We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pela Maria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pela Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Pela Maria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177 El Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
1 review
“Very friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. The hotel is in centre and all places are at hand. Employees are very kind, all good words! The food choice was supernal! Greetings for barman. I recommend it certainly. See you next season :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    32
    27
    50
See reviews for
20
85
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Got sent here only for one night and i wouldn't come back.
Only thing i can say is that its a good job we were traveling all day and we were tired. we got put in a front room. Right above a club that shuts a 5am. Not the best sleep ever. Really noisy.
Had breakfast in the morning and even that was not nice.
Definatly glad was not spending 2 weeks here.
Stick to Elmi suites!

Room Tip: do not get a front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in this hotel, a package deal with all inclusive. We were very happy and pleased, room was clean, bathroom really small and a little tired, nice balcony with ocean view. The food was good and nicely prepared and served. The staff was absolutely top notch! The location could not be better, in center of the town, yet only 5 min walk to the beach. I definitely would recommend this hotel . We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pela Maria Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Sir,
We are really happy to have such a review from our guests, we would like to thank you really much for that!!!
We are looking forward to welcome you again at ''Pela Maria''.
Kind Regards,
Yhe Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

The all inc is not what I expected. I did read description but it doesn't explain it properly.from 10am till 8pm you able to have local larger and red or white wine and soft drinks tea and coffee.8pm till 10pm you can have local spirits but there's not a big selection.the all inclusive says this is cocktail hour but cocktails have to be paid for but it is a bogofB-).we was a party of 4 and we had a good laugh staff are helpful Manos was lovely very helpful.we did not eat there was not to our taste but to be fair the polish Russian and German guest seem to love it.would go again but only on a self catering basis.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pela Maria Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedingback ,if s'th annoyed you during your stay so please aceept our apologies.
We hope in the future to welcome you again at ''Pela Maria''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

On arrival:
My boyfriend and I arrived at about 11pm and were greeted by the lovely receptionist. He gave us our key and suggested we use the lift with our suitcases. The lift itself barely fit the two of us with our two suitcases (literally no room to move) so if you're going as a group of 3 or more you will need to take it in turns or use the stairs.
We left our things in our small and basic, yet clean and practical, room and freshened up. When we went back downstairs, we sat outside the front of the hotel and were given a free plate of cold meats, cheese, bread and salad each which was lovely. So it was safe to say our first impressions of the place were great.

The room:
We had a double room which consisted of two single beds pushed together to make a double, a small side table on either side of the bed, a dressing table with a tv in mirror in front of the bed, and a built in wardrobe.
The bathroom was very small, and the floor would get soaked as the shower is tiny with a curtain to pull all the way round. We didn't mind this as we'd use the shower mat provided and then hang it over the balcony when we were done.
The balcony again is very small with a small plastic table with 2 chairs.
There really isn't much space to move around in but when you book a hotel at such a low price, please don't be silly enough to think you're going to get anything more than small and basic rooms. You get what you pay for so don't give bad reviews based on the bedroom as that isn't fair at all. It may be small, but it's clean and maids visit daily and that's the main thing. Who cares if paint is chipped or there's a bit of rust?! You still have a roof over your head and everything still works!

The hotel:
The staff at this hotel really are top notch. The bar man at the bar by the main restaurant comes across as absolutely miserable and this irritated us to begin with but once you get him talking he's a great guy too. Everyone else are so friendly, polite and helpful.
Out the front of the hotel, there is a seating area that is open to the public day and night (like an outdoor restaurant). There is also a bar at the front of the hotel that gets very lively in the evening. There is a 2 for 1 offer on cocktails every night which is great. I personally love the atmosphere of a lively holiday with music playing etc so at night when it got loud I really enjoyed it. I've seen other reviews however where people have complained about being disturbed - you're on holiday stop being a bore! If you want a quiet holiday then find a quiet location! Also linked to the hotel at the front is a small shop where you can buy snacks, drinks, cosmetics, toiletries etc which is very handy.
When you walk into the hotel, straight ahead is the reception desk with some stairs leading to a pool table and computers behind it, to your right will be the twisting stairs leading to the hotel rooms and to your left will be the bar that is open to the public and a few steps leading down to the main dining area. When you go down these steps you'll find a seating area with super comfy sofas, the small bar where you can get your all inclusive drinks from (the one with the seemingly grumpy barman!), the dining area, and the pool area.

