We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel lovely and clean,, food rubbish and all inc bar rubbish had pay 4 whiskey even the local stuff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hersonissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hersonissos Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hersonissos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Antoniou Petinaki 11, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 stars 87 Reviews
Cambuslang, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hotel lovely and clean,, food rubbish and all inc bar rubbish had pay 4 whiskey even the local stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

hotel spotlessly clean staff lovely and polite and friendly,,. but food and bar rubbish 4 all inclusive

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    16
    2
    9
See reviews for
14
31
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rimnicu Vilcea
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week, in mid-september 2011.
There was: my 3 years old daughter, my mother-in-law and I. We all, with no exception, enjoyed very much the stay at this hotel.

Dimico seems to be a family business, it has no more then 60 rooms, and I saw no more then 10 employees. They were doind a great job and they were always smiling and nice, especialy Katerina (the young lady) from the front desk and Iorgos (the old "grumpy" man), he was allways smiling and joking whith my daughter. I was always smiling and asking polite questions, probably that is why we understood very vell in each ocasion, but I never saw them arguing, although they had a lot of non-english speaking tourists at the same time we were there.

The hotel is 100m from the noisy/souvenirs shops/restauranst street (Leoforos Elefheriou Venizelou) and then you have 100m more to the beach.
A. Petinaki str is very quiet, you can hear scooters or small cars but it does't bother to much, especially if you choose a room with pool&hill view, like we had, or only a hill view (very nice day and night).

You have bus stations (to Malia-Agios Nikolaos or to Heraklion) near National Bank, which is just at the corner, at the main street, you can plan your trips according to the bus schedule, which is very good, we used it a lot, we took many trips by ourselves, using the local buses. Some mornings I saw children waiting for the bus, to go to school, I loved to feel the real life of the town, to see houses, not only hotels, to talk to locals.

The room (3rd floor) was exaclly like the one from the picture they have on there web-site (http://dimicohotel.gsquare.gr/), 30-35 square meters.
It had one bed 160x200cm and the otherone 100x200cm (a little hard but confortable), simple blue furniture but more then enough, large beautiful bathroom(2,5mx2m, with bathtub), small balcony (1,5mx1m) with plastic table and chairs.

The pool vas very clean and warm, opend 8-18, we were always somewere else in that time, we dindn't used it but it was looking very nice.

Everithing was very clean, white walls in rooms and halls (no paintings or anythin!), not luxurious but good quality, everyday cleaning. The walls are a little thin but we coud sleep ok.

Restaurant had 20 tables inside and 20 on the pool side, homecooked meals with plenty of food, variated and delicious. We had only breakfast and dinner, breakfast always the same but dinner was everytime diferent, more then 10 dishes and salads, homemade deserts, fruits.

I had no internet connexion in my room, there was only at the lounge which was nearby the bar and reception, at the main floor. 15 euro the entire stay.

I cheked Dimico's web site many times before I go to the trip, and after, and I want to mention that every information and every picture I found there is true, I consider this aspect is very important, I personaly like to find what I expected.

You can find any type of shop or institution closeby, on the main street.
Everybody is very nice but not insistent, locals now about Dimico, that gave me a good impresion.

There are about 8-10 min (west) to walk and you find the beautiful harbor, 15-20 min (east) and there is an incredible oper air museum of folklore called Lychnostatis (http://www.lychnostatis.gr/site/english.html), we spent there a few ours, and even my daughter found it very beautiful and dindn't got borred.

The beach is at 2 min walk, in strait line. First time I saw it, I found it poor (like the hotel), dark and strange color (from the vulcanic stones) but in time I fell il love with both of them.
The high walls of the esplanade (2-3m) make the beach seem very narrow, only 4-5m wide, 200m long, but devided in small beaches, by cliffs.

The esplanade is beautiful, there are a lot of frendly and inviting tavernas on it, some of theme just hanging above the sea. We had lunch, every day, in a diferent one, and we loved everyone of them. On one side of the esplanade (3m wide) there are restaurant, hotels or shops (not more then 3-4 flors high) on the other side there are the tavernas devided by stairs that go down to the beach.

You can't find two beaches the same, one is with big or small stones, another one with sand, everyone has a diferent beautiful color when you go close, and the sea ... you cannot find enough colors to describe the clear view, you can see stones even if they are 5m bellow.

