We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful perfect location real beach holiday x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limin Hersonissos, P.O. Box 38, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 175 hotels in Hersonissos
london Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful perfect location real beach holiday x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is very good ,staff amazing ,pools great
Take a room with shared pool or the villa AMAZING
Beach gorgeous and a minute away , beds worth 2.5 euro .
Beach man so polite and welcoming .
My only gripe is the bed was horrible and such a shame , I could feel the metal springs in my back ! This is very important we were 4 and all complained !!!!
Also sunbeds around the pool need to be replaced/ removed many were broken .
All in all very very good not far from town !
I would go back if I new I had a decent mattress to sleep on .
Also no mozzies attacking you ! Dry heat and lovely breeze allows u to relax outside
Thanks to the staff and housekeepers !!! Lovely clean room every day

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    83
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
39
97
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Flies on the bed and not aclean room, very small bath, very very noisy. No water to drink at resturant. Very bad and old design, every day same food ....no extra key and frizer inside the room does not freeze at all!!! Very very ugly hotel. Not recomented at all!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at Hersonisos Maris in July 2012.
Location -- Very good location, just outside the city, at about 15 minutes walk from the center. Just across the road from the hotel you can find a beach, quite rocky, but intimate. For a 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel, one can find a very nice public (sandy) beach, although in the afternoon it tends to get too crowded (also, the price for beds and umbrella are lower than on other beaches).
The hotel -- Is very nice, has beautiful gardens and some of the rooms are located in a very intimate environment. The hotel has standard double rooms (the ones we stayed in) and suites. The standard rooms are, first of all, very clean (the maid comes in and cleans daily, although the bed is not changed on a daily basis, but i do not consider this a problem). The furniture is basic, not luxurious, but nice enough. There is also a TV set, with only a few programs (a couple in german and french and CNN in english), but I did not watch TV, so I cannot complain about the absence of more programs. The bathroom is very very clean, and our maid changed the towels very often, and arranged them very nicely.
The suites have private pools, some of them bigger (and therefore shared with others), and some of them smaller, but individual.
The hotel has 2 pools which look very clean and nice, but I did not stay at the pool.
The restaurant and service -- The receptionist was nice enough, but we kept the interaction to minimum as we had no problems or other issues to discuss at the reception.
The restaurant is nice, but has a rather small capacity and if you want to eat outside in the evening you most certainly have to wait (on a busy evening maybe up to 15 minutes). The restaurant staff is not as helpful and nice as it could be (given the fact that this is a 4* hotel), but a great plus is the fact that some of them speak english,french and german.
The food -- Well, I personally found the breakfast to be a 2* one, rather than a 4*, mainly because there are no fresh juices, the coffee is really (but really) bad, the salami and sausages were the lowest quality, they only have feta cheese, and no real jam (only something with a strange color and probably tons of chemicals). Besides this, the omelet was really good, and there were many types of bread to choose from.
In contrast with the breakfast, the dinner was quite good, with a large variety of meat(chicken, pork, turkey, rabbit and lamb) and vegetables, and also fish and sea fruits. There were also many salads, from tzatziki and greek salad to tuna salad. At dinner you could also find soup, which was quite tasty, but the cakes, well those were unbelievably good! But with all this, I should mention that you cannot taste the real cretan food by eating solely at the hotel restaurant. You most definitely have to try eating at a greek tavern, and you have to try the fresh mediterranean fish and sea fruits.
The hotel is not a continental 4*, but given the money we payed for it we got a lot more than we expected. This is a nice location, with good food and clean rooms, and most certainly makes a great value of money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just returned (on 6th of August) from Crete. This hotel was great, sweet water pools (be careful that some hotels have salty one even in the pool !) . Excellent food with alot of variety and always fresh.

The hotel is a bit far from the main Hersonissos where all the night life is , about 15-20min walk but because of this distance you can be sure you wont be disturbed at night by the disco music or drunk people shouting at 6 AM on the street.

Across the hotel are the Hersonissos Coves wich are one of the best location around this area to go snorkel and relax on the sunbed with the sea right infront of you with alot of privacy and not so crowded like the Hersonissos city beaches.

Also because of its position you can travel very quickly to any part of the island East, West, South. You can visit the Vai beach by car in about 3 hours , Balos Lagoon in about 4 hours by car, Agios Nikolaos in about 30min , Heraklion in about 30 min.

No about the cons:

1. At dinner they are charing 3Euros/bottle of water, wich is very expensive considering that the same bottle is sold at 20m away from the hotel with 50 cents, so we had to pay about 15 Euros when we check-out. Nobody said we need to pay for the water. Was a bit strange but 15E isnt a furtune anyway.


2. There are alot of cats, of course for cat lovers it might be a paradise but when you see a cat inside the restaurant you will wonder...dont you ?

3. The Wi-Fi ...Im a project manager and i need to work almost 365 days a year , so even in vacation I need to email back and be in contact with my team. The Wi-Fi is terrible !!! You can connect only around 7 AM in the morning or late at night after 1AM, I think the reason is there are alot of guests have smartphones and laptops so everybody trys to connect to it and it gets stuck. I had to go 2 times a day on the commercial street of Hersonissos to stay at a cafe or a resturant with Wi-Fi , i have rented a car so the distance wasnt a problem or you can rent a scooter with half that price. By the way, most of them bars, restaurantes and caffeterias have free wi-fi and it works perfect !

Overall I recommend this hotel. And take this as a frendly advice: Be very careful of what hotel will you choose, hotels in Crete arent all as good as they advertise. Read very carefuly the TripAdvisor reviews, contact you the hotel manager to confirm your expectation and only after that make the booking.

Crete is wonerful so go see it !

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quiter, all rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raanana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was our first visit to Greece and we were nicely surprised. We thought it was an economy hotel, but service and installations are way above that level. Clean and well maintained, a little out of the way but perfect for those who rent a car (though parking is a problem). The staff is always polite and willing to help, and if you use one single word in Greek you will get anything you want: ευχαριστώ (EVKARISTO) Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for a week in june with friends and family. We really enjoyed the pieceful atmosphere of the area. Quiet location but not far from activity if somebody is looking for more action. The hotel provides access to one of the cleanest beaches we ve ever visited. Very helpful and friendly staff and the food quality much better than expected.
Certainly grear value for money! Would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Yam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

nice and clean hotel. food was good, nice selection. in HB you have to pay for drinks at dinner.
good locatin, only 15 min walk from beach promenade where all the restaurants and pubs.
the hotel have 2 nice pools and only 50 meters from the sea. staff is nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites

Address: Limin Hersonissos, P.O. Box 38, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#38 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hersonissos Maris Hotel Chersonisos
Maris Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Maris Hotel And Suites Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.