We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marni Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marni Village to your Saves list
Marni Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Hersonissos
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent pick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Booked a stay at the Marni Village after reading many, many good reviews. We were not disappointed. On arrival, we received great service from the front desk staff. We were given all kinds of information about the hotel and possible excursions available. Everyone there was very friendly.

We stayed in a junior suite in the new area. It was very nice and spacious. Also, very clean. Only problem was the shower leaking water on the floor but that happens in almost every hotel I stay at in Europe. There was a charge for air conditioning but we never used it because it was very cool at night and our room always stayed cool. We had an amazing view overlooking the resort and the ocean. Great room overall.

Can't say anything about the pools because we didn't use them. However, they looked nice enough and clean.

We ate at the pool bar twice. Once was for an evening snack, which was fine. The other was for breakfast, which was very good and offered good choice.

We booked massages on our first day. We both had a full body massage, which was very good. The only downside is that they just take you into the washroom area in the main lobby area and lock the door. Then they have the table set up there. And you could hear the music from the lobby blaring over the "relaxing" music they were trying to play for the massage. The actual massage was good but the atmosphere was terrible. They need to get a real massage room set up.

The location of the Marni Village was great. Close enough to walk into Hersonissos if you don't mind climbing back up the hill. There are some great restaurants and shops in town. Also, it's a great area for exploring the rest of the island if you have a car. The best part of our stay though, was the price. Only 35 euros a night! You can't get youth hostels for that cheap in most European cities. Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — The massage location.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    136
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
182
249
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Stayed here in June with my family. We were upgraded to one of the new appartments which was really nice and quite big. Since we arrived before the summer season really started it was fairly quiet so the pools were quite empty.

Most of the restaurants were fairly good, pretty similar menus and prices. One that we did go back to though was on the way out of town and next to a bike hire shop, unfortunately I can't remember the name. We did try Galini, the food was fine but the waiter used 5 objects to open a bottle of wine and wouldn't pour until it was 12 degrees. On the night we went the service was shocking, we arrived just before 8pm and didn't leave until midnight and we didn't even have a desert! Overall we found it to be over-rated and pretentious with a price to match, even the girls in togas couldn't lure my husband back.

Koutouloufari is a nice village but Hersonissos is a party town. Have a day out at Agios Nikolas for shopping and lunch and take a boat from Elounda to Spinalonga for a lovely day out.

  • Liked — Upgraded accomodation
  • Disliked — Quite a steep hill to the apartment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

realistically, we got what we paid for, including under occupancy as we had a 1 bed, 3 person room. (although what the third person would have done with their clothes is a mystery as there wasn't enough wardrobe or drawer space for 2). A pity then, that my hopes were raised by all the rave reviews I had read about this property.
for us, it was ideally located, and we loved the villages of Koutouloufari and Piskopiano, which we walked to every night and ate at some fantastic restaurants.
we also hired a car for the full fortnight, so apart from the first day when we were zonked from the overnight flight, we didn't eat or sit around the pools at Marni. the poolside loungers and umbrellas are old, non-matching and dirty, spoils the look.
I think we had the same room as a previous reviewer as the description of hard lumpy bed and noisy air-con sound familiar.
no complaints with the cleaners who came in every day to empty the bin, and we seemed to have clean towels every day bar one.
the male receptionists were disinterested and didn't smile or want to sort out the 2 small items I asked for (lumpy mattress and a drink of water on our arrival at 6am after 12 hours travel)
a bottle of water in the fridge would have been a kind gesture by either the hotel or the rep.
we wouldn't return to marni but definitely want to go to the resort again, it's well worth a visit.

  • Liked — the location, for access to local villages and excellent restaurants
  • Disliked — tired
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Have just returned from a 2 week stay in a one bedroom apartment in the Marni. Apartment basic, but met our needs. Location was fantastic. It was very quiet and just a short walk to all the greek bars and tavernas in the beautiful villiage. Would definately return to the Marni again. Not suitable for young people who want to party and anyone with walking difficulties.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed at the Marni Village for a week in early September. We had a 1-bed apartment which suited us just fine. It had clearly once been two neighbouring studios which had been combined (we had two shower rooms!). As a previous poster said, the shower curtains don't reach the floor and there is no sill to contain the water so the floor gets flooded - but this is the case all over Crete (and in many other places I've been, too) - so it's not really something that can be held against the Marni Village. Koutouloufari is a lovely setting, much more relaxed than Hersonissos. There are plenty of tavernas to choose from. Having spent the following two weeks in various places around the island, I can confidently say that Koutouloufari had the best food. There is a bakery a stone's throw from the complex, so fresh bread for breakfast every day, and a handful of supermarkets all within walking distance to keep you in the essentials.

