We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun in Marni Stone Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Hersonissos, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Fun in Marni Stone Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A special trip was planned by my family for my parents' 40th wedding anniversary in October 2011. My husband and I live in Hersonissos, Crete so when we knew the anniversary would be celebrated in Crete with 14 members of our family, we were delighted. We know Marni Village is a professionally-run, friendly resort in an ideal location so we booked two of the stone villas for our family without hesitation. Ever-accommodating, Dimitris, the manager, showed us around the villas and helped with our requests. We booked villas to accomodate 6 and 8 people. Both are well-equipped and have good-sized private pools, although in October, a quick dip was all we needed! The week was special and memorable; we chose the perfect resort for a great family reunion. Thank you Marni staff.

Room Tip: The Stone Villas offer amazing views and excellent comfort for a memorable family holiday. The 8 per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    136
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
249
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have stayed at Marni 4 times now and loved every visit the appartments are of a very good standard and clean with towels and linen changed often. The staff are very helpfull and even ask you if you would like to stay in the same appartment on return visits. koutouloufari is a lovley village with great places to eat and chill out. Would highly recomend these appartments to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I, along with my mum stayed at the Marni Village for the second time in 4 years and I am sure we will return as we had such a fabulous time in our favourite Greek village and will return in the future.

We asked for a room near the bottom pool as my mum prefers not to have to climb the steep hill every day and we weren't disappointed with the apartment we were given.

The apartments were, like on our previous visit, very clean and had enough kitchen equipment and space for a party of four (not that we did any cooking).

We had one or two meals at the snack bar at the main pool area and this was typical snack bar fayre and not overpriced.

Our favourite spot was beside the bottom pool and there is a small bar by this which opens between 12 and 6 each day in September (Greek time).

We loved the reception area which had a little library in it and swapped a couple of books there too and the staff were always very friendly and helpful.

We have stayed in Koutouloufari three times so far and in Hersonissos once (never to be repeated, although there are one or two good shops down there if you like 'good' Greek souvenirs and not just the usual tourist tat).

During our stay, we went to our favourite restaurants, Ariadne (excellent as usual), Oniro, (not as good as usual), Mezes (a new favourite) and too many others to mention. We avoided our least favourite from a previous visit, Galini as we thought it was over priced previously (and still looks it from the menu outside) and a little too pretentious for us.

We love the bars in the village too, especially Fabrica, Vinnies Roof Garden (great decor and atmosphere) and the Sports Bar (nearest to our apartment) and a new favourite The Alchemist (where they really do serve the best Mojito in Crete).

We never did any trips, as we have been to Crete previously and have seen most of the sites that we would be interested in, but we did walk along to Old Hersonnisos via Piskopiano a couple of times and walked down to Hersonissos to check out the shops, but mostly for a bit of exercise.

All in all we had a great relaxing holiday and would highly recommend these apartments to anyone and can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The complex is built on a steep hillside, and if you prefer not to have to tackle the hill every day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Incredible hotel staff great friendly hotel close to anything that matters. Stayed in July 11 for 2 weeks self catering would love to go back this year. Everything from the good local resteraunts in the village to the handy wee shop accross the road to the library of used books that people have left behind once you have read everything in your case to getting a Christmas card online what more can I say just go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Third time back at the Marni this year. We were always the sort of people who vowed not to go back to a place we'd enjoyed - simply to avoid disappointments on a return visit but gladly this has not been the case with the Marni appartments or the village itself. The appartments are a fantastic place to relax and we love the genuine warmth and charm of the village itself. Will we return in 2012 ? Probably !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Love Marni Village! Have been to Crete a few times and we keep returning to Marni Village. Situated in the peaceful, beautiful village of Koutouloufari which has some amazing taverna's (notably Adrianas which is about halfway through Koutouloufari on the left up some steps!). Hersonissos town centre is about a 15 minute walk away down a hill which takes longer on the way back! Great for shopping and if you wanted some nightlife. Marni Village is a very large complex with 2 pools to use, lots of sunbathing space and everyone has a balcony or terrace- most with amazing views. All rooms are very clean with bins etc being emptied every day. Each room has a fridge, oven and all utensils and appliances. Little supermarket near the entrance of Marni. Best to get a car for a few days to explore. The old leper colony on the island of Spinalonga is a definate must. Very chilled out atmosphere and always helpful, friendly staff. Great value for money. WILL DEFINATELY RETURN.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed at Marni Village in April 2011, the purpose of the trip was to check out wedding locations and accomodation for next year.
This self catering apartment complex was perfect from the layout, rooms to the guys in the bar and on reception.
When we explained waht we were looking for the chap on reception showed us round all the different style of apartments to accomodate singles, couples and families as well as a guided tour of the 3 private villas that they have on site - one which we booked a day later and where we will be getting our marriage blessed !!!
Manoli was always in the bar with a smile in the evening when we went for a drink before going out and Vangelis who owns the bar franchise was around during the day - great guys !!
Lovely views across the sea beyond Hersonissos but Koutouloufari forms one of 3 small villages in the hills behind the main resort and is a lovely location - very quiet when we were there but then the season hadn't really started. This did mean that we had a chance to speak with the staff and owners of the local tavernas and restaurants all of whom were very welcoming.
We have booked for next year along with 8 other groups of varying sizes who will be attending our wedding celebrations - we are also managing to get a week on our own at the end of May 2012 to "finalise arrangements" - great excuse to go back without the children ;-)
Can't recommend this place highly enough - only one thing to be aware of for young party animals - it is a good 20 walk down into Hersonissos and due to the very steep hill you can double that for the return trip !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.