We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel complex in lovely semi rural setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Save Saved
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 176 hotels in Hersonissos
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel complex in lovely semi rural setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my partner (we are late 20s) have very much enjoyed our holiday in marni. The hotel complex itself is very well maintained with beautiful plants and flowers. Although built against the mountain side it is a bit hilly overall. Not a problem if you have no difficulties in walking.
There's 3 pools. All would be a good choice to settle at.
The restaurant /pool bar gives you a small but varied choice. Found the pizza adequate and good value for money. I would probably head in to koutouloufari village (on your left as you leave) for a better quality dinner. However good for lunch or a snack.
Our apartment was a maisonette which was a very good size. The view of the sea was great and not far from the main pool. Was glad we choose this type of apartment. The bed was very comfortable and linen and towels to a good standard!
The rooms all have wifi accessibility which was a great thing and meant we could research our trips out!
I would say that the beaches near here are a bit of a miss. Over crowded and not very picturesque. I've heard the beach at vai is lovely if you want to go further afield. 2hrs east.
All in all, we were very happy with marni village and would consider coming back (once we've seen a bit more of the world!)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    139
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
151
212
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have just returned from Marni Village having been there the first 12 days in October. Apart from first weekend when weather turned quite cold the holiday was great. The one bedroom apartment we had was spacious with two balconies, comfortable bed and small kitchen which enabled us to cook breakfast or lunch whenever we wanted. Plenty of space. The housekeeping service was first rate, cleaned every day and towels changed every other day. The food at the hotel snack bar was good, with a lot of variety. The staff at Marni Village are first rate, nothing is too much for them. We arrived at 4 am and the manager on duty gave us a bottle of water, carried our bags to our room and was extremely helpful. The tavernas in Koutouloufari are numerous and we would especially recommend Onira's where you are greeted like one of the family and the food was excellent. The highlight of the trip was a land rover safari into the interior and the mountains - what a fantastic day - highly entertaining and informative driver, thrills and a great lunch at Zorba's in the mountains. If you only do one excursion in Crete I would highly recommend this one. The barbecue evening was very entertaining, with good food and Greek dancers. The bar staff was very friendly, helpful and offered lots of tips of what to do and where to go. One word of warning if you intend to hire a car use one of the big firms, we hired a car from a local firm which was old and rattled and broke down after four days. Definitely stick with Avis or Hertz next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom apartment with balcony - plenty of room to sit either in or out depending on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We missed our Thomas cook flight flight so arrived 1 1/2 days late, but were lucky enough to manage to get on one of Thompson's new dream liners WOW almost worth missing our flight for. What an amazing aeroplane. But down to marni village. We had a one bedroom apartments facing the roadside pool. We had an a splendid view. The beds and pillows were really comfortable. The best I have experienced anywhere in Greece the wardrobe was in the living area strange but made no odds to us. Two bed/settees, small table and chairs, usual greek kitchenette with enough equipment. Didn't use the oven/grill so not sure if you could cook in it but the rings worked o.k the fridge was clean and worked well As has been mentioned the room was quite dark but then it was cool so I felt that was a fair trade off. The pool was a bit too cold for my liking but lots of good quality sun beds and a definite sun trap. The pool bar was closed so again we can't comment. The complex is very clean and is very pretty but on a steep incline. We did have breakfast on the first morning but we weren't impressed. It was the end of the season so perhaps there was a bit of weariness creeping in. We didn't go to any of the entertainment not because we're unsociable but there was no one to encourage or remind us and anytime we went to the bar there was no one about. The Marni is within walking distance of koutouloufari and the other 2 local villages (pretty but way to much traffic) Where you'll find lots of really good restaurants. Supermarket and really good bakery on the doorstep. The cleaning lady came in daily and was discreet, friendly and efficient. (Thank you) the receptionist were really friendly and I enjoyed the occasional chat and joke. If you like the beach and we do it was a bit of a trek down to the sea, about 10 minutes in a car(we preferred stalis and sissi. As a base this was really comfortable and I'd go again just for the beds alone. Yes I'd have no problem recommending Marni Village

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Travelled at the end of September ( outside of school holidays) and weather was fabulous. Apartments were basic but cleaned regualrly and all you could need. We overlooked the bottom pool and had it pretty much to ourselves. Everyone I spoke to had been before which is a good sign. Views to sea but a good 15 minute walk. the resort was peaceful and very clean with lovely staff. Bakery and supermarket a stones throw away - perfect for breakfast on the balcony. A 5 minute walk to a choice of fabulous well priced restaurants. If you're looking for a peaceful holiday with good food and wine this place is great. Will definitely consider revisiting.

Room Tip: sea view - balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we as in my boyfriend and i stayed for a week in marni village and it was lovely. we wanted somewhere that wasnt expensive but still lovely to stay and marni is just that. we managed to stay in two apartments for the week we visited and so was able to see what more money could get you at marni village. In all honesty the only difference was the more expensive one had more room and that was it.

but all in all the apartment was clean, comfy spacious enough for two and had everything you needed. staff were friendly and there were so many restaurants in town you wont want to cook at the apartment. i was a bit funny about the bathroom at first but i always am. i just didn't like that the shower leaked when you used it but it was so hot when we went the water soon dried up.

would highly recommend bbq night on thursdays. was so much fun dancing and the food was delicious!! we would definitely go back again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks in Marni village and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is excellent just a short walk from the lovely village of Koutouloufari which has some excellent bars and restaurants (would recommend Atrium, Esperos, Patrikos, Oniro, Nikos for food and Bar Mythos and . The complex itself is very well maintained and has lovely colourful shrubs and plants. We mainly used the main pool where there was plenty of space and sunbeds. We had lunch at the pool bar a fee days and food was good and very reasonable. We had a 1-bed apartment which was basic but perfectly adequate. The air con was a blessing and kept the bedroom nice and cool.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Marni Village with my husband. We arrived at 11pm and were allocated room 103. As we had been travelling for quite a while we decided to have a quick pizza and a drink before we went to bed. This was provided at the bar which served snacks until 3am which was great. However when we returned to my room I realised it did not have much daylight and was quite dark. Next morning my husband asked at reception if we could have a room with a balcony and patio doors - we were told to come back around lunchtime and the manager would see what he could do for us. Thankfully we were offered room 519 (at an extra 3 euros per night) which we were really happy with. There are lots of different styles of rooms and in my opinion the rooms with the balconies seem to be best. The bathrooms could do with a bit of updating as our shower would not stay on the hook so we had to hold it but the water was lovely and warm and shower had good pressure. Air conditioning is an extra cost and was quite expensive especially if you're there for 2 weeks - safe hire is also extra but this was only 11 euros for the week - but to be honest I think both should be free of charge.
We usually had breakfast and lunch at the snack bar and although not an extensive menu there were enough options to keep us happy for the week and food was of a good standard.
Previous reviews rave about this complex and I wonder if we perhaps went at the wrong time of year as the resort was very quiet and due to close for the winter in a couple of weeks. We had intended going to the weekly barbecue but as there only seemed to be a handful of people around in the evenings we didn't feel it was worth it.
Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much of a problem for them.
The complex is set on a steep hill which would not be suitable for anybody with any kind of mobility issues.
We did enjoy ourselves but would we return ...probably not as we normally go all inclusive and although it was fairly cheap to eat out etc we found the drinks to be quite expensive especially spirits at 5 euros (we are not beer or wine drinkers which were fairly reasonably priced).
Lots of lovely restaurants and tavernas in the village and all of a high standard.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room with a balcony - room 519 has fantastic views over pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.