We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adams Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adams Apartments
Save
You added Adams Apartments to your Saves list
Ag Konstantinou 20, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am not sure what some people expect from apartments in Crete, but for the cost of the holiday I found Adams Appartments better than I expected. The rooms are basic but with all the facilities you need: Clean bedding (and for those who say it is a mattress on a concrete base, take a look it is wooden slats underneath and very comfortuble), clean towels, good size balcony, fridge, kettle and two electric rings (not that I used the rings, I was on holiday to enjoy not cook). Someone has made comment on the TV being small, who goes abroad to watch TV now thats sad. The shower was very powerful and at whatever heat you wanted. What more do you need from a room, I went for the sun and outdoor element.

The Pool is great with plenty of very comfortuble sun beds. The Poolside bar stocks everything you would want to drink and is open day and night with a once per week BBQ and Cretian dancing and a once per week Karaoke night. They also do a variety of snacks if required.

Manos who runs the pool side bar is an absolute STAR, he is so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

I have just got back after 3 weeks and I can't wait to go back next year.

If you want a 5 star hotel then book and pay for one. If you want clean, traditionally Greek and very friendly in a perfect location then book Adams Appartments.

Wendy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at adams apartment for 2 weeks with my sister and niece. After reading the reviews I was slightly worried but upon arriving I was pleasently surprised. Adams apartments are basic, but cleaned 6 times a week with fresh towels and bedding. The bar and reception needed updating but I was there as a holiday maker and not a hotel inspector. Overall I had a lovely holiday as the staff at adams were very friendly especially manos who went out his way to help!!! I would stay at adams again as it is a friendly place. I don't know why people are having a moan on here about adams, maybe they've got nothing better to do!!!. I would recommend adams apartments as its warm and friendly atmosphere makes it a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at AP for a week and found the accommodation to be very basic, more 1 star than 3 ! The facilities are very basic , rock hard beds,Tiny unwatchable TV , very small rooms generally, chipped and dirty crockery and utensils. limited cleaning in the aprtment. you have to pay extra for air con which you cant do without. i was bitten a lot by mosquitoes in the apartment despite it being treated on the 3rd day i was there. The morning receptionist was very rude and unhelpful generally. he would pretend not to see you standing right in front of him, very annoying. the other staff seemed ok, the place has a decent pool but thats about it. I thought it was very poor for the money and found Crete to be bland in every aspect. i would advise not to go and if you must go dont book into the Adams as its not worth the money.

Room Tip: all rooms are as bad as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Adams Apartments were clean, basic, had everything you need, fantastic panoramic views, great pool, and the staff are fantastic. they really go the extra mile to make your holiday special and they even bought us a cake for our wedding anniversary which was lovely. Nearby in Koutoloufari village we found an excellent motorbike hire shop called MotoXperience - these guys were amazing and can be trusted as they have more integrity than the other hire shops put together! Also would recommend Mezesses in Koutolofari to eat, the owner used to work on the tuxedo royale in Newcastle - what a hoot! Just loved this holiday, it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - worth it. Room 303 was ours, and had a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Adams apartments are in a great location for Hersonissos town,near to Star beach and the daytime foam party and only 5 -10mins in a taxi to Malia.So there is something for everyone.Stayed in the apartments at the back of the complex in a 4 bed apartment.Nothing grand,in fact quite basic but good enough.Typical Greek self catering with small kitchen area,nice pool and a friendly bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The position of the apartments in Hersonissos was perfect. A lovely quiet apartment block a 1/4 mile away from the main road through Hersonissos. We had a beautiful view from the small balcony. It is near to the Star Beach development which has the nearest patch of beach and waterpark. Here you pay for sunbeds and umbrellas if you use them (but you can just take your own towel and not pay). Great for walking into Hersonissos for the main resort.
Up the hill is the beautiful villages of Katouloufari and Piskopiano. These villages are an absolute must when you visit this area. The restaurants are plentiful and the roof terraces wonderful to sit on in the evening.
Definitely not a three star accommodation block. I have never slept on a bed with a concrete base before!! Had to sleep the other way round as the bed tipped backwards. All the room was in need of complete modernisation, especially the bathroom but essentially clean. Had to wash all the cutlery, plates and cups before using them as they did not appear clean.
Paid the 50 euro for the air conditioning and room safe. Very happy to because it was wonderfully cool at night times.
Clean sheets and towels every two days along with the floor mopping. Unfortunately the bathroom was not cleaned at all in the week we were there.
The pool area was pleasant. Pool not huge but plenty of sunbeds, lots of loud dance music during the day which is turned down in the evenings.
There is a limited amount of food to buy at he bar at what looked like a reasonable price, although we never had any. Nearest shop is around 1/4 mile down towards Hersonissos which carries most things.
Would return here if coming back to Crete and reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Weve just spent 2 weeks at Adam's. We went with low expectations having read the reviews but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The rooms have everything that you would need in a self catering apartment but as is common in greece, they are basic and the decoration is fairly old. however, the pool, bar and reception area were way above our expectations. the management are excellent and handelled all of our problems immediately and effectively. all of the staff here are welcoming and will do anything to please. we were happy with house keeping, especially with the bedding and towels which were changed every other day and appeared virtually brand new. We paid £50 per week for both the air con and room safe. the reception area has a number of computers with internet access for pay as you go (1 euro gives you 20 mins access).

We have a few recommendations. places to eat - along the sea front walking towards the harbour is a lovely resturant called Coast Med. Turning right out of the apartments, walking uphill for approx 10-15mins takes you into the villages. the only place we had a very bad meal and service was called Danaides - roof top in the first village (the chicken we had smelt and tasted of fish and the service was awful. but some of the more pleasant resturants we can recommend in the first village are; oniro (with a wood fire pizza oven), the chinese resturant (if you fancy a change!), and fabrica which has the best fresh waffles and crepes (they cook them at the front of their resturant). In the 2nd village, elizavet's is gorgeous with lovely views and the little resturant immediately before it serves excellent homecooked food very cheaply (but turn up early for this as it is very popular and people queue for seats outside). We made it to the 3rd village (old hersissinos) and ate in taverna la petrina which is just beyond the main square and then you turn left.

For the beach, head towards Star beach where 2 sun beds and an umbrella costs 4 euros and then turn right towards the next beach where the sun beds and resturants are cheaper. Just a little further along this beach is a lovely little resturant next to the camp site - it has great food which is very cheap, with a lovely view of the sunset in the evenings.

We hired a car for 5 days but ran out of places to go, so we think 3-4 days would be enough time to explore. we went to the Six Senses Spa in Elouda, near st nikolas - well worth a visit if you are childless and fancy some 5* luxury. this cost 30euros each. we also drove to ierapetra and took a boat cruise to Chrissi island on a luxury boat. you must pre book this - check their wesite nautilos cruise (www.ierapetra.net/nautilos. we had a couple hours on the island, then had a very lovely lunch on the boat and visited quieter parts of the island - this cost us 45euros each. we went to Water city which was a great day out - cost 22 euros at the park each but we heard that the aqua plus park was just as good - both are with 15mins from the apartments. a drive to the beaches at malia, stalis and the fishing village of sisi are worth a visit if you have a car, or you could get a bus for a few euros each (but they are always late!).

The bbq night at the apartments is a must for a great night in and local dancing - the food is gorgeous. all the tour operators were very expensive for excursions and all the motor hire companys charge the same prices - they were very difficult to negotiate on price. crete in general we found to be expensive due to the euro exchange rate.
happy holidays.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adams Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Apartments

Address: Ag Konstantinou 20, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Adams Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Adams Apartments Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.