We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excelent animation team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Nana Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 186 Hotels in Hersonissos
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excelent animation team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel in august. It is a good hotel, not 5 star, let' s say it is 4 star hotel with it's own beach, one part sandy one bigger part rocky beach, the water temperature was not very high, so my recommandation is especially for persons, who don't like warm see. We was with our 5 year old child, who loved the children's pool, it is special pool, what you can' t see very frecvently. The hotel is located in a very big place, so I can warmly recommend to see the hotel map before choose your room. The room number 380 and round are near the sandy beach and Thalassa restaurant, next to a freshwater pool, but there are many pools one of them fillt with seawater others with freshwater. The food was good, not diversified enough, but people don't go to the sea to eat. There are many restaurants in the center of chersonissos, you can call a taxi this year was 7 euro to take to the city center from the hotel. Animation team was the best of ever, there was something to do for everyone, everyday. There is a car hire service next to the reception, the personal was very helpful if someone want's to visit the island they can help a lot sayng where to go, what to see.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are please to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and especially, that your child had a lot of fun in the children's pool and that you liked the animation. With pleasure we will forward your compliments to our team as an additional motivation.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    220
    89
    15
    7
See reviews for
437
311
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great experience. Rooms were good. Families should book through First Choice as Thomson don't sell the proper family rooms. Our 'twin' however came with a double and 2 singles and was fine. Resort is great. Sunbeds were impossible to get around the main pool as they were all 'reserved' by towels but there was always space to be found not far away. The food was very good quality. Though Vegetarian choices were sometimes limited there was always plenty of lovely fresh greek salad and suchlike. The staff were all excellent. We would certainly return. Do the diving, great for a taster!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying with us in Nana Beach. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highl appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see that you also felt this.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

An excellent holiday. We stayed for 1 week between 22 August 2013 and 29 August 2013. Two adults and 2 children (aged 9 and 5).

We were given a family suite which had a nice double bed (with a great quality mattress!!) and there were 3 single beds. A Flat screen TV which my husband and son soon discovered had Sky Sports...... The balcony was a very nice size with a pull out rack to hang your wet swimming stuff on. The bathroon was nice and clean with a shower which had anti slip matting. You can have clean towels everyday if you want.

When we arrived we were given 4 cards to exchange for pool / beach towels. You can change your towels everyday or probably more if you really wanted to! This was fantastic as it meant we weren't constantly having to dry out soaking wet towels.

Plenty of choice in the buffet restaurants with pancakes, fried eggs and ommlettes being made up to order at breakfast time. In the evening plenty of choice again with freshly carved meats, kebabs etc. Many snacks / meals available throughout the 'village' during the day at various restuarants/bars.

The ice cream was delicious - help yourself to banana, chocolate, strawberry or vanilla - a cone or a cup!

Fizzy drinks, wine and beer - all help yourself when you want.

We tried the Greek a la carte restaurant which was lovely, we also tried the fish a la carte this was ok but a little disapointing that it was really just fish. The 2 ladies working in the fish restaurant were quite amazing - sharing a glass or raki (or 3) with every client - amazing they were still able to stand never mind cook!

The kids had a great time in the pools. We didnt manage to get a sunbed around the main pool, however, there were always plenty of sunbeds around the kids splashpark and the Kalypso pool.

Entertainment team were great - lots of shows enjoyed all enjoyed in the Ampitheatre - make sure you help yourself to one of the carpet tiles on the way in to avoid getting a numb bum!

This is a great hotel - we didnt experience any badly behaved children or adults. No riff raff here!

I have been to many hotels over the years and a lot of them could learn a great deal from the service and quality of this hotel.

The only thing that could have made this hotel any better would have been a couple of water slides!

Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Marian,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's nice to see that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and liked everything in Nana Beach. Your big compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than the best to our smaller and bigger guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Nana Beach for 2 weeks in August after being recommended by my brother. We were not disappointed. The hotel staff noted my emails prior to our visit and on arrival they referred to my request and gave me two choices of hotel rooms...we asked to see them first, we were taken on a 'buggy' along to them both & we decided on a ground floor (825) - a ground floor, newly refurbished room and facing the sea.
We found the staff extremely friendly and curtious (however, not so much in the Italian restaurant!) :-/
Our rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh white towels and beds made. The hotel grounds were beautifully clean and had pretty flowers, trees, shrubs etc. very pretty in all.
The sunbeds were plentiful, little difficult to get 4-6 beds together on occasions (as my brother and wife/child joined us for 2nd week) - however, we managed to get together later on in the day if there was a problem. If you just want a couple of sunbeds together then there will never be a problem finding them in the many poolsides or beach!
Beach was lovely & clean with water sports on offer.
The animation team were very friendly and enthusiastic throughout the day. Not that I joined in many 'sports' - apart from aqua...which wasn't very energetic and darts! (Lol) my husband and brother did football which they enjoyed!!
The entertainment was dreadful - very poor - not that they didn't try but even my 8yr old questioned why the performers were wearing hoodies during a Grease or Night Fever performance. Lots if people looked like they were enjoying though, fair play to them if they enjoy that sort of stuff. We preferred having a cocktail by the main pool bar - overlooking the sea...and grabbing a chair before the rush after the performance!
Drinks were plentiful & cocktails - named brands were used too. Food was great, lots on offer...good quality, clean and presentable. Our favourite restaurant was the one overlooking the beach. The guy who greets you morning and night was very friendly and shook all our hands including my 8 & 6 yr old, which I liked - with a cheery 'Kali mera!' Or 'Kali Spera!' (Excuse the spelling! ) the only one we didn't like was the Italian restaurant, very very basic food...got our meals wrong and wasn't afraid to show their annoyance when we pointed this out! Risotto was basically a load of boiled rice & veg....the only up side was that we could sit down for a meal rather than go and get your own food!
Overall - a lovely resort, clean, sun beds plentiful, good food and lots of drinks on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Kalimera dear Sharon,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your well deserved family holidays. Thank you also for informing us about your opinion concerning the evening entertainment and please be sure that we will work to improve in this point as well.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a fantastic resort, its big but doesn’t feel cultured with people. There are lots of different spaces for different tastes. The main pool + pool bar is more a family and children area with activities, there is food there as well. The side pool and bar is also families and children but quieter. There are other pools for children or just adults and the beach with is sandy or you can find a stone (patio) section that if you want will be just yours of just big enough for a family. The food was great and you have the option to eat in the al-a-carte during your stay, but book as soon as you arrive and before the welcome brief so you get a table. I would recommended this to anyone!

Room Tip: Oh room was not over looking the sea or the pool, but it was still lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you so much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's nice to see that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Indeed, Nana Beach is a big resort, but as it's so spacious and offers so many facilities, even in main season you never feel it crowded.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After reading the positive reviews for this hotel I was extremely excited to arrive. I was not disappointed. Arriving late at night, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately our 'official' room was not ready for us so we were given an additional room for one night which we found comfortable. The following day we were taken down to our sea view room where wine and a fruit basket were waiting! wonderful surprise. The management, then phoned just before dinner to ask us to a short meeting where they continued to apologise for the room alteration at the start of the holiday and were offering different things as an apology (spa treatments etc) The care and consideration was brilliant and the following day champagne arrived in our room!

When our air conditioning played up at the start (resulting in a bad nights sleep :() they were quick to come fix it!

The hotel itself is beautifully presented and it was a pleasure to walk around. There is something for everyone.

The pools are well kept - and sunbeds are easily found! The beach is stunning and beautiful clear waters great for snorkelling! The all inclusive package really does give you the extras especially at the waterfront where pedaloes, windsurfing, canoes and 1 scuba diving lesson are all free of charge!

The meals were wonderful - especially the a la carte! Really enjoyed eating down at Thallasas at breakfast where the best pancake maker is! scrumptious!

The animation team are also fantastic. They work with the children and teenagers tirelessly all day and the activities are endless but the evening entertainment is one on its own! absolutely hilarious! The cocktail show was the funniest thing and Lion King is a definite must see!


This hotel offers something for everyone and they staff will go out of their way for you! I will return to this hotel. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and would like to say "Sorry" again for the situation upon your arrival, which unfortunately happened accidentally. Please be sure that we are doing everything to avoid a repetition of this situation, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to request two adjacent rooms for 2 adults and 2 children we were disappointed on arrival to be given one family room instead of two twin rooms, this despite having paid for the holiday some months previously. We had booked 2 rooms but were allocated one 'family' room for the first night with a change to two rooms the following day. We received no apology and after long discussions with reception were advised there were simply no other rooms available but they hoped to have two rooms for us the following day. By way of compensation we were offered a free safe which usually costs €2 per day! I found this highly insulting and by no means compensated us in any way for an already overpriced holiday.

It is unfortunate that the Reservations Manager has clearly overbooked this hotel and needs to sort this problem out.

I can see this hotel is popular, although I fail to understand why, perhaps the people that holiday here year after year have not been fortunate enough to stay in real 4 or 5 star hotels at luxurious resorts as I have.

The food was not great and at best was quite bland and most days tasted the same, the fruit juices were watered down and tasteless.

On a plus point the animation team were very energetic and the shows they put on (bar one last week which was slightly inappropriate for children) were fantastic.

Bearing in mind it is a family hotel and with many young children staying it was quite noisy with loud music playing all day from 10am till midnight, rooms around the main pool would get no peace until after midnight.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the sea front in the 900s seem to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Flo,

Thank you very much for staying in Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

Unfortunately in your special case there was a misunderstanding between reservation and the kind email you sent us before your arrival, in this way it came accidentally to the situation you describe in your review. Please accept our sincere apologise and rate this situation as an exception. We will do everything to avoid a repetition of this case.

Although this time we did not met your personal expectation, we would be very happy if you might give us a second chance to convince you from our ability.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.