We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, close to Heraklion airport and the best Cretan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Home Hotel to your Saves list
Home Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Gotynis | Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Livorno
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, close to Heraklion airport and the best Cretan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Home Hotel! We got to Anissaras at 3 a.m. and Angelos, the owner, came to pick us up. Very kind of him. We got lost on the way as there are no signs for the hotel, so if you’re driving there you'd better contact Angelos before going and arrange a meeting somewhere easy to find. But taxi drivers know where the hotel is.
Everything was wonderful. Our room had a small balcony from where we could see the bouganvilles and the swimming pool. It was simple, but very clean and nicely decorated. White walls and blue shutters, Greek style. Bed linen and towels changed every day.
Breakfast was not included in the price, but we were happy to pay extra (6€ per person) for a delicious Greek yogurt with honey and pine nuts/fruit in addition to bread, butter and jam, ham and cheese, cake and biscuits, and coffee.
Angelos helped us a lot to find the nicest beaches and the best restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the karaoke night and swimming in the pool under the stars and the moon. The beach in Anissaras is just okay and the nearby town (Hersonissos) leaves a lot to be desired. Good for teenagers and twenty-year-olds, with lots of bars and chain fast food places/restaurants. But don’t expect a nice little Greek village by the sea. It looks like a piece of England on Crete!
But from the hotel you can reach Matala in about an 1 hour and 30 minutes by car (don’t miss the red beach at sunset), Spinalonga in about the same amount of time, and Ierapetra in 1 hour and 15 minutes. From Ierapetra you reach Chrissi island in an hour. Chrissi is a real must. I thought the sea was even better than at the Maldives!
When you go back to Anissaras in the evening you should try 2 restaurants: Areston and Vegera. Ask Angelos. He will direct you. We spent 17€ per person at Areston and just 9€ at Vegera. The food was amazing: excellent moussaka at Areston and very very good fish dishes at Vegera.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
23
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I and out friend booked in to Home for 10 days and it really felt like home. Angelos really makes the place a home. We had an amazing 10 days there. The food was lovely, and the hotel was spotless and comfortable and the facilities were top notch. We hoping to return before the summer is out. Keep up the great work. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone fancying a holiday that is an actual holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Home hotel just moved to this location 2 months go and it looks and feels like home. The rooms atypically Greek, the swimming pool and the ducks are inviting, the BBQ night on Sunday and the party on Saturday night. Angelos knows the area well and recommends what to avoid or see. The beach is 200m down the road and the nude beach not far from there. This is the only gay friendly hotel in the central and east part of Crete and likely one of only few in The whole of Crete. As a single gay traveller I found the hotel and team very inviting. Angelos also cooks great simple greek food. Try the Greek salad, Crete style. Great.

If Crete is your destination, consider this place, close to, but far enough from the noise. I personally think Crete is Greece for beginners and found it too big for me. But that is just a personal taste.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Home hotel was our home for a week. It was all we had wished for our vacation. Beautiful rooms, great vibe, nice pool, so close to the beach and still far enough from all the noise, good food (the Greek salad is highly recommended), and the best and most lovely service there is! Angelo is a wonderful, warm and unique character, and he Made our vacation a perfect experience. Just waiting to come back here.

Gili and Danielle from Israel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stay there for one week and we had a great time,
Angelos and his staff are very helpful.
The hotel located in quiet area and we realy liked it.
We rent a car for all the period we stay there. its better because its not a walking distance to the center of hersonisos or to the beace.
The hotel is gay friendly and we think that its exellent place for gay vacation.
We will back !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved this little hotel it was amazing in everything from Angelos and his team to the pool area and the rooms. Relaxation at its best with space to party at weekends and yes no children, loved the adults only feel of the place from mixed couples to gay boys and girls so much fun. This is defenitley the place to go in crete we will be back soon.

Room Tip: seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Home Hotel is AWESOME. I work on a ship and had one night in Crete. I booked my stay just a week before arriving and corresponded with Angelos (the owner) about the property. Angleos was very prompt in his reply to each of my message and provided me with different options for getting to the hotel. Angelos and his team works very hard to make you feel at home. While Anglos is the owner, he is out and about with his guest ensuring their comfort. Angelos was great about allowing me to check in and early and stay late since my room was not going to be used the following day. The pool area is a highlight. You can lay out there for hours. While the hotel isn't located in a bustling town on Crete, you are close enough to all your needs. There are several beach front restaurants a 10-15 minute walk away. And a quick taxi ride will take you to Hersonissos if you want bars, more restaurants, and shops. This place was a great in between for me. It was somewhat secluded, but still offered necessary conveniences. I would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only a could dollars difference for rooms that face the pool and beach, versus those that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Address: Gotynis | Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 meters from the beach of Anissaras,the gay friendly Home Hotel – Adults Only(former Home Apartments)offers tastefully furnished accommodation with views of the well-kept gardens or the Cretan Sea.Home, as its name suggests is our home...your home.The ultimate summer destination for those seeking tranquility, relaxation, discreet luxury and truly warm hospitality. Home offers you the privacy of your home.23 colorful rooms which are within walking distance of the beach. An atmospheric bar by the pool offers you unforgettable summer experiences day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Hotel Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.