We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marni village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Save Saved
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 175 hotels in Hersonissos
Egremont, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“marni village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

just been here for a weeks self catering,,,,place people and location is very good if you want to chill out and be away from the niose of the front hotels this is the place apts are clean and tidy,a good tip is to hire a car and see more of crete lovely beaches and the people are very friendly.....all in all perfect WS

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    138
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
146
206
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

have been coming here for the last 7 years love it, friendly staff always very helpful. We had a Junior suite this year loved it will be booking the same next year. The village is excellent with some lovely restaurants and cosy wine bars and there is also a unique coffee house, in the square run by dutch people normally go there a few nights after our meal.

Room Tip: because the village is built on a hill if you are not very mobile best to request lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived at the apts and were shown to our apt by Wilma , who was very nice and polite. The apts were spotless clean and cleaned every day, The pools were lovely and clean too. i know it wasn't the apartments fault but there was a house across the road with dogs constantly barking making it very hard to sleep. They had very good entertainment on at night and the barman Manos was so nice, we were put off by the two young girls working behind the bar who were charging 50 cent extra every time for each drink , i would of given them a tip but don't like people taking me for a fool we did point this out to Manos and he did get annoyed but it didn't stop so we drank down the town, we also booked a trip to go to the sat market and the night reception gave us the total wrong information and we missed out on the trip, Wilma did apoligise but i really thought they would compensate us in some way. Overall we did have a nice holiday just a pity about these few little things. i think these apts are a lovely place for families but i would prefer some where a little quieter

Room Tip: dont choose an apartment close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marni_Village, Front Office Manager at Marni Village, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback and your nice words. I am sorry for the noise issue with the dogs barking cross the street but as you correctly mentioned we are not able to do something about it; what I would have been able to do is to offer you another apartment in a quieter area if I knew about it. We always suggest our guests to inform us when they are disturbed in any way so we try to find a solution.

After reading your comments and asking my colleges who are involved I would like to mention some facts concerning the issues you have mentioned.
What happened with your trip to Heraklion market I believe that it is a misunderstanding between you and Oxy, which is working in the evening in our reception. You came at reception late on Friday evening and asked her if you would be able to book the next morning, Saturday, to go to the market in Heraklion. She has called the travel agency and confirmed the booking. Then you asked her what time does the bus usually leaves and from where and she said that it would be between 8 and 8:30 a.m. from the Esperides corner telling you that all details would be written down on the voucher which you should pick up later the same evening and pay for the trip too. The fact is that you never came back to pick up the voucher and to pay for the trip. She has never said that you should pay the trip on the bus, as you’ve mentioned to my colleague Wilma in the morning shift. I am really sorry that this misunderstanding occurred and you missed that trip; I don’t understand why you should have compensation when you have never paid for the trip and it was clear that it was a misunderstanding and not our fault. We do book lots of trips and we follow the same procedure so it is not possible that my college gave you other instructions.

Concerning your comments about the bar bill difference it is truth that you have mentioned Manos, our barman, that you have paid 50 cents more per person in your daytime bill than what he has charged you in the evening for the same drinks. Manos did mentioned that to our bar manager, Vangelis, and when he asked about this issue the girl who gave you the bill that night, she said that you had ordered food as well with your drinks and that the 50 cents charge was for the “couvert”, bread-butter-sauces e.t.c, per person that you have used with your food which you obviously have not noticed in our price list. You have asked Manos not to mention this that’s why our bar manager did not call you to solve the misunderstanding on the spot, wrongly in my opinion. Would you be so kind to contact me personally by e-mailing in our hotel’s email if it is not true?
I hope you will give us another chance in the future by visiting us once again to prove you that our service standards are much higher from what you have rated.

Best regards

Dimitris Tsagarakis
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at Marni at 2:50 in the morning not marni's fault i know but this was a holiday booked via Manos holidays /Thomas Cook and this is how my holiday started with a rather snotty little jumped up jobs worth in the airport that proceeded to book us in and seat us all apart we were there 1hr 45 before taking off we were advised all seats were booked so i accepted this even tho i have never had this before we boarded the plane where i sat in my seat only to be confronted by this rude little madam who insisted i was in her seat and with a very bad attitude really expected me to move what ever the cost to me on this the air hostess asked if we were ok? and i asked to be moved to my horror there was 9 free seats altogether just two rows back so both my self and my husband and son all moved and were seated together so i have no idea why we were subjected to the upset. In Marni we were greeted by the night receptionist who was lovely and friendly and told him we were in need of a swift drink after traveling for 12hrs and the plane episode so we ran straight to the bar for a few bottles, where the bar tender was more than helpful towards us after a two hour transfer from and airport 27km away with a hand full of families on board which was lets say more than a little excessive, when i do return to crete i think we will book a taxi or smaller shuttle transfer, we were taken to our room 220 which as you say your get what you pay for and we had a studio for three adults which was basic and clean the balcony was quite small and we are not massive people and would have liked one of the balconies either side as they were a bit bigger and only had two people staying in them, the cleaners i could not fault these ladies they were so efficient clean towels beds etc the people around us so friendly spoke every day lovely close family resort feeling which we like, no excessive noise the pools were clean and tidy friendly staff i did find the towels on the loungers on the smaller pool rather annoying as people were leaving these all day and sit on the balcony overlooking the pool to make sure they were not moved (sad) i witnessed this on several occasions we then decided to go to the larger pool with bar where there were an abundance of loungers and no towels which we found more settled, we did find the ants a bit of pain in the room as others did around us they even made there way into the bed the restaurants shops bars in the area were brilliant, walk into the town and see the pirate ship £28 booked there each £46 off the rep for the same thing it takes you for a small dive first in the cove then onto sissi brilliant day i would return again to marni in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Until recently, we had always planned to go to a different holiday resort every year, as we always thought that going to the one same place all the time would get boring. However, that all changed when we first visited the Marni Village in 2009. Since then we have been here four times and, to be honest, I can't really see us visting anywhere else in the immediate future.
That's how much we fell in love with place.