The pools were nice, there always seemed to be plenty of sunbeds available (not that we were there for long, with a 2 year old in tow!). We didn't eat the food, visit the bar or use the saunas so can't comment on them. We had no problems so had no need to seek assistance from the reception staff - the only time we saw them was on arriving and departing!

The one bad thing I can say about the place regards the kid's playground. There is no shade whatsoever, the equipment is quite old and not in good condition, and the slides are metal so get absolutely burning hot. It is basically unusable.

Star Beach is the one nearest the Marni Village, about 20 mins walk downhill. Lots of waterparks and children's playgrounds, and a sandy beach. Very dirty though, lots of cigarette ends and plastic bottles lying around. Having said that, it was the cleanest of all Hersonissos' beaches - not saying much!

All in all, I'd recommend the Marni Village and wouldn't have any qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Returned from Marni Village this September and I can honestly say we didn't want to go home. Everything about the holiday was brilliant. I come acrooss the Marni Village on the internet, liked the look of it and went to book it the next day. We were not disappointed.

We arrived about 1 o clock in the morning and was very tired but decided to go for a quick drink in the pool bar. The pool looked lovely all lit up in the moonlight and we couldn't wait for morning to have a dip!!! The pool bar is open till 3 every night and its nice if you want a quiet drink after you have been for your meal. illya who works in the bar is great and we spent most days sitting and talking to him.

The nearby old towns are lovely. Im quite a fussy eater but we found somewhere to eat every night and the food is reasonably priced too. Definately go to Esperos and have their lamb kleftiko. Its one of the best meals we had there and they have a lovely roof garden where you can sit and look out at the view. Very romantic.

The pool itself at the Marni was gorgeous. It cooled you down in the blistering heat and it was spotless. We never had to fight for sunbeds and we sometimes didn't go down there until 11 o clock. There were two other pools but we stayed by the big one because it was next to our apartment.

Our room was quite nice, basic but thats all we needed. The only moan I have is the shower curtain. The shower is one of those that fits onto the taps and the curtain does not go all the way to the floor so the room ends up getting soaked. But they do give you a broom to sweep the water back into the shower!!!!!

We went down to Hersonissos a few times. the walk there was nice. it took around 15 mins downhill. But the walk back up is not so nice. Get a taxi!!!! Hersonissos in itself is great!! Great nighlife and loads of shops.

Overall we had a fab holiday and would definately go back to the Marni Village. While we were there we met loads of people who on their 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and even 6th visit to the marni!!!

Great Staff, great facilities and great location!!!

  • Liked — Staff, pool and location
  • Disliked — The Shower!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

I traveled with my girlfriend & stay in Marni Village for 4 days, which was a total disaster. We were given an one room apartment which said to be an upgraded from the studio that’d been reserved. Yet, the “UPGRADED” room has no TV and there were stink from bed sheet to shower curtain; plus a broken trash can. Not to mention the numerous spiders & mosquito life or dead.
When we asked to change our room, the front desk manager simply said the hotel was full and couldn’t do anything. Not even a refund so that we can change to a better hotel. Don’t try this hotel! It is the biggest regret in my trip!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleaniness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marni Village

Address: 8 G. Seferi | Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful, quiet and elevated position, just 150m from the traditional, picturesque Cretan village "Koutouloufari", MARNI VILLAGE enjoys splendid panoramic view of the resort area of Hersonissos bay. A perfect place for relaxing holidays, enjoying sunshine and hospitality on the Island of Crete.The whole complex is situated in an area of approximately 24,000 square meters, among 10,000 square meters of well-kept gardens with trees, flowers and bushes. Experienced and friendly personnel will always be there for you to make your vacations more comfortable and make you feel like home.MARNI VILLAGE wishes to combine on one side, a timeless, calming, nature environment overlooking the gathering crowd in the busy area of Hersonissos, and on the other side the entertaining part of Hersonissos with its exciting nightlife, plenty sandy beaches and the old harbour (about 1km away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marni Village Hotel Chersonisos
Marni Village Hersonissos
Marni Village Hotel Hersonissos
Marni Village Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marni Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.