We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marni Village, Beautiful Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Save Saved
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marni Village, Beautiful Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in Marni Village in June 2012 with my partner. It was our first trip to Crete and we booked with Thomas Cook and Stacey was our rep.
We stayed in a one bed studio apartment (room 201) looking over a pool, the apartment had all essentials required.It was spotless, quite and alot better than we had expected. The bed sheets and towels were changed regularly.
The hotel pools were amazing and nice for the lazy sun bathing days. The hotel also has a small play ground for kids.
All staff were lovely, especially the bar man Mani who was so friendly and good at recommending places to go and see. The food and drink in the bar was nice and not too expensive.
The location was good, near the beautiful village koutoloufari which had lovely restraunts, near hersonisos for shopping and night life and then a 20 min drive to malia for more night life.
We rented a quad for our stay and i would strongly recommend as there is a long up hill walk from hersonisos to marni village but we didnt mind that as we had the quad.
It was my birthday during the stay and i was so surprised and happy to receive a small gift and card to my room the day of it from staff and management of marni village.
There is a shop and bakery across from the hotel and near Star Beach.
We enjoyed our stay and we will be back. It is a very family friendly hotel and we are already considering going back to stay with our kids too.

Room Tip: hire transport for your holiday unless you like hill walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    126
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
172
222
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Maybe long overdue but....We first stayed at Marni in 2008 and after falling in love with the beautiful village of Koutouloufari, have since been back twice; in 2010 and more recently, May 2012. We've stayed in a studio, a maisonette and more recently a junior suite and have always enjoyed our holidays in beautiful, spotless accommodation and surroundings. The views are spectacular, and although the steep climb may not be for the faint-hearted it's worth it! Food at the main pool bar is very good and we always received a friendly welcome. Vangelis is a fantastic host and Zagora and Manolis this year were great. Can't say anymore that has been said already..just looking forward to the next time we visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is now the 6th time in marni village apartments, unfortunately this is review is a bit later than planned as we were there in september but it is a fabulous place the staff are amazing and friendly, the rooms are spotless. We just love everything about this place. A short walk into the village with lovely shops and restaurants and the sun shining what more could you ask for.we would recommend that you stay here 100%. NOT TO BE MISSED.

Room Tip: There are 3 pools we stayed at the top pool which is nice and quiet but very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My Fiancé and I stayed in a studio apartment at the start of September in this complex. We were based on the lowest level block with the pool in view of our room and a short few steps to the main road with a little shop and bakery across the way. The room was basic but clean and had everything you could need. The bathroom was a little small and more like a wet room once you had a shower but we had plenty of hot water and could not complain. The complex has 3 pools as other reviewers have mentioned and we visited all 3, the main pool was by far the busiest so we didn't spend too long here . There is a great pool bar/ restaurant at the main pool too for lunch etc. One thing I definitely have to mention is how fantastic & friendly all the staff are at the Marni, from the moment you arrive they really make you feel welcome and walk you personally to your room and show you around...which is a nice touch.

The village is only a few minutes walk away and the food in the restaurants was very good quality and value. We walked down to Hersonisses one or two nights and it took about 10 mins and the cab back up the hill was €7. I would definitely recommend Crete & the Marni village for a relaxing, enjoyable holiday and we will go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 and it was in a great location with the pool just outside and no steep hills t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed in the hotel next door but, we spent most days & nights visiting Marni , spotless , fantastic views , 3 pools take your pick which one . private villas further up hill, a bit steep ,
shops nearby, plenty of restuarants in koutoulafari, spoilt for choice there are so many , you will be spoilt in everyone .

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in the middle of October and were unlucky to have 5 days of rain and thunder storms. When the sun did shine it was lovely. The team at Marni are extremely helpful and friendly and our apartment was just what we expected, clean, basic, spacious with a fabulous view. There are good little supermarkets in the village or a large spar down in hersonissos to the left.
Even though it rained a lot the children loved going In the pool. The main pool area with the bar is great, with a baby pool and large pool. The large pool was just slightly too deep for my 5 year old boy to stand up,he was happy playing with rubber rings though. The lower pool was closed as end of season and upper pool only discovered on last day which is great. The bar by the main pool is excellent with good beer, good simple food and nice tables and chairs.
Due to rain we hired a car for two days (75 euros) and firstly went to Elounda, and took boat to Spinalonga leper colony, well worth a visit whether you have read The Island or not. Ate in a lovely restaurant right on the harbour. Also. Isited Knossos Minoan palace which the children loved after we told them the story of Theseus and the Minotaur. Travelled around the site looking for the labrynth!
Picked up on someone else's review about going up to Karsi, a small Cretan village about 20kms from hersonissos. What a beautiful village. We parked in the centre, wandered up to look at the Tree before Christ (2500 yr old tree), then sat in a fantastic cafe at the bottom of the village and were treated to some wonderful Cretan foods such as 'sweet of small spoon'.
What would have made this holiday so much better would have been if the sun had shone for a day; I suppose we were just unlucky as it was 27'c the day we left and for the rest of that week!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a week in room 520 as a couple just out of season in October.
We were both very happy with our choice based mainly on reviews on here.
Firstly to the room, we asked for a high room with a view and were not disappointed, we had a lovely sea view room close to the pool next to the main bar. I would highly recommend this room.
The room was basic but comfortable, bed much more comfortable than I expected, small and simple kitchen with everything provided that you'd need and a good sized balcony which we could log on to the wifi from on the pc ( couldnt get wifi in the room )
Bathroom was the only area that let it down slightly, shower could use a little update as water does not drain away that well however we did not complain as for £32 a night we thought all things considered it was fantastic value for money.
There are 3 pools to choose from to laze away the days, we spent most of our time at the top infinity style pool and found it more quiter there with the kids happier in the pool next to the main bar.
Lovely gardens around the complex with some lovely flowers obviously well looked after.
Lots of cats milling around, didn't bother us as we have 2 of our own, if you hate cats you would have an issue!
Every member of staff was very helpful and friendly particularly on reception.
Lots of lovely greek tavernas to eat in if you venture down the road to koutouloufari, fabrica was one of our faves, at the end of the week you become glad of the small hill back up to your room to burn off some calories from the many fresh pastries that you get from the local bakeries.
Definately recommend this place to stay if going to crete, value for money is superb.

Room Tip: 520 is a good bet, lovely view and close to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.