It's hard to explain just what it is about the Marni that keeps drawing us back; as I'm sure many people have pointed out, the Marni really is like a little self contained village in the town of Koutouloufari.
We always book a one bedroon apartment, and have been lucky enough to get the same room on three of our visits. The rooms are always spotlessly clean with plenty of kitchen utensils if you plan to self cater. I'm sure the maids clean the rooms out more often than it says they do, and there are always plenty of clean towels and sheets.

The reception is run by Dmitri and Wilma who do a fantastic job; they booked our excursions for us, and arranged for our taxis to and from the resort. There is always a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere in the reception which puts everyone at ease, and nothing is ever too much bother for the staff.

I have to commend the restaurant and bars here too. Manos, Anna and Elena keep the main bar/restaurant running brilliantly; the food is superb and I recommend the Seafood Spaghetti, but there is plenty of variation, and Pizzas and Toasties are served well into the early hours of the morning in case of any guests arriving after midnight. Manos is a top class barman and can conjure up any drink or cocktail you suggest, no matter how off the wall it may seem. Oh, and the prices are extremely reasonable too.
Down at the other bar(beside the lower pool), Maya does a sterling job and keeps everyone amused, and never forgets your drinks order even after a year away.

The pools and their surrounding areas are always well kept and safe for children too. There are always plenty of loungers and umbrellas for shade at all pools, and the relaxed family orientated atmosphere means everyone respects each others space and helps out if extra loungers are needed or if people want to swap from the sun to the shade.

All in all I cannot recommend the Marni Village highly enough, it is EASILY the best holiday resort we have ever stayed at(and that includes some villas and 4-star All Inclusive hotels), and I would happily keep going back here for as long as we are able to.

A BRILLIANT resort for couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the bottom pool may suit those who may be bothered by the noise from the nights when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just come back from the marni village,what a fantastic place it is,the location is second to none,
with views of the sea and mountains.
There Are 3 pools at the marni we spent most of our time at the big pool,the bar area served up food all day,we tried restaurants but we found the marni our favourite place to eat so much choice.
You must try the BBQ really nice, great food, and good fun and worth the money at 15euro each
Manos the barman what a great guy,he does the best cocktails ever,try the marni special WOW.
Vangellis the manager so friendly and helpful always had a smile on his face.
Also Anna and Elena who worked at the main bar,really looked after us always happy to have a chat,two really nice girls,we miss all the staff since we arrived home.
Our Room which was 604 was very spacious,kept spotless and clean,we have never had our towels changed so often on a holiday.
The pretty villages of Koutaloufari and piscopiano about 5 to 10 mins away,full of Restaurants and a few good bars.
We have been to crete/Koutaloufari many times and will definitely be Returning to the marni village,this was one of our best holidays ever.
Great Place,Great Location,Great Holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Marni Village and we were so happy with our holiday choice!! Marni itself is great – a large complex of different buildings (from apartment blocks to private villas), with three pools (on three levels of the complex), beautiful gardens, three beach bars and one restaurant, play ground, tennis courts etc. It’s perfectly located just next to a supermarket & bakery, car rental place and literally 2 minute walk from the first tavernas and bars. It’s about a 10 min walk down to Hersonissos and about 20 min walk up the hill. The hill is very steep but we walked it a few times and if you are reasonably fit you will be fine (it’s the heat that’s the issue not the hill itself so it depends what time of the day it is) – taxis from Hersonissos to Marni were 7 EUR.

Our apartment was very good (best we’ve had in Greece!). We had a studio on the lower level literally only a few steps away from the pool. It suited us perfectly. Furniture was nice, bed was comfy, kitchen was well equipped, bathroom was good size with a big shower cubicle and the whole room was spotless! When we were in though, we mainly sat on our patio enjoying the sea view and chatting to our lovely neighbours.

All the pools were very well kept, there were plenty of sun loungers and as families with kids mainly go to the main pool it was quiet and peaceful by our pool.

We ate a couple of times at the main pool restaurant and found the food very good and reasonably priced (which seemed to be the case in all the restaurants in the village). Try their gyros plate – huge portion!!

The village of Koutouloufari is beautiful! Full of great tavernas, bars and lovely shops. You are spoilt with choice! We recommend Patriko taverna (we went there twice) and Fabrica but really everywhere is great! Hersonissos is less nice as it’s much more commercial. We only went there twice and during the day, which is ok as you can find nice places to eat by the port with nice sea views. It probably gets quite busy at night time. Being at Marni you have the luxury of choice between traditional Cretan & romantic eve in the villages nearby or busy nightlife of Hersonissos.

The beaches in Hersonissos are not great (Star Beach might be fun if you have kids) – we went to a little stony cove twice as it was almost empty (unlike all the other bits of beach which were packed) and the water there was crystal clear and it was good for snorkelling. On other days we took a taxi to Stalis (10 EUR) where the beaches are much much nicer!

There is so much we could write about but the main thing is we had a fantastic holiday and as a few people on here said before – we don’t normally go to the same place twice but I would love to return to Marni sometime in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.