We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Nana Beach Hotel :-))))))))))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Nana Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 183 Hotels in Hersonissos
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to Nana Beach Hotel :-))))))))))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our second review of the Nana Beach Hotel. Our first was in June 2012 and our experience then was so good that on return to the UK we immediately booked again - September 6 -13, 2012.

Bearing in mind we had never, ever returned to the same hotel for a holiday, we made the booking with a lot of expectation but with an acceptance that it may not be quite so great second time around, especially going back at the tale end of the season where everything might be a bit jaded.

How wrong we were! Another perfect holiday ensued, in some ways even better than before.


LOCATION

The hotel is still set and presented idyllically - tiered levels of accommodation and facilities sweeping down to a sheltered bay, a beach and waves breaking onto rocks. All set in a superbly tended array of exotic gardens and trees, through quiet pathways, more like a quaint and proud village than a hotel, beautifully clean and cared for

THE FACILITIES

The place has all kinds of everything really. Restaurants, bars, snack bars, umpteen pools, play areas, entertainment amphitheaters, teens club, kids club, creche, quiet sunbathing areas, lively sun bathing areas, in between sunbathing areas, gym, fitness areas, tennis courts, basketball court, archery arena, synthetic football pitch, sauna, jacuzzi, massage areas, animation, live music, weekly Greek night, water sports, scuba diving on site, disco... It seems to us you can do as much or as little as you like, as lively or as quiet as you like, all in beautiful, well managed surroundings. Just superb.


THE FOOD

A range of self service buffet restaurants (one directly on the sheltered bay) with plentiful food using local produce. Lots of fresh food, lots of variety. You can eat as healthily or unhealthily as you choose. There are snack bars too, convenient for the beach and some of the pools. There are also 3 specialist "a la carte" restaurants - Greek, Italian and fish - guests are entitled to eat once in each one of these per stay. They are all great, all different, with friendly service each time.

THE ANIMATION

This may not be important to everyone, but it is important to us on holiday. However, the hotel is organised such that you can be involved in animation as little or as much as you prefer. The animation team work long and hard and are made up of a bunch of energetic people of a multitude of nationalities and talents. During the day they run scheduled games (water polo, volleyball, football, table tennis etc, as well as aqua fitness, aerobics and Zumba. Look out for Pia the fitness instructor, her fitness classes are suitable for all levels and are great, energetic fun. Then, most evenings the animation teams become entertainers, putting on a range of shows and these then gravitate with the audience to the disco area until midnight. Lots of group dances, lots of fun, energy and commitment from the team make everyone welcome. Look out for Gary and his table top dancing, magic tricks and incredible balancing act.


OVERALL

Thanks to the management and staff commitment to quality and genuine customer focus this is simply the best resort hotel we have ever experienced. We aim to go back there as often as we can. The hotel is so good that we have completely abandoned our long standing policy of never going back to the same place twice. For us, it is incredible and we just can't wait to be back there in such an excellent, friendly hotel with so much to offer.

We are happy to answer honestly any questions any prospective guests may have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    224
    89
    15
    7
See reviews for
443
311
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband, 11 month daughter and I stayed at this hotel in see view bungalow #708 for 4 nights. Most of visitors were families with children or middle aged couples.

Pros:
- Big well kept territory with lots of flowers
- Hotel has private beaches. One is small sandy bay, which is great for children. And rocky beach for couples.
- Tasty food with great variety
- Children pool, yard and club
- Stroller-friendly
- 3 a la carte restaurans are inclusive

Cons:
- Horrible smell in bathroom
- Outdated room
- Some staff were not very polite
- Drinks could be better
- No free safe
- No free Internet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here at the begining of Aug, it was lovely and hot, the open air entertainment was good too. Food repative as with all inclusive, but good!! rooms nice and clean. althongh patio doors did not shut properly!!! smooth journsy to and from the hotel. lots of pools to choose from which my daughter loved. would i go back?? YES!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nana Beach Hotel in Hersonissos, Crete.

I travelled with my partner to this beautiful Island. June 2012

Situated between Hersonisson and Stalis, a beautiful complex, with private beach – water sports, 5 swimming pools. Lovely restaurants and bars.

We booked in late evening, to be greeted by friendly helpful staff. Our check-in was very quick and the next thing we were in a golf buggy being taken to our rooms. We were told that here was a small buffet available near one of the pool bars for a late evening snack, which we went to as we had missed evening meal.

Our room was not far from the main building. Some of the rooms have been through a refurbishment and have been done tastefully. There are a number of rooms in the main building, but most of the rooms are built in smaller buildings – forming a type of Greek village. Surrounded by beautiful gardens. We had a double room, the room itself was very comfortable, (not huge, but a reasonable size) as was the bed and plenty of wardrobe space, in fact we had one each. The bed had decent pillows (with pillow protectors and well as a mattress protector). There was nothing to complain about the room, the cleanliness was outstanding. Fresh towels everyday. Outside the patio doors, each room has louvre doors, when closed these work excellently, they block out light and sounds. My partner slept really well, much better than he usually does when abroad. There is air con in each room. A superb bathroom. There are different types of accomodation available from a double room to a suite.

The main restaurant – is buffet style, with a variety of food available. The food quality was good and there is no reason for anyone not to find something they enjoy. Snacks and ice cream available though the day.

There is a spa there, but we didn’t visit it.

The Main bar is manned by friendly staff and they always have a smile for you. A variety of drinks available of a good quality. Lots of different cocktails . Try a Nana Beach Special, A Blue Aegean, and lots more.

There is a variety of daytime activities, children’s clubs and evening entertainment available. The animation team is friendly and aproachable.

You can walk around the complex , visit the different pools; sit by the sea on the vast number of sun beds and under the same number of umbrellas available all around the place. You can have pool towels from the hotel, and these can be changed as many times as you like.

We walked to Stalis which took about 30 mins we didn’t walk to Hersonissos although you can see it in the distance. Of course Malia is just the other side of Stalis.

Places to visit, we hired a car and drove to Knossos, well worth a visit, we did pay to have a tour guide, our guide was George, very knowledgeable and told us things you just don’t get from walking around on your own or from a book, he put life into the tour. Of course you can just walk around on your own. Entry fee for the two of us was 12 euros and the tour guide was 20 euros. After a few hours, we left drove over the mountain to the Plateau of Lassithi, then over to Agios Nikolaos, very pretty place, drove up the coast to Elounda and saw Spinalonga (the leper Island) If we had more time we would have taken a trip to the island. We then traveled back over the mountain to Malia, had a quick visit then back to the Hotel.

We had a great time at the Nana Beach, everything was excellent, food, room, pool, resort. It was our first visit to Crete and we would go back to the Nana beach hotel again.

Very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penarth wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at nana beach in july this year .On arrival bbooking in process quick and food provided even though it was late.Eating areas and bar in desperate need of air conditioning.Accomodation ok clean fridges not working ! You have to pay for water !!!!!!!! to take back to your rooms .The Italian a la carte was good with a/c however the other restaurants did not have this.Small beach.Good selection of water sports although were only able to use them for one day as red flag flying for the rest of the week.Overall holidayok but lacked atmosphere and the entertainment was absolutely dreadful!!!!!!!!!!! Would not go back or recommend it to other people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We holidayed here in May 2012. Hotel complex is very large and good points are there are plenty of swimming pools and beds, the entertainment is good, the food is good and you can usually get reservations OK at the restaurants. At the main restaurant in the hotel block you have to wear long trousers but not so formal in the beach front restaurant or snack bars. Food and wine is plentiful and tasty and there is a lot of choice. You help yourself to wine from the fridge (even the red!) and we often took a bottle back to the room. The kids club is on every day and is fun for the little ones. There is also a disco on every night for the little ones followed by family entertainment so it keeps everyone occupied for a bit. If you come out of the hotel and turn left you can walk along about ten minutes to a little village and a beach area. If you keep going you end up in Malia (about a 1 hour stroll) and its obviously a lot busier there. There is also a little village if you turn right out of the hotel. Other than that there is nothing else much around this hotel. We had a room in block 6 which, according to the brochure, had a sea view. However, the window in the room was tiny and as we were on the ground floor we could actually only see the sea if we stepped outside. The room itself was disappointing. There was hardly any natural light, it smelled musky and the décor was very worn. Not sure if any other parts of the hotel have had rooms which have been upgraded. But, as you don’t spend the whole holiday in the room I wouldn’t let this bother us too much, The only other thing I would mention about Greece (not in particular just this hotel) is that it is the only place in 20+ foreign holidays that I have ever been bothered by mozzies and I was bitten more than 50 times. Not pleasant at all and it was a nightmare on an evening and we often couldn’t get to sleep due to the little blighter buzzing round the room. Like I say, a problem I have only ever had in Greece. All in all an OK family holiday at Nana Beach.

Room Tip: Ground floor in block six has very little natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from Nana Beach and had a great time. Overall the hotel was excellent, but there were just a few gripes.

The setting of the hotel was lovely. It felt like a village with beautiful grounds. The mountains in the backdrop were spectacular. All the pools were great. You could always find a sunbed fairly easily. The terraces along the shoreline were also great.

We really enjoyed the food. There was a lot of variety. Yes there was some processed food, but plenty of healthy alternatives. The local honey was delicious. A massive bonus for us was that there were "non-smoking" areas in some restaurants and bars which was excellent.

One thing we did find annoying was the fact that bottled water was not included in the "all inclusive deal". We were given one bottle of water each when we arrived. The hotel did not like you to fill up bottles either. Perhaps the hotel should provide water fountains for this purpose. We overheard a guest request a bottle of water at the bar and was told that they could have a bottle of wine, but not a bottle of water!! When we mentioned this to the holiday rep he claimed that this was the case in most Thomson all inclusive's, which we have not found to be the case in the past. We didn't find the rep to be particularly knowledgeable about the local area either.

We did one of the trips with Thomson's to Spinalonga. This was quite expensive, but worth it as the guide, ("Veta") we had was excellent. It also included a boat trip and BBQ which we enjoyed. It would be worth taking your snorkeling gear as the fish were plentiful.

One note of caution is using the terracing for snorkeling/sunbathing. When the sea was calm this was idyllic. But we did have a few days when the sea was very rough, and despite the hotel putting out red flags, people ignored this and we witnessed two incidents of people having to be rescued. A young girl and her mother got into difficulties in the sea, and had to be rescued by other holiday makers with life buoys. They suffered cuts, grazes and bruises, and were very shaken up. We were concerned after witnessing this that other children were at danger of being swept into the water, and asked one of the staff to move them away from the terraces. He replied that he could not do this as he was part of the animation team and it "wasn't his job". We found this attitude unbelievable. He could have at least alerted the lifeguard to help avoid another incident. We also saw two people out in the sea on a lilo when it was quite rough. They were quite a long way out, and the wind took their lilo. They had to be rescued by the lifeguard on a jet-ski. The lifeguard was excellent once he was alerted.There needs to be better control measures in place to stop people using the lower terraces, and going into the sea when it is rough. The hotel management needs to provide some means of raising the alarm when people are in difficulty in the sea, (as there doesn't seem to one there at present) and a better way of alerting the lifeguard. Some holiday makers seem to be oblivious to what a red flag means, and ignore it!

Overall this is a lovely hotel, and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 613, and 615 which were very quiet. Basic, but functional. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.