We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just back from our fourth visit to Marni Village. The fact that we've returned again and again, and plan to return next year says it all really! Staff at the Marni Pool Bar are so friendly and helpful, and the food is really great quality. We would recommend the BBQ night - great entertainment and so much tasty food! The setting and grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a maisonette this year, but preferred previous accommodation over one floor, due to there only being one air conditioning unit in our maisonette (the evenings were very warm!). It's best to book direct with Marni Village, as there's no charge for the air conditioning if you do this!
You can't go wrong eating out in Koutouloufari. It's a picturesque traditional Cretan village. Our favourite restaurants include Galini's, Emanuel's, Patriquo's and Fabrica. It's about a 20 minute walk down to Hersonnisos; best to get a taxi back! Star Beach is worth a trip or two...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    139
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
251
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 weeks with a friend and my daughter.
There are 3 pools so plenty of choice, all different atmospheres. I preferred the main pool which had a good atmosphere and gorgeous views of the bay. The food served there was always lovely, the staff there were great. Thanks Manos and Vangelis!
The entertainment was very enjoyable and my daughter wanted to see it every night.
Restaurants and bars in Koutoulafari were great but if you don't mind a 20min walk to Hersonnisos you can find cheaper alternatives, plus have a meal or drinks by the sea - a must do.
I don't often go back to the same place twice, however i want to go again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portstewart
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent two weeks at Marni Village from 13th - 27th August 2013.

On arrival the receptionist was very warm, friendly, informative and welcoming. We were shown to our one bedroom apartment (602) and started to unpack. Here we encountered a problem. We did not have enough storage space. One small wardrobe and 5 small drawers scattered throughout the room. My partner and almost had enough room to put our clothes away, but our 2 kids had to live out of their suitcases for the full 2 weeks.

The rest of the apartment was nicely furnished and the kitchen, for a self catering holiday, was adequate. The air conditioning unit, 5euro per night, was situated in the bedroom, meaning that for everyone in the apartment to benefit from it, the bedroom door had to be kept open all the time.

The location was good, a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the village of Koutouloufari and 15 minutes downhill to the resort of Hersonissos. I would recommend returning up the hill to the hotel in a taxi (7euros).

The complex itself was very well looked after, beautiful gardens and surroundings, the pools were very well kept and there were plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The pool bars were very well stocked with lots of local and international brands for your refreshment. The main pool bar served food all day and this was very tasty and reasonably priced.

We did go to Greek night on the 1st Thursday of our trip, the BBQ was fantastic, loads of food and we didn't leave hungry. The Greek dancing was immense fun and we were all encouraged to join in.

We would definitely return to Marni. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. The rooms were good and the communal areas were fantastic.

Room Tip: The complex is on the side of a hill. Rooms that start with a 1,2 or 6 are at the bottom end and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Marni village what can I say! The staff are wonderful,the apartments spotless with linen and towels changed every other day AND not with the usual thin threadbare type of stuff. The place is just so peaceful and you come back feeling relaxed and wanting to go back . Hello to the manager who I know reads these.i think it is an added touch that he checks TripAdvisor and personally answers any problems that are written in reviews. obviously he rarely needs to.thanks for another lovely stay and to you the reader go there it is just paradise.

Room Tip: Contact them direct even if you are a package holiday and they will try to help any request
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First class accommodation within a great location all the staff make the effort to make your stay special, The local villages offer a range of fine dinning I would not like advise a preference as we never had a bad meal. Great place relax a meet new friends its not hard to see why so many return to the Marni year after year, the BBQ night was a great night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and spoke perfect English. We had a fabulous view from our studio and the rooms were constantly cleaned with clean towels provided. The food in the restaurant was very good and cheap enough. Only a five minute walk from the Village. Overall this hotel is well looked after and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Marni for 1 week with a friend and our 2 teenage children and totally loved it.

I emailed Marni prior to our visit and requested a pool /sea view and was not disappointed! They allocated us room 213 which looks directly over the bottom pool and also has a panoramic view of the sea and the mountains off to the side. We were also a 30 second walk from the nearby bakery and shop which served up wonderful bread and pastries in the morning for a very small price.

The room was spacious and clean and the maid service could not be faulted. The bathroom was a little small and the shower not brilliant but then I am comparing it to the power shower I have at home!

The complex was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The food served in the top pool / bar area was very good and reasonably priced.

In terms of the area itself there is something to suit all in my opinion. Just a 5 minute walk up the hill takes you into the old town which is beautiful especially in the evening when the taverna's are lit up. We ate there a few times and were impressed with the prices service and quality of food.

A 15 minute walk down the hill takes you into Hersonissos which is bustling with shops and bars and Star Beach which has lots going on in the daytime such as foam parties, DJ's and water sports.

Our favourite beach was Stalis which is a short bus journey or taxi ride (10 Euros) to the right of Star Beach. We were told it is where the bounty advert was filmed and you can see why. Gorgeous white sand that stretches for miles and crystal warm waters to swim in. We also found that the shopping there for was much cheaper than Hersonissos.

Overall we really didn't want to come home could easily have stayed another week without boredom setting in. I am one of those people who doesn't go to the same place twice as there are so many places to visit but Marni I think will be an exception!! :)

Room Tip: 213 is in a great location with a pool and sea view. Also close to the shop and bakery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.