The dining area:
It gets pretty packed very quickly. You'll find that the majority of guests at this hotel are Eastern European and for some reason they always take all the fruit which is really annoying!! It is spacious enough and we were never left waiting for a table to be free. We went all inclusive and were quite disappointed by the food, but only because of the lack of variation. There is a good salad selection and a different soup served daily. There was always plain pasta (a different shape each day e.g. shells, spaghetti etc), a tomato sauce, a cheese sauce, sometimes a meat sauce. There were 2-3 meat selections such as roast chicken, beef slices in sauce, pork slices in sauce etc (the meatballs were delicious!!!!) and a fish dish. The food really was basic but there was always something to eat and we were never left hungry. For dessert there was always a selection of oranges, apples, melon, ice cream and a weird squidgey cake thing. The green ice cream was so good, tasted like white chocolate to me!
For all inclusive, you get the obvious soft drinks like coke and orange squash (never proper fruit juice! always squash!) and you get local beer and cocktails made with local spirits (the cocktails were horrible but the beer was quite nice!). Between 8pm-10pm, you are able to have drinks like vodka and coke etc as it says on their website so make the most of it!!

The pool:
We never got in the pool once. There were never sunbeds free by the time we came down and people would leave their towels on them all day long (which really annoys me!!). The beach wasn't far to walk though and we didn't want to spend all day in the hotel (what's the point?!), so we'd go to the beach and sunbathe there instead.

The area:
Pela Maria is situated on a main high street which is great. Across the road is a lovely bakery and there are plenty of gift shops, restaurants, snack/toiletry type shops all along the road. If you come out of the hotel, with your back facing the hotel (don't know how else to describe this!), turn left and keep walking for 5-10ish minutes and you'll come across a karaoke bar across the street which gets quite lively, restaurants (there was a lovely one with white seats I can't remember what it's called but you'll notice it as it looks fancier than other places) and a market which is great for gifts. If you walk a bit further you'll come across star beach - full of pools, slides, a bar, music, next to the sea. It's like a fun 'hang out' and is good for all age groups. It is free entrance but you pay for sunbeds as you would everywhere else, so we would sunbathe on the grass or sand. It makes a nice alternative to the beach. They also have parties here on certain days and entry costs something like 30-50 euros, and you can do a bungee jump type thing too (quite expensive to do I think). There is a crazy golf place next door which was fun and go karts across the road.
So that's what you'll find if you turn left. If you turn right you'll pass all the shops and restaurants and right at the end of the line of shops, there's a big supermarket. It's only about a 10 minute walk and flies by when you're taking in the area anyway. If you turn left past the supermarket, you'll find a small aquarium with snakes that you can hold and turtles and lizards. We visited this place twice as when you pay (I think 12 euro each or something) you get unlimited access for two weeks. Ask the hotel staff about this place, they know all about it. They made a funny face when we asked as they thought it would be boring but we love these kind of things. When you get to the end of the line of shops, if you turn right and follow the roads you'll find the main strip where all the bars are, loads of restaurants, the dock with all the boats etc. This is where you wanna be if you want a good night out. It's a good 20-25 minute walk but worth it! There's also loads more little gift shops, and salon type places where you can get massages, have your nails done, and have your feet eaten by those little fish (this doesn't actually work btw but it's worth it for the experience). There's also a lot of tattoo and piercing shops.
If you come out of the hotel, again with your back facing the hotel, turn left and take the first left and this leads straight to the beach. The beaches here are quite pebbly and are very small. You'll have to get a bus or something to another town to find a nice big sandy beach.

My fingers are actually starting to hurt but if anyone has any questions please feel free to contact me!

