We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive looking hotel, just a few downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Belvedere to your Saves list
Imperial Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressive looking hotel, just a few downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here at the end of June/start of July in a party of 4. The outside of the hotel and the reception areas look really impressive. The rooms however are a mixed bag. My girlfriend and myself were allocated a very nice room with a great sea view and were very happy, the other couple that we were with had to change rooms twice as their allocated rooms were at the very bottom on the hotel and were not good. The decoration was old and shabby and the air conditioning did not work. However the hotel staff were very helpful however and would not rest until they were satisfied.

The pool areas were great, we particularly loved the top pool with wooden sunbeds and close to the bar! All the drinks seemed to be great quality, the beer especially was excellent, we have been on many all inclusive holidays in the past and have found the beer to be watered down, but that was not the case here.

The food was good and was plentiful, however after around 4 days it started to get a little boring, which you would expect, but again you could not knock the quality of the food or the service.

During our stay, there didn't seem to be many British people staying in the hotel as we believe it was out of the school season, there were large groups of mainly Russians and Germans. This may be different however during the school holidays.

Hersonissos is quite a walk from the hotel. The main problem being that on the way back you have to climb a large hill. Either in the scorching heat of the day or after you have had one too many in the town this can be tiring. A taxi however is only 7 euros so its pretty cheap!
Koutouloufari is a small village to the rear of the hotel and was only around a 5 minute walk away. There are a few bars and some great restaurants there, so its well worth the visit.

All in all, we would return to Hersonissos, but i don't think we would return to The Imperial, it was a very nice hotel, but for the money we paid i think that there are better hotels for price.

Room Tip: You can take the key ring off carefully and leave it in the slot in the room to have air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    157
    79
    21
    14
See reviews for
151
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wow is all I can say...
Amazing hotel........
Amazing pools.......
Food was lush.......
Lots of stairs but helped work off those extra calories eaten with all the fab food around!!!! ;)

I wouldn't fault my holiday at all the kids and family enjoyed themselves ;) x
Beautiful place would defo go back ;)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Honest review, warts and all! I have to write this review because if you don't go you will kick yourselves!
Transfer was 45-60 minutes ish, but we arrived in the afternoon so the drop offs were all around Hersonissos so was lovely having a little tour before we arrived. We drove through a large arch and up (I have to say) a very steep hill to two hotels at the top. We were in the Imperial Belvedere which is the one with the arches!We received a lovely welcome by the reception staff and a porter took our cases to our room. The reception is brilliant, they are so friendly and helpful.
Our room was in 600's over what they call the garden end, so away from pools slightly. Had a fab room, large, double bed, bed setee tv etc. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and shaver socket. Bed was firm but nice. Beds made up everyday with clean towels, housekeeping were also excellent. Balcony with clothes airer thingy, table and chairs with amazing view. There was no kettle in our room with the usual tea making things, which was not a problem but i know some people like that.
Bear with me, this is a large review there is so much to tell you! The complex is on levels, with it being on such a steep hill there are different things on the levels! If you start ground up, there is pitch and put and a childrens covered large playground. Come up slightly to a bar, childrens fun and splash pools, lots of sunbeds, shops, ice cream, kids club, small arcade, and a stand for the Pirate Ship Trip (which is a must btw!).
Come up another level to an olympic sized swimming pool! Yes a full size for serious swimming! Another pool bar, lots of sunbeds, shops, mini arcade, a 3D I3DU model shop(which you have to get a model done even if its just your head as these are amazing)! This is also the level you get snacks from most of the day, cheese/ham toasties, pizzas, drinks, ice cream and chips etc. Also coffee and cake in the afternoon. There is no scrimping on the food its on all day as much as you want and that goes for the kids drinks and ice creams, no allowances, its ace! This level is also where the entertainment happens in the evening from the entertainment/kids club team. Although we didn't join in their activities, volleyball/football/archery/zumba etc etc etc it was not for want of their trying! For those inclined it is a well organised activity group, best I have seen for a long time! They run a show nearly every night, Moulin Rouge/Greece etc which are entertaining and fun! This is also the level for the restaurant if you are a Royal Belvedere guest. You can use all the facilities at both hotels (it all feels like one hotel) except the restaurants, Royal use the Royal and Imerial use Imperial etc. Although once during your stay you can have an Italian meal which is outside on this level (you just book at the Reception), I have to say this was not our favourite this is a little 'wart', the food was overun with wasps (not the hotels fault and they tried their best but when you try and eat and they are around you it was not fun! I have to say that was the only evening though I noticed the wasps their so maybe an unlucky evening. Its a buffet help yourself, pizza, starters and other stuff and drinks as usual. Also here on a Wednesday evening you can pay a little extra and book onto a Greek evening, traditional greek bbq food, self serve with a show of greek dancing afterwards.
Come up another level! Yes its like an onion it just keeps coming! This level was our favourite, being a couple. Wooden sun loungers with comfy seat pads, umbrellas and wooden chairs around the pool. A large bar 'blue bar' where you can sit and chill, watch the footy etc etc. Lots of seating inside or you can sit around the pool on the loungers which a lot of people did at night, no hassle just a lovely chill under the stars with amazing views! There are some shops on this level too, clothes, gifts and mini market etc. Pool tables (lots) and few games machines for the children. Internet room also, although we pretty much managed to get free wifi all over the hotel grounds which is a definite bonus (especially for children/young people with phones, i pads etc etc). There is an indoor pool which is only open during the winter periods but quite a good little gym too. Oh, you can also sit upstairs on a veranda over the pool and chill, that's nice too.
I have probably forgot some stuff cause there is too much to mention. Food, there is lots of choice although a little repetitive, but you can always find something and don't your meals at home get repetitive too?! If you can't find something to eat there is a problem! Soup and breads, salads, lots of food on the hot plated area and they are always cooking something on the side stands, omelets, spag bol or meats etc.
The hill... the entrance to the hotel is steep, there's no two ways about it. There is a little shuttle that does run up and down if you are unable to do the walk, check reception for times etc. What some people forget to mention though is that the path down is a proper lovely cobbled walkway prettily lit in the evenings and on the way down/up you can see tortoises/goats/birds and donkeys in their pens and plenty of benches along the way to stop and take a breather so its not all bad!
We loved this complex cannot rate it highly enough. Fab for couples/families etc, felt completely at home here.

