We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went here last may 2012. Landed off a late flight. Got there at 2am in the morning, disorientated etc .... the boss decided to open up his bar so that we could have a drink and relax before falling into bed. Absolutely beautiful pools. bar food as good as can be expected. Staff very friendly. Our apartment was spotless and cleaned on regular basisi. Fresh towels every day also. Near to all amenities. The local hamlet near to the hotel as just fab! I had no interest whatsoever into going into Hersonnisos. The hamlet provided loads of excellent restaurants and bars and late night shops. Great vibe. Peaceful and relaxed yet enough to keep one entertained. Mari village itself was lovely! apartments were spotless,. Dining aread on site did good lunches. The main swimming pool on this site was lively but not too boisterous, there was also an onption of going down a few hundred yards to the end of the complex to enjoy what you could call your very own swimming pool.
The guy who owns the bar in marni village us a gent! Very hospitable. However he did employ one particular lady who did come across not only as rude but also as manipulative. This was a big drawback, as several times she made derogatroy comments to my friend and I. There was a bald-headed guy behind the bar who was a bit of a tit. Rude and arrogant and if I were you, I would check my change after buying a round. Not to be trusted!!!! Regardless of this, the marnni village is a crackin place to stay in and I will go back again in the future. Do check it out!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool .... we got it .. just fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    136
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
250
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently spent three very happy weeks at Marni Village.
The resort is set on a hillside, with three lovely pools. It has great sea views to the front and mountain views to the rear. The buildings are built in traditional style and blend well with the gardens, which are beautifully kept.
As you would expect with any Greek self-catering apartment, the decor is plain, but the apartment was spacious and had everything we needed.
The resort and local villages were quiet as the season closes at the end of October. This suited us perfectly, as we had the best of service and luckily the weather was in the mid-twenties every day.
Marni Village is mainly staffed by people who have worked there for some years. Manos the bar manager was charming and very helpful. Anna and Elena were cheerful and keen to please. Katrina the chef is enthusiastic and very skilled. Practically everything on the extensive menu is cooked from fresh - very unusual for an on-site restaurant/cafe bar and one of the best things about the resort.
We arrived after a delayed fight at 1.30am to find the bar and kitchen had been kept open for us. This is typical of the management and staff’s determination to offer great customer service.
Due to the many steps and slopes, I would not recommend this resort to people with walking difficulties. For everyone else who enjoys a quiet location in walking distance of restaurants and nightlife, I cannot praise this resort enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWICKENHAM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from a two week mid-October holiday at the Marni Village and have to say that we enjoyed our fortnight so much we would certainly consider returning at some point. We arrived late, yet received a warm welcome and were escorted to our studio apartment which was spacious enough for a couple. The room was clean and comfortable, yet a little tired at the end of the season. However, the village is incredibly well kept, and I noticed that they were already starting to refurbish some of the apartments as we left (the village closes at the end of October for the winter).
The studio was fitted with twin beds (albeit close together) which were very firm - although that suited us fine and we had a good night's sleep every night - toilet/shower room and kitchen area. The 'kitchen' was fitted with a mini oven with two-plate hob, a fidge/freezer, kettle, filter coffee machine, pots/pans, cups/glasses etc. - certainly enough to cope with cooking should you so wish. Our studio came with a table and chairs as well as another set on the balcony - and with the weather hitting the 30s - very welcome to dine al fresco. Other facilities included a remote-control tv, air-conditioning (extra), safety deposit box (extra) and free wi-fi. Our apartment was cleaned daily and sheets /towels changed every two/three days (this may have been because the complex was fairly quiet) and the cleaners were fantastic.
There were three swimming pools which were very quiet in October, a cafe/bar, 24 hour reception, sauna & tennis courts, situated in well tended gardens. There is a mini-market and bakery near the village entrance - neither overpriced.
Marni Village is situated about a mile uphill from Hersonissos in the village of Koutouloufari. Some people might find the distance/incline off-putting
but it depends on the individual. At times I found the walk back uphill hard going but taxis are available for 7 Euros. Koutouloufari is a pleasant village
with a choice of tavernas and is within walking distance of two other villages, Piskopiano and Old Hersonissos (which was my personal favourite).
The main resort of Hersonissos is quite brash with an endless mixture of restaurants, bars, clubs & shops and would be a nightmare in the summer
as far as we are concerned - but ok in October. The nearest beaches to Marni Village are in Hersonissos too but they are quite limited and would think very crowded in summer.
All-in-all we had a very pleasant, relaxing holiday at the Marni Village & Koutouloufari - bearing in mind though we stayed 'out-of-season'.

Room Tip: Lovely views from an 'upstairs' apartment with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from one week in a Junior Suite at Marni Village. Excellent accommodation with a wonderful view of the bay. The complex was amazingly quiet as it was coming to the last week of the season so no problems finding a sunbed or slow bar service but not much atmosphere either !! Indeed on two occasions we could have had any of the three pools to ourselves for most of the day !!
No complaints at all (actually the beds were rather hard but after the first night or so you get used to them!) and we will be returning as a larger group to one of the villas with private pool in the future. The location within minutes of the village was fantastic, with many beautiful bars and tavernas to frequent - all exceptionally good.
We did venture into Hersonissos one evening but soon returned to the village, not much typical Greece in that town, rather like Malia I would imagine but if you're there for the weather, relaxation and good food if you stay in the village you will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the resort have great views and you will get fit walking up to them !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance Cornwall UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely welcome, great facilities, great location. Let down by apartment facilties. Oven and grill, but no grill pan or oven gloves - burn hazard! Forget the oven and grill and just provide a toaster! Staff and cleaners lovely. Nice pool and bar. Close to some lovely restaurants in Koutoulafari. Proper greek tavernas, unlike nearby Hersonissos. Downhill for 15 mins walk to the sea, but only 7 euros back in a taxi. Much rather stay here than on the busy seafront.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having read reviews before we arrived at Marni, it was as good as we hoped. Arrived very late 12.30am was met and helped by a very pleasant man (apologies, cant remember your name). He helped us to our room where we left our bags and went for a drink at the bar.
Marni Village is as lovely as described, beautiful setting, very well kept, excellent staff. Our only disappointment was our room (103) which is very basic, the shower was difficult to get to stay on the wall and most of all you get lots of noise from the dogs over the road at night. We did not kick up a fuss as we were not in the room much, but having booked through Thomas cook would ask for a better room when we go again, which we intend to do.
Koutouloufari is a brilliant, pretty and an entertaining village, as are the 2 villages beyond. Esperos was our favourite restaurant and ate here twice. The supermarket close by is excellent.
Hersonisos was great. Stallis has brilliant beaches and if you get a chance go to Potomas Beach just along from Malia, Excellent for snorkelling
The hill up to Marni is mentioned a lot as being hard work but we looked at it as eat and drink what you like, its good exercise.

Room Tip: Do not have the rooms at the bottom of the village facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On first arrival at the Marni Village we were met with a steep climb up to reception. We were given a choice of one bedroom apartment we took the one near the main pool. The apartment was basic but adequate. As we were on the ground floor we had a terrace to sit out on rather than a balcony. I'm kind of glad we didn't take the other apartment as it was near the top pool and that would've meant more climbing up a hill to get to it. The maid was in every day emptying the bins some days the beds were made some days they weren't. The sheets were changed twice and towels three times whilst we were there. The three pools were great and the overall look of the Marni Village is lovely. Although I have to say I've stayed in better but for the price we paid you can't grumble too much. We had some snacks and drinks from the pool bar which were nice, the staff were friendly and good with my children. Ok apartments in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.