We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
TWICKENHAM
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from a two week mid-October holiday at the Marni Village and have to say that we enjoyed our fortnight so much we would certainly consider returning at some point. We arrived late, yet received a warm welcome and were escorted to our studio apartment which was spacious enough for a couple. The room was clean and comfortable, yet a little tired at the end of the season. However, the village is incredibly well kept, and I noticed that they were already starting to refurbish some of the apartments as we left (the village closes at the end of October for the winter).
The studio was fitted with twin beds (albeit close together) which were very firm - although that suited us fine and we had a good night's sleep every night - toilet/shower room and kitchen area. The 'kitchen' was fitted with a mini oven with two-plate hob, a fidge/freezer, kettle, filter coffee machine, pots/pans, cups/glasses etc. - certainly enough to cope with cooking should you so wish. Our studio came with a table and chairs as well as another set on the balcony - and with the weather hitting the 30s - very welcome to dine al fresco. Other facilities included a remote-control tv, air-conditioning (extra), safety deposit box (extra) and free wi-fi. Our apartment was cleaned daily and sheets /towels changed every two/three days (this may have been because the complex was fairly quiet) and the cleaners were fantastic.
There were three swimming pools which were very quiet in October, a cafe/bar, 24 hour reception, sauna & tennis courts, situated in well tended gardens. There is a mini-market and bakery near the village entrance - neither overpriced.
Marni Village is situated about a mile uphill from Hersonissos in the village of Koutouloufari. Some people might find the distance/incline off-putting
but it depends on the individual. At times I found the walk back uphill hard going but taxis are available for 7 Euros. Koutouloufari is a pleasant village
with a choice of tavernas and is within walking distance of two other villages, Piskopiano and Old Hersonissos (which was my personal favourite).
The main resort of Hersonissos is quite brash with an endless mixture of restaurants, bars, clubs & shops and would be a nightmare in the summer
as far as we are concerned - but ok in October. The nearest beaches to Marni Village are in Hersonissos too but they are quite limited and would think very crowded in summer.
All-in-all we had a very pleasant, relaxing holiday at the Marni Village & Koutouloufari - bearing in mind though we stayed 'out-of-season'.

Room Tip: Lovely views from an 'upstairs' apartment with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    132
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
176
237
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from one week in a Junior Suite at Marni Village. Excellent accommodation with a wonderful view of the bay. The complex was amazingly quiet as it was coming to the last week of the season so no problems finding a sunbed or slow bar service but not much atmosphere either !! Indeed on two occasions we could have had any of the three pools to ourselves for most of the day !!
No complaints at all (actually the beds were rather hard but after the first night or so you get used to them!) and we will be returning as a larger group to one of the villas with private pool in the future. The location within minutes of the village was fantastic, with many beautiful bars and tavernas to frequent - all exceptionally good.
We did venture into Hersonissos one evening but soon returned to the village, not much typical Greece in that town, rather like Malia I would imagine but if you're there for the weather, relaxation and good food if you stay in the village you will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the resort have great views and you will get fit walking up to them !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance Cornwall UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely welcome, great facilities, great location. Let down by apartment facilties. Oven and grill, but no grill pan or oven gloves - burn hazard! Forget the oven and grill and just provide a toaster! Staff and cleaners lovely. Nice pool and bar. Close to some lovely restaurants in Koutoulafari. Proper greek tavernas, unlike nearby Hersonissos. Downhill for 15 mins walk to the sea, but only 7 euros back in a taxi. Much rather stay here than on the busy seafront.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having read reviews before we arrived at Marni, it was as good as we hoped. Arrived very late 12.30am was met and helped by a very pleasant man (apologies, cant remember your name). He helped us to our room where we left our bags and went for a drink at the bar.
Marni Village is as lovely as described, beautiful setting, very well kept, excellent staff. Our only disappointment was our room (103) which is very basic, the shower was difficult to get to stay on the wall and most of all you get lots of noise from the dogs over the road at night. We did not kick up a fuss as we were not in the room much, but having booked through Thomas cook would ask for a better room when we go again, which we intend to do.
Koutouloufari is a brilliant, pretty and an entertaining village, as are the 2 villages beyond. Esperos was our favourite restaurant and ate here twice. The supermarket close by is excellent.
Hersonisos was great. Stallis has brilliant beaches and if you get a chance go to Potomas Beach just along from Malia, Excellent for snorkelling
The hill up to Marni is mentioned a lot as being hard work but we looked at it as eat and drink what you like, its good exercise.

Room Tip: Do not have the rooms at the bottom of the village facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On first arrival at the Marni Village we were met with a steep climb up to reception. We were given a choice of one bedroom apartment we took the one near the main pool. The apartment was basic but adequate. As we were on the ground floor we had a terrace to sit out on rather than a balcony. I'm kind of glad we didn't take the other apartment as it was near the top pool and that would've meant more climbing up a hill to get to it. The maid was in every day emptying the bins some days the beds were made some days they weren't. The sheets were changed twice and towels three times whilst we were there. The three pools were great and the overall look of the Marni Village is lovely. Although I have to say I've stayed in better but for the price we paid you can't grumble too much. We had some snacks and drinks from the pool bar which were nice, the staff were friendly and good with my children. Ok apartments in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my partner (we are late 20s) have very much enjoyed our holiday in marni. The hotel complex itself is very well maintained with beautiful plants and flowers. Although built against the mountain side it is a bit hilly overall. Not a problem if you have no difficulties in walking.
There's 3 pools. All would be a good choice to settle at.
The restaurant /pool bar gives you a small but varied choice. Found the pizza adequate and good value for money. I would probably head in to koutouloufari village (on your left as you leave) for a better quality dinner. However good for lunch or a snack.
Our apartment was a maisonette which was a very good size. The view of the sea was great and not far from the main pool. Was glad we choose this type of apartment. The bed was very comfortable and linen and towels to a good standard!
The rooms all have wifi accessibility which was a great thing and meant we could research our trips out!
I would say that the beaches near here are a bit of a miss. Over crowded and not very picturesque. I've heard the beach at vai is lovely if you want to go further afield. 2hrs east.
All in all, we were very happy with marni village and would consider coming back (once we've seen a bit more of the world!)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have just returned from Marni Village having been there the first 12 days in October. Apart from first weekend when weather turned quite cold the holiday was great. The one bedroom apartment we had was spacious with two balconies, comfortable bed and small kitchen which enabled us to cook breakfast or lunch whenever we wanted. Plenty of space. The housekeeping service was first rate, cleaned every day and towels changed every other day. The food at the hotel snack bar was good, with a lot of variety. The staff at Marni Village are first rate, nothing is too much for them. We arrived at 4 am and the manager on duty gave us a bottle of water, carried our bags to our room and was extremely helpful. The tavernas in Koutouloufari are numerous and we would especially recommend Onira's where you are greeted like one of the family and the food was excellent. The highlight of the trip was a land rover safari into the interior and the mountains - what a fantastic day - highly entertaining and informative driver, thrills and a great lunch at Zorba's in the mountains. If you only do one excursion in Crete I would highly recommend this one. The barbecue evening was very entertaining, with good food and Greek dancers. The bar staff was very friendly, helpful and offered lots of tips of what to do and where to go. One word of warning if you intend to hire a car use one of the big firms, we hired a car from a local firm which was old and rattled and broke down after four days. Definitely stick with Avis or Hertz next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom apartment with balcony - plenty of room to sit either in or out depending on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.