We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean, friendly hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Belvedere to your Saves list
Imperial Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, clean, friendly hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visted in July 2013 for 10 days. Lots to do in this big complex. 7 swimming pools to choose from, one of the kid's pools has slides etc. 3 play parks, crazy golf and all pool bars have pool tables, air hockey etc around them.
I have read that the germans were reserving the sunbeds and you had to get up 6.00 to get one..I would like to point out that it was not all the germans and getting up at 6 is a slight exaggration, there were sunbeds free at 8.00 especially by the big pools.
There were plenty of activities to do throughout the day for adults and kids, archery, decorating t-shirts, yoga, football, water polo etc.

Evening entertainment was very good, kids disco followed by a themed show. All the animation guys were lovely as well as all the staff. The reception people were also very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated on a hill but there is a shuttle bus that goes up and down. The beach, shops and resturants are all at the bottom of the hill.

The food was good but not a great deal of choice if you don't eat fish or cheese like me but don't be put of by this as you certainly don't go hungry. We went on a few excursions (definitely recommend Spinalonga Island) and the hotel done us a packed lunch, which was lovely.

All in all a great hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    161
    80
    21
    14
See reviews for
156
111
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well run hotel, clean, maybe not 4 star but a good 3, plenty of choice of food, not quite enough sunbeds and the Germans were up early to reserve !! Staff all pleasant enough, paying for sunbed covers seemed odd for an all inclusive deal, not much beach nearby, only very busy small coves. overall nice holiday had there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visited July/August 2013 for a weeks holiday with my husband & children aged 20, 18 & 11 & really impressed with all aspects. The hotel is obviously very well maintained - they close May-October each year & obviously ensure that it is upgraded/redecorated etc in that time. All areas of the hotel were extremely clean - bedrooms, bathrooms, pools, eating areas etc. Some guests do leave a bit of a mess/litter around the pools, but the cleaning staff do an excellent job in clearing up each morning & it always looked pristine next morning, in fact, by the time you are back out of your room for dinner & drinks.
Staff here are lovely - friendly & helpful, without being 'in your face'. They all work so hard, I noticed some barmen there from 10am until the bar closed at 1am.
There was a maid service each day, and towels were replaced daily too.

This was our first all-inclusive holiday, in fact , the first time we have booked a package holiday at all, as we have always preferred to book our flights/accommodation independently.
We prepared ourselves, thinking that the one thing we would most likely be disappointed with would be the food - canteen-style/self-serve - but we needn't have worried. The food was actually much better than expected. There was great choice & unless you are the fussiest of eaters there is plenty of options for all. Admittedly, some dishes/foods just aren't ideal to be kept hot after cooking, but there are so many alternatives it wasn't an issue with us.
There is always a chef or two cooking selected fresh food to order which is great. I could have lived on the numerous salad options at dinner, delicious! My only disappointment was a lack of fish. There was fish available at every meal, but as a fish lover I would have liked to see more, but that's an individual preference, I was still more than happy with the variety of food available, and hot food was certainly kept hot.
We also never experienced any issues with other guests pushing in queues in the restaurant, as previous reviewers have noted. Yes, it's a self-serve canteen style restaurant ... yes, it does get very busy ... yes, it's hardly quiet to dine there .... what do you expect when it's all inclusive?? Sometimes people did let their little children race round inside the restaurant a little, which was a bit of a pain, as so many people are walking around with platefuls of food & drinks, but we never noticed anyone pushing in queues etc, it was all very civilised on the whole.
There was a whole variety of nationalities staying here, but why would you want to travel abroad only to see other Brits??
The resort is built on a hillside - it's a beautiful area, with stunning hills as a backdrop - very picturesque. This does mean that there are many steps/inclines to negotiate getting around the site - which is a massive area. We were aware of this from previous reviews & had no issues with it, but if you are elderly/have difficulty walking or have very young children or babies it may not be ideal for you.
The swimming pools are all very clean & well maintained. The plastic sunbeds are comfy enough without paying for a cushion each day - we never had one. Although there is a bit of a rush in the morning reserving sunbeds, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the pools themselves were never crowded full. I suspect some people put their towels on their sunbeds in the morning as in insurance, as they seemed to be unused, which is a bit sly. If you reserve a sunbed, use it! We always managed to get sunbeds though, we took a shine to the Imperial Pool so used that one daily.
We did visit the beach, (Star Beach resort) which we walked to (about 10 minutes). There is a bit of a nightmare road to cross, but there is a free shuttle bus there that the Hotel provides. It only ran 3 times a day though, so we preferred to walk.
All in all, we had a lovely,hot, relaxing holiday here. Much better than I anticipated, and being my first visit to Crete, I'm now keen to go back again, maybe out of season when it's cooler, to explore the island a little.
Well recommended Hotel & resort, we loved it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were there August 2012 - had a great time with our 2 year old child. we had a great experience - the staff was great. food - above average - but not great.
The total experience was good.
We would definitely go back.
The only draw back is that the beach is 10 minutes walk (or shuttle 3 times a day).
The hotel is huge - you walk around all day (-;

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 14 night stay, plenty for the kids to do , pools great,food superb even after two weeks,service was fine.Only negative was the poor evening entertainment but other than that faultless!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed first two weeks in July first impressions of hotel were good we were took to our room by a bell boy down several corridors quite a long way dragging cases with two kids. We had a family room which i would recommend and we did find a shortcut to all amenities there is alot of steps though. It clearly states that your not allowed to save sunbeds well do i had to get up every morning at 6.30am to get one because the first two days we slept in and couldnt get a bed which i found annoying. The two weeks we were there ive got to say there didnt seem many english staying at the hotel it was mainly german and russian and we did find some quite rude especially at meal times in the restaurant. Food was ok abit repetitive the second week . Overall though had a good family holiday but there is things that could be improved.

Room Tip: would recommend a family room in the 400 s no noise and close to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was amazing, me and my family couldn't of wished for a better time! We had great fun using all inclusive for our first time, the staff were really polite and helpful! The access to the beach and the hotel across the road (Star beach) was very easy! We stayed there between July to august and could not complain about the weather! The younger ones found it easier to make friends as it was jam packed with families of all ages! The rooms were clean and air conditioned, the cleaners made sure our room was very clean and for the plunger ones made there pyjamas into fun shapes and characters which they absolutely loved! We have already booked to hopefully to go back there soon! The entertainment topped it all off! It was funny and included guests of all ages! With 5 pools you can never get bored! What a amazing hotel! Recommended to all!:D

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hotel so you don't get people walking past you late at night and wakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Belvedere

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Imperial Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Belvedere Hotel Chersonisos
Imperial Belvedere Hersonissos
Imperial Belvedere Hotel Hersonissos
Imperial Belvedere Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.