Room Tip: Garden room was exellent for us, nice quiet fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Date Stayed: 31/08/13 - 08/09/13
Traveled with: First Choice all inclusive
People: me (21yrs old) Girlfriend (20yrs old)
Occasion: Celebrating new job
Room: Standard
Airport Transfer Arriving: 45 mins (i think)
Weather: High 20's everyday.

We has an awesome break. Rooms aren't that great but we really didn't spend much time there. We went to Spinalonga which was an awesome day with first choice. They take you to Elounda which is about 1 hour and a half but there's plenty to see and its worth it when you get there. You get on a boat and go to the island, you get a guided tour for about 30mins and then you get another 30mins to look around yourself. Then you get back on the boat and go to a hidden beach and have a BBQ which was just awesome. Jumping off the boat into crystal clear water. Then you come back to Elounda where you get 30mins or so to yourself. Elounda is a really nice town. Pools are fine but i think they are salt water... wasn't a big deal for us. Food was fine always plenty to choose from along with fresh meat and pasta cooked in front of you. We did go up into the villages in the hills which is a short walk behind the hotel and i would definitely recommend as the food there was awesome. I cant remember the ones we ate in but the food was awesome and looked awesome in all of them. Its quite cheap too :) Star beach at the bottom of the hill was good and lively. The beach there is nice too! We played mini golf a few nights which is at the bottom of the infamous hill which leads up to the hotel. Yes it is quite tiring :P but the views from the hotel and awesome. Its a decent hotel but im glad we went for 1 week not 2.

Any questions? Inbox me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and I can honestly say that we had a lovely time!
The rooms are clean and although initially we had an issue with the air-con, it was promptly rectified.
Food wise... There is something for everyone, some days were better than others! The Greek night is extra, but a must!!
The hotel itself is around a 10 minute walk from the local beaches and 7 minute drive away from Malia! Behind the hotel is a gorgeous little town with lovely restaurants.. The Alchemist is spot on!!
You can eat and drink at the Belvedere right up until you leave and they give you a room for showers etc when you leave.
The food shop at the hotel is lovely, very reasonable. But the owners of the clothes shop are somewhat annoying, the way they pester you for a sale. The clothing is expensive and market looking.
All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

