try) but still far enough away to be quiet on a night time.
In short, I would definitely visit again. Thanks!!

Tom

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    29
    6
    11
    8
See reviews for
53
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

lovely place run by great owners local restaurants and bars also football available nearby close to the mainstreet and waterfront i loved my stay a good pool and food served at the bar so i couldnt doubt coming again all 3 of us lovedour stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Well it's been 2 years since our last visit, and we had as fabulous time as before. Minas, Jenny and Maria couldn't be more accommodating, and the guests were all really friendly, including everyone sitting at the bar into their conversations. The weekly barbecue was the best value for money anywhere, for 10 euros we were treated to all the usual BBQ food, bottle of wine per couple, lashings and lashings of Raki, which I really think was lighter fuel :). Then the festivities! Minas dancing on the pool table with a bevvy of beauties all suitably adorned with fancy hats. The apartments are basic, this is Greece after all, but what they lack in luxury, the family more than make up for with their hospitality We were there the 2nd last week of the season so Maria had a "cook off" of all the stock left in her freezer and fed the remaining guests free one night, pizza, chips, sausage, burgers, meatballs, not many hoteliers would do this! All good wishes for Stephan to make a speedy recovery, the son of the family, we missed his wit behind the bar this year, but look forward to seeing him fully fit next time we are there. The best way to book this is flight direct and then book direct with the Apartment as Thomas Cook don't seem to be able to find that it exists. I believe Easyjet holidays will be using it next year, but alas they don't fly to Heraklion from Glasgow.

Room Tip: Not having seen all the rooms I can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We return here as often as possible for the same reasons as many others. If you haven't been before, you may be disappointed by the lack of sink plugs, having to buy your own toilet paper, the balcony light that doesn't work, electric sockets in the most inconvenient places, bathroom floors that get wet everytime you shower, lots of stairs, no lifts, noise from the street, temperamental kettles and utility furniture. If this kind of stuff bothers you, then you shouldn't bother to come. This place is 'all inclusive' in the best sense. The welcome, the hospitality, the silly jokes, the sarcasm and insults,the local information, the kindness, the company, knowledge and holiday friendships of returning guests is all included. The barbecue and raki run is a little optional extra. This is an old fashioned style holiday where you can just relax and enjoy yourself. It's the people that make it special for us. Even Thomas Cook has given up trying to flog you overpriced and overrated trips. Never saw a rep the entire time we were there. Once again we are indebted to the other guests and family at Minas apartments for a great holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have to say what a fantastic Holiday we had at the MInas Apartments, nothing is too much trouble for Jenny, Maria, Minas and Stefan, You feel like you are going home to family rather than going on holiday to a hotel.
On arriving at the hotel the early hours of the morning Jenny and Maria met us and put our cases in our room before making sure we had a drink after are long day of travelling you would not get that service at some hotels.
We spent 2 weeks relaxing at the hotel and on an evening all the family sit with you and chat all together, you dont really need to go anywhere else it is such a laugh and playing dominos with Maria was such fun.
We will certainly be back next year to see you all again,
This is a little jewel in Crete that I can happily say we will be going back to year after year.
It has all the facilites for any family to have a great holiday it has the best location for all the resort amenities including Valentinos bakery at the top of the path so you have to walk past every day and smell the fresh baked bread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayes middx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are looking for a great holiday look no further from the minute you arrive you are made to feel welcome.these family run apartments are basic but adequate and clean there is agood sized pool and bar and excellent food cooked as required a really friendly atmosphere and only a couple of minutes from the beach and many tavernas and restaurents thanks again to the family Minas Maria and special thanks to Jenny wishing a speedy recovery to Stefan.we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for yet another great holiday loved the BBQ meet some great friends .thank you jenny miria minas for a lovely time and get well soon to Stephan xxx. For 3 star apartments I would give it 5 star for the service would highly recommend the Mina's apartment xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minas Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minas Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Minas Apartments Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.