We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost? It's here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Save Saved
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 176 hotels in Hersonissos
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost? It's here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have been visiting Marni for the last 5 years following a recommendation from a friend. This place is so special that I'm tempted to keep it a secret from you all !
The combination of location, facilities, standard of accommodation and most of all, service and courtesy, make this a destination which literally hundreds of people return to each year. We were lucky to have been able to visit twice this year: in July and October. The welcome is always genuine and generous; not only from the staff at Marni but the villagers in Koutouloufari, which has not succumbed to the usual holiday resort, but has retained a lot of its charm and character.
If you can, make the effort and go here. But hurry - this place books a year in advance!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    123
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
163
219
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a week's stay at Marni Village. We booked a late deal through Thomas Cook and couldn't have chosen better.

We had requested a sea view and quiet location and our room had both. It was a double room, with small kitchen area, and shower-room. The room was simple but clean, the only slight disappointment was the basic bathroom but this didn't cause any problems at all.

We were about 20 paces from the main pool although this wasn't noisy at all. There are two other pools throughout the complex but because it was so quiet we stayed by the main pool. There were plenty of sunbeds and the pool was very clean and well maintained. It was large enough for my partner to do some major swim training whilst we were there.

The staff were lovely, and as helpful as possible. The bar staff were friendly and enjoyed a joke with customers. The reception staff were fabulous, doing everything they could to book trips for us and help us locate a lost camera.

The best part of staying at Marni was the access to Koutolafari (sp?) village which was about 100m away. This has a fabulous array of bars and restaurants, all with good quality food and excellent service. We ate down in Hersonissos one night but that was it, every other evening we spent in the village and loved it.

All in all, we'd go back like a shot!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This complex consists of a number of 2 story apartments situated around the central pool/reception area, and there is also 2 other pools. Rooms were basic but clean and functional with air conditioning (small extra charge), fridge, small hob. Beds were on the hard side, but perhaps this is just personal preference. Staff were very friendly and were willing to chat and answer any questions, as was the excellent responses I got when I booked directly via their website.

The complex itself is situated on an hillside overlooking Hersonissos. It takes about 15-20 mins to walk down the hill which is where you'll find the lively nightlife (but nowhere near as "bad" as neighbouring Malos!). It'll take longer to walk back, but taxis are easy to find. What makes this place different, is the actual village a few minutes walk from the apartments where there are a number of great restaurants and bars. This means that it is not essential to go into Hersonissos itself.

We hired a car so were able to drive around; but be aware that otherwise there is at least a 20 minute walk to the beach.

I would highly recommend Marni village as a good place to stay that is away from the immediate loudeness of Hersonissos but at the same time is not too far away to get to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed in Marni Village for a week in a studio for 3. The room was clean did not find any insects or gecko's in the room. Bathroom was pretty basic but not too bad. Kitchen appliances - everything you need to cook, not sure if oven was clean because we did not came there to cook and did not use kitchen appliances at all but other people in the resort were using them. towels and linen were changed I think every second day. Three pools to use. We used the oldest one which was built 20 years ago cos it was the closest to our room and it was very clean and water is filtered there all the time. Main pool looked very nice and clean too. Staff very nice and helpful. The resort is situated in a perfect place - few steps from main square of Koutouloufari with lots of good restaurants and about 10-15 min walk to Hersonissos and the beach. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at Marni Village 7th - 14th September on a big family holiday (family of all ages) taking our 2 year old son- his first holiday abroad!! What a fantastic holiday we all had. Very child friendly, very well maintained, very friendly staff and great accommodation. We have had the best first holiday with little legs! We went to the barbeque night held at the pool and that was fantastic, great entertainment from the traditional greek dancing and excellent, very well prepared and served food. The village itself was a short walk from some of the most beautiful towns and villages we have seen. Great food, excellent atmosphere, great bars with friendly service. One thing you should take into consideration is the EXTREME friendliness of the shops - Raki served at 10am is customary in some shops - take advantage of their hospitality.

We hired a car for a few days and this helped us get around to some of the best beaches we have seen - driving in Crete takes about 20 minutes to get used to, but the driving is not aggressive, very laid back! All the beaches are family friendly and there is plenty to do, and what a great sea to swim in - Star Beach is great to visit, plenty to see and do and great for the little ones to play in the variety of pools.

The pool at Marni Village is clean, tidy, and is excellent for all, with stunning views across the sea and up to the mountains - sunset is spectacular over the mountains! On arrival we found the travel cot and highchair for little legs, towels refreshed daily, paths swept in the mornings and nothing to complain about at all. I am, and will recommend Marni Village and the surrounding villages to everyone who is wanting to enjoy a great holiday, with the comfort in mind that the village is safe and nothing is ever a problem for the staff! Overall 10 out of 10 - Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at marni village for 13 nights and had a great holiday. Marni village is a very nice complex, very well run, very clean and family friendly. They have 3 pools, the main pool is huge and great fun to splash round in. Best place we have ever been for getting sunbeds round the pool and the village was packed. The room was adequate, bed was very hard in ours but you got used to it. Cost €85 for air conditionig and a safe for 13 nights, so add that on to your costs, receptionists said prices were going up for next year !!

The bar snacks at the main pool bar are very good and reasonably priced. They do a smashing Greek salad for €4.80, we used to take it back to the apartment and share it between four of us with some fresh bread brought at the supermarket right outside Marni ......mmmm !!

Koutalafari is only a 2 minute stroll from marni village with about 30 restaurants, tavernas, sports bars, cafe bars etc. Our favourite restaurants being Emmanuel, Sergiano and Onirio's. A meal for 4 including a litre of house red would cost between €40 and €60.......depending on how many starters....no starters.€40.

My only 2 slight gripes about marni and koutalafari is the price of drinks. A pint could not be found for less than €3.50 anywhere, cocktails €6, and no happy hours anywhere either !! The other one is the quad bikes and scooters..........never seen so many or HEARD so many !!

Hersonissos is a 20 minute stroll downhill and worth a few visits, drinks much cheaper, pint for €2 and cocktails for €3 widely available. The best meal we ate was in hersonissos also..........a real hidden gem called vesuvius, between the promenade and the main street on a narrow side street behind the police station. Fresh pasta made on the spot.......I had a seafood spaghetti.....€11 it cost me and it was amazing, Rick Stein would not do better..........Best meal I have ever eaten on any Europe destination, I kid you not !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All in all a great holiday, Marni is relaxing and peacefull and Koutalafari with its narrow streets, rooftop bars, sleepy tavernas, colourful flowers and soft lighting at night is stunning, a proper chocolate box authentic Cretan village.......prehaps worth paying the extra €'s for drinks !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed in a superior one bedroom app. with two kids was OK.
Nothing suberb , nothing bad. Cause to high temperature and not possibility to keep open the bedroom window (other rooms could see inside the room) we used the aircondition.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.