What a great place.when we arrived at half past midnight we were welcomed by 3 huge arches which was most impressive at night all lit up.we entered the hotel and was welcomed by the receptionist who asked us to leave our cases at the reception after getting our all inclusive bands and if we liked were told that if we were hungry there was food down stairs for late arrivals,oh and please enjoy our bar which is open till 1 am.
A short walk down a very nice staircase (we could have taken the lift but,hay we were on holiday) there at the bottom was the pool bar with soft L E D lighting which looked like looking at stares.as soon as we sat down one of the bar staff greeted us and asked if we would like a drink.he turned out to be a guy called Blendie.
After a drink we wondered back up stairs and was taken to our room.We could not believe how nice it was,there was air conditioning units in both rooms which was very welcome.the next morning we found our way the the restaurant which was very well staffed and asked if we had just arrived.we replyed yes an was then instructed what to do.we thanked him and got the reply of your welcome .the food was nice and there was a large choice.We recomend using the freshly prepared bar as they cook it in front of you and do fantastic omelettes.
The main building has a nice amount of shops.not too many.there is a nice all glass lift that takes you to all levels.this is a large hotel but don't let that put you off.the various room are set out in levels as the hotel is built on slopes.At first we were not to sure about all the steps to get you to the different levels but even I got used to these and buy the end of our stay actually felt better for it.
With the hotel next door there is a huge amout of children's pools well layed out with variouse types of water jets that the children play with.this area was always popular with families.The main pools are very deep ,infact one I think is 4.2 meters deep so unless your children can swim keep a good eye on them.All the pools are saltwater and we found that this actually helped us get a tan after having a dip in the pool.
During the day time there are events planed for children and adults alike and in the evening they get the children to take part in shows.We would recomend the Greek evening which is a special event which is layed on of a Wednesday night and cost 18€.this we thought was well worth it an my daughter and I took part with the entertainers.(we were up doing Greek dancing).
Down at the entrance there is a security lodge at the barrier but this only seemed for keeping out non-reserdents.directly outside tothe left is a small peraid of shops which we used a lot as the prices were very good,so if you require regular thing,including bottles of water this is the place to go.
The other side of the road is star beach which is only a short walk.Dont be put of about the comments about a long trek,it's not and for my 60 year old legs was easy.On this side of the road is a booking point for the little train that takes you on excursions .This is not expensive and is well worth the €.We took the half day tour that goes up into the mountains and is well worth it.Lunch time you stop at a very nice taverna for lunch which did not cost a lot to have a meal.
If you get the chance book the tour that takes you to the last leper coloney.(no lepers ther now.lol).to enter this place which is on an island cost 2€ but this only goes towards the rebuild and up keep?After this you go via boat again to a cove where you can swim if you like while the inclusive bar b q is cooked by the captain and crew.
If you are the younger age a short walk or cab to hersonissos will give you all the night life you want.
If you decide to stay there,there are a lot of so called 4star hotels which I my opinion don't come anywhere near this place.It was kept very clean.We loved all the staff who were very helpfull to us. Some people we know have said about how they were rude an not helpfull but we all fill this is down to the inderviduals attitude.Talk to them how you would like to be spoken to.
Went at the imperials pool bar pleases say hi to Maria at lunch time and a big high to nickos and Blendie the evening barmen as they spoilt us rotten.
From Barry,wendy ,and Tracy.
P.s. Would we go back there,that's simple ,a BIG YES.

Room Tip: Try to get the lower family rooms as this would help young children sleep at night due to the fact t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We are leaving this hotel tomorrow, it is a nice hotel with good facilities, and very clean. Two things let this hotel down badly, firstly the food which is just about passable, and after a week here and eating out to and really looking forward to a decent meal, secondly and more important in temp this week topping 110, the air con everywhere is non existant, while the facilites for it are in the rooms, no cold air comes out, we spoke to reception, who sent someone to our room, that made no difference, and chatting around the pool everybody said the same, we came to think it is actually switched off, everyone was suffering, and in this heat is totally unacceptable, would definately not come back, as at night too hot to sleep, if you left doors open eaten alive by mozzies.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Belvedere

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Belvedere Hotel Chersonisos
Imperial Belvedere Hersonissos
Imperial Belvedere Hotel Hersonissos
Imperial Belvedere Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.