We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Village Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Village Apartments to your Saves list
Diamond Village Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Piskopiano, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
luton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After reading all the good reviews we were a little disappointed with our room when we got there. We were self catering. The room itself was tired and could have done with a good clean. There were ants in the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen only had a plug in hob to cook with and there was no tea towels or washing up liquid, although there was a fridge, crockery and cutlery.

The bathroom was on the small side with only a small shower and hot water wasn't always available. While the towels and sheets were changed every couple of days they were often stained or threadbare.

The bedroom was on a mezzanine floor with some fairly steep wooden stairs. Worryingly there was only a really low wall to stop you falling to the floor below. Not the best if you need the loo in the middle of the night or have children.

On the plus side, the pool was lovely and the staff welcoming and always had time for a chat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Diamond Village Apartments for a week on the lovely Greek Island of Crete. In the peak of summer, it was great to relax by the pool, which was always clean and inviting.

The room was very average, and in need of an update. The bed was not the most comfortable, it was a basic room and unfortunately not very sound proof if you have neighbours who like to party til all hours of the morning.

All members of staff were ever so friendly and always made an effort to have a chat and make guests feel welcome. On our first night there, a Cretan barbecue was held, which for 15 Euro per person included sausages, chicken and a variety of salad. The highlight was the traditional Cretan dancing which was a lot of fun and a good way to become acquainted with other guests.

The apartments are ideally located between the quaint village of Piskipiano and the bustling town of Hersonissos; so you really are exposed to the best of both worlds.

My main qualm was with the breakfast. We opted for the bed and breakfast option, which I wouldn't recommend. The first few mornings we were served coffee or tea and cold toast with very poor quality cheese and ham. Later in the week, we asked for an English breakfast which was better (not by much), but reluctantly served, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchesrer
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

very nice people, nice poo,l clean rooms, very quiet great nights sleep but not far from all the action shops bars etc nothing to much trouble great views of mountains great if you like watching wild life birds of prey are all around

Room Tip: all good if needed ask for ground floor i did as wife not good on stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just like to thank lisa, angela and costas for the welcoming and friendly stay at the apartments. We hired a quad for few days and went small trips to see knossos and sandy beaches. The apartments where clean and have fridge and cooker to allow you the choice of eating in for lunch/dinner. Bar remained open in the evenings for a catch up with others on holiday. Meet some fab people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Costas, get a sign pointing you to reception as if you haven't been before, its confusing knowing where to check in. Planning to return next year to relax at the pool and tour more of the island. I have never came across such a welcoming and helpfull team. Big thumbs up.

Babs

Room Tip: Room 304 for good sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and have just returned from a week's stay at diamond village. Kostas and Lisa greeted us when we eventually found reception/ bar on our late arrival. We were quickly shown to our room. The room was basic although some things needed to be addressed..Shower cubicle wouldn't close. Drain smelt. No light working over the bedroom mirror. No toaster. Not a particularly good view from our balcony (seaview was requested).
Unfortunately we experienced numerous occasions of no hot water for showering and washing up. We found out its on a timer for a few hours twice a day. So get in quick otherwise loose out on the hot water. Don't bother with the breakfast. Take or buy a toaster instead. The pool was clean with enough sun loungers and umbrellas.
The people we met on holiday made this an enjoyable and memorable holiday. But we will say Lisa and the team are always approachable and friendly. Would go back?... Probably not. More places to see and better hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned for 10 nights at the Diamond village apartments. Room was excellent. there is a hob and a kettle and basic utensils. Dont forget your teatowel and cloth. a toaster would have been nice but I mastered the art of cheese toasties in the frying pan.
Modern bathroom- no hair dryer but i always take my own. plenty of space for clothes and lovely dressing area. we where in room 207 and had a lovely view from our balcony and got the last of the days sun and was lovely for breakfast in a morning. Everybody at diamond viallage was very friendly and wlecoming. Had a great 10 days. Pool was very clean and lovely and relaxing. Great to have a bar by the pool. Rooms where always cleaned well and towels and bedding changed every other day which was more than adequate.
The hotel is up a hill which did become a little tedious in the hot weather and after a good meal on a night and not idea is you have any walkign difficulties. However it is only 7 euro for a taxi if you cannot manage it. The walk down offers some lovely views though.

Hersonissos was lively but we hired a quad bike and went and explored a few of the smaller villages- great beaches at gournes, hanokin hani and Kato Gouves. we also used the public transport to vist Spinalonga which was a great day out. the bus was really easy to use, you catch it from just outside the SPAR, very good value for money and the bus driver really friendly in helping you to find where you want to go. there are loads of restaurants on the sea front we really enjoyed aphrodite. the second other place that i will recomend is versuvio it is inbetween the main road and the sea front.

had a fantastic time, fantastic weather, fantastic people and apartments and the cutest puppies ever! We will be back to explore more of cretes delights as i feel we only scratched the surface.

thank you for a great time
stacey and joe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Diamond Village apartments. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Good value for money, would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice quiet place to stay but also if you fancy to party the busy nightlife of Hersonissos is only 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Village Apartments

Address: Piskopiano, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Village is an attractive apartment complex in a peaceful village on the outskirts of popular Hersonissos. It offers a wide range of self-catering accommodation to cater to all groups, with several good facilities including a bar and restaurant for a night off from cooking.The complex is centred on the pleasant outdoor pool area, with a good-sized swimming pool surrounded with a terrace for relaxing and sunbathing. Beside it is the outdoor seating area of the bar/restaurant, shaded with thatched parasols with views across the gardens and mountains, making it a wonderful place to relax with a drink during the day. The bar/restaurant has plenty of cosy indoor space to retreat to in the evenings.At Diamond Village you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities like a ticket service, a tour desk and luggage storage are offered. Activities that can be enjoyed in the surroundings include golfing and cycling. The property offers free parking. If you feel like visiting the surroundings, check out The Crete Golf Club (3.6 km).Heraklion International Airport is located 19 km from the accommodation.We are sure that on Diamond Village we can offer you high quality services and make your holiday at Hersonissos a different part in your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Diamond Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Village Apartments Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.