Room Tip: If you like the atmosphere, ask for a room at the front of the hotel where you can still see and hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pela Maria Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Mrs.Sofie.
We would like to thank you very much for being so kind to feedback in such a nice and positive way.
We really appreciate the fact thet you are really sincere and straight to your review.
We hope in the future to have the chance to welcome you again at ''Pela Maria''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

having read some of the reviews on this hotel we where a bit worried when we booked it but we soon found out that some must by very hard to please, when you pay watt we payed we did not expected to Ritz or Savory but watt we get was a very warm welcome from the night porter who sorted our room and keys then offed use some food as it was very late and got use two plates of cold meat and bread and butter, the next morning when we went down for our breakfast we made welcome by the manager, i must say all the staff from front off house to the ladies who cleaned our rooms where very friendly to food was much the some every day but it was very nice and lots of it the only fault i have with the food was the fresh fruit some of the quests m,ust not have fresh fruit at home as they as they take heaped up plates of it and then go back and take a lot more, some the bedrooms could do with a bit of t l c and coat of paint but all in all it/s a case of your pay money and you take your chance we would go back but i do not recommend hotels or restaurants because watt i like is not some one liking

Room Tip: try for room with pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pela Maria Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Mr.Peter,
Thank you really really much for that honest and gentle review.
Feeding back is helping us for further improoves at our service.
We hope to welcome you again at ''Pela Maria''.
Warm Regards.
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were at this hotel as a couple in early Sept 2014. On arrival late evening we thought we had hit 18-30 the hotel was teaming with noisy 20 somethings. The bar stops serving at 10 pm so the hotel quietens down after that until they filter back. We were shown to our room, after asking for a 'quiet' one. Once inside the room was like student accommodation. The hand-basin was cracked. The toilet overlapped the shower tray which was the smallest I have every come across with a gaudy shower curtain pulled around. You had to put your foot on the shower tray or ride side-saddle whilst using the toilet. Also the attachment to hold the shower spray to the wall was broken so could only be hand held. The furniture was old, sparse and tired.
But... all that said the hotel is in a reasonable location, all the staff are exceptionally friendly and very willing to help. The service we received from all staff both waiting and maid service was good. Sheets and towels were changed regularly and rooms were serviced daily. We spoke to the management who agreed to change our room asap. Our room was changed on day 5 to a refurbished room which was smaller but a better standard with newly fitted bedroom furniture and sanitary ware in tact. There seems to be a wide array of room standard as no two people we spoke to had the same room standards. Air-con cost us 70 euros for 2 weeks, and safe 20 euros.
The food is plain and samey but well cooked buffet style. The deserts were always the same some sort of blancmange or melon or ice cream. There is a lot of pushing and shoving so be prepared. The cloth that covered the bread was not changed during the 2 weeks we were there and the toasting machine was broken and not use during our stay. The dining room has the feel of a cafeteria as the furniture is very basic more like kitchen furniture.
The pool had only 18 sunbeds and 3 parasols (one of which was broken) and some sunbeds badly needed replacing but these were barely used as the pool is in the shade from the hotel building for a good part the day. Most guests, including us, seemed to use the very nice beach(s) within easy walking distance 2.5 euros for a sunbed and/or umbrellas.
There's a very lively bar at the hotel playing very loud music until all patrons have left and this did disturb some guests we spoke to with rooms in close proximity.
The hotel is on a good bus route to Heraklion with the bus stop right outside the hotel. The fare is just 3 euros each way if you fancy a trip into town and well worth it.
There are also some excellent traditional Greek restaurants in the Old Hersonissos one of the highlights of our stay, but be aware the one we went to only accepted cash payment and its a short taxi ride.
Mosquitoes are around so you will need some sort of protection.
The younger element left after our first week and a more mixed age group started to filter in. I have to say had it not been for the attitude of the staff our holiday would have been pretty dire. We would not go back to this particular hotel again but may well go back to Crete.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pela Maria Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear guests,
Your feedingback is helping us to try harder and harder to improve our services.
Please accept our apologies for anything that annoyed you during your stay and we hope in the future to have the chance to welcome you again at ''Pela Maria'' under much better circumstances.
With Warm Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pela Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Maria Hotel

Address: 177 El Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pela Maria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pela Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pela Maria
Pela Maria Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pela Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.