A wide sandy and beautiful beach is in Malia (5-6km), very easy to get there by bus.
The most beautiful beach I saw, in this part of the island, is in Elounda, and a wonderful half an hour trip to Agios Nikolaos (by local bus), wich a definetly recomend to visit, breathtaking landskapes, change the bus, then another 10km to Elounda.

For more informations and pictures, I wrote an 7 chapters review of our trip to Crete Island, you can find them on a "TripAdvisor's little broder" from my contry (http://amfostacolo.ro/grecia-pareri,7/hersonissos,127,3666/dimico-hotel,10330/impresii-sejur-si-fotografii-vacanta__24927.htm), I hope google translate will help you, and I hope you will find the informations useful.

Thank you for reading!

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are quieter, use the local buses and take trips, enjoy the island, don't ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Me and my boyfriend where nicely impressed about the hotel standard because it's just a 3stars hotel, so we didn;t expect much when we went there. But it was very clean, each day when we got back to the room we found it clean. The food was very good and the staff really nice and sociable. The old guy at the reception a bit grumpy (but that was his charm:))!
Also what we loved about this hotel that it is Central so we didn't get bored at all we had everything close to us the beach, the clubs , restaurants , shops , gift shops the harbor . Other friend found rooms in other hotels away from the central area and got bored like hell coz the only had one super market and the beach nothing else to do there. The thing that was a bit inconvenient that at night the neighbors from a cross the street can get a bit laud , so getting some ear plugs isn't that bad ;). Other wise it Was a great experience!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

small quiet hotel in city center and very near from beach. Excellent food and really friendly hotel personal...
Ideal for Single, families or married people.
As it is a hot region, I would like to recommand to use air condition in the room rather than to let windows all the night open (some mosquitos seem to like the share the bedroom with the guest).
Unfortunately no French or German programs on TV and no fresh fruit juices at breakfast BUT who needs TV during summer holidays?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I bought 7-days stay at this hotel as a part of package just because it was last minute deal and cost less then return air ticket and still I couldn't expect worse. Beds in the room are built in form the same kind of material as walls are? don't know exact neme in English. The whole look like in army. I spent only one night there and then we travelled around the island and styed at different hotels. Incredibly noisy? you can hear every step in halls and coridors, feels like sleeping in the middle of the street. Moreover even taking into account the fact I hadn't used hotel facilities for the whole 6 prepaid days I was charged extra 20 eurus because was late and checked out at 3 pm instead of noon. The receptionist Caterina and the general manager, very arrogant guy (whose name I haven't bothered to memorise) were both extremely rude, rising their voices in hysterical when I mentioned that this extra charge was neiyher fair or reasonable for storing my suitcase in such a place for 3 hours. My conclusion - the owner of the hotel obviosly does not care at all hoping just for unlucky clients who are booked in this hotel with trvel agency and anyway will not ever be back

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We're not very choosy so we liked Dimico. It was clean, close to the sea and bus stop, and supermarket. Reception girls was so friendly to us. And especially food was really good. We haven't expected that the hotel food will be enough and so tasty, both breakfast and dinner
Of course it wasn't "all inclusive", but for us it was cool - nice place to have a rest after all day walking.
The street was noisy, but it isn't the hotel's fault. Just get ear plugs with you, or be so tired of swimming and walking for good sleep)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

The accom was terrible. Moved rooms twice and couldn't be bothered moving the third time. the rooms were of a terrible standard. slept on a concrete base. no air con, fan not worth a damn. had to leave doors open on balcony which led to noise from street keeping us awake at night. Nothing seemed to work in the room. Breakfast not great either. Pool didn't get much sunshine on it
during the day. Rep was a disaster. Just don't go there.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hersonissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hersonissos Hotel

Address: Antoniou Petinaki 11, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hersonissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, Central Hersonissos Hotel is just a few meters away from the social and shopping life of the city, and only 300 meters away from the nearest sandy beach. Standing in a quiet neighborhood, Central Hersonissos Hotel's guests can find a variety of bars and restaurants in 400 meters and walk at the picturesque Hersonissos port road in only 700 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Central Hersonissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hersonissos Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hersonissos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.