We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dedaloustreet | Chersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 185 Hotels in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 stars 438 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel was great. We had a lovely large clean room which even had a large sofa bed. Our view of the pool was also great. The hotel is beautiful and very modern, clean and spacious. Location is also good and walking distance from all main amenities. The spa is lovely and all staff were great. The pool was also very nice and the sun-beds and lunch food was great.
Breakfast was repetitive but nice. We were half board but after 3weeks there we got very bored of the repetitive dinners so better to go out and eat instead. Very much a family holiday hotel.

I also heard that some of the rooms were in an "old block" and were not yet refurbished. im not sure if this has changed now as our rooms were great but worth a check before you book; just call up directly and say u definitely want in the new block (if there is still an old block but i think this has now been eliminated)

Room Tip: check if there is still an old block. if there is make sure u ask for a room in one of the new block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    169
    49
    17
    22
See reviews for
98
233
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finchingfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This resort is quite lovely,it's very close to the beach,which is gorgeous,The staff are very polite and helpful,Rooms are great, the only negatives are..double bed rooms are two single beds pushed together and made up as singles,so no cuddling with your partner,the food is not to my health freak standards,but thats my problem,also the gym is terrible,maybe ok for stretching,but totally useless for any serious exercise..all in all a great holiday..the beach is the winner of the show..

Room Tip: rooms in the new building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in September and we were very pleased with it. I'd like to disagree with a lot of comments about the standard rooms being too small. They are not. We didn't plan to spend much time in the room, bar sleeping and getting ready to go out. The standard room size was fine, nicely cooled with air conditioning (at no extra cost) and cleaned daily. The only negative we had was that the pool was very cold but hardly something to ruin a holiday. We didn't eat there, so cannot comment on the food. I'd recommend the Albatros to anyone. A stones throw from the beach and endless restaurants/bars/clubs/shops to cater for most tastes. We'd definitely use this hotel again and had a fantastic experience from very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on being in the room much, don't bother paying extra for the superior. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went in June could not ask for anything better the food great, people great, surroundings great, enjoyed the location, had to pay for deck chairs on the beach (not happy) gym and staff very good and friendly. Met a nutritionist/aerobics instructor received excellent advise from her which we are still applying. Would go back to this hotel every year. However would stay in the newer part of the hotel. The standard room very small with uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: Please choose superior room then sit back and have a perfect holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Spending our holidays to Albatros Hotel was the best choice we made this summer! Our room was fully equipped and very well decorated. Moreover we were absolutely stunned by the quality of the service and the food. The location is great, just 25 m. away from the sea. I would suggest a massage at the spa and participating at the music events which are organised at the hotel premises during the week.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Second visit to this hotel and didn’t disappoint. There is nothing really negative to say about the place. Staff lovely and friendly and always happy to help, very clean and in a great location – even remembered us from previous visit. Lovely touch on arrival. As we arrived quite late and missed dinner they gave us a voucher to use for lunch instead during our stay, in addition a bottle of water and a bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room compliments of the hotel. Only ever stayed in superior rooms so cannot comment on other rooms. One point to note, if you stay half board and plan to go out for dinner instead of eating in the hotel let reception know and they will give you a voucher to use at lunch instead. Would highly recommend this place – don’t think you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a superior room its worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As we toured the islands of Mykonos and Crete, we booked this particular hotel as it combines the rooms with a spa. We chose a room in the new part of the hotel. I would avoid a room above the pool bar, but the other rooms are quiet. The hotel is close to shopping areas and the beach. The rooms were adequate as was the food, considering it was buffet style. If you like to lounge around the pool, then this hotel would do the trick. We liked the spa package. When tired of touring and shopping, we took in a day at the spa....great staff there--friendly and professional.
Ask Alex to make you a chilled drink--he makes them like a pro!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool bar. Ask Alex to make you a chilled drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Address: 1 Dedaloustreet | Chersